lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Smoke/Fog trouble.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-02-2004, 07:24 AM   #1
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Smoke/Fog trouble.

I just need some smoke on the bottom of a room, like a smoke machine effect. Accent fog in the "fogs" shader didn't work.
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-02-2004, 07:42 AM   #2
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Your best bet is to look through the env/ folder of effects...Here's a complete list. Useful ones might be impact_dust.efx, tgas_4emit.efx, thruster_spray.efx, waterfall_mist.efx, or water_steam2.efx.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-02-2004, 09:36 AM   #3
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Hmm, good advice but I cant seem to find what I want.

See, its an ice cave and I need the ground to be misty.
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-02-2004, 06:56 PM   #4
Lil Killa
lunatic
 
Lil Killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pants
Posts: 1,502
use fog....

Lil Killa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-02-2004, 09:12 PM   #5
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
OK...yeah, you might want a layer of fog hugging the ground. Can you explain why it didn't work before? A single brush covered in a fog shader should do the trick. (You can always try a different fog shader if the one you're using borks.)


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-03-2004, 01:27 AM   #6
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
I got it to work now, it didnt work before because it was going through a wall -_-
IG-64 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-03-2004, 08:33 AM   #7
GothiX
Ocean Soul
 
GothiX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Just a journey away
Posts: 1,906
That shouldn't matter. Remember when using Q3-engine fog, always use rectangles.. other shapes tend to fvck up.


GothiX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Mapping > Smoke/Fog trouble.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:56 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.