lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Scripting issue: Doors
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-06-2004, 11:02 AM   #1
Pahricida
Junior Member
 
Pahricida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 444
Scripting issue: Doors

Heya!

I was thinking wether it was possible to have a fully operational door that was triggered by a button close when the button is destroyed...

I know I'd have to fiddle around with icarus to do that but I ain't very good at that so before I even consider learning it would that be possible ?

Greets
Pahri


Pahricida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2004, 01:30 PM   #2
{NJO}*Dark
Rookie
 
{NJO}*Dark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: cyberspace.co.uk
Posts: 149
What exactly do you want, a door that does not work until a button is destroyed? i am sure that unless you want it to be a rotating door that you would not need it to be scripted at all


~Dark
{NJO}*Dark is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2004, 04:16 PM   #3
Pahricida
Junior Member
 
Pahricida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 444
well didn't precisely express what I wanted, but it doesn't matter anymore since I made it without scripting.


What I wanted was a door that is operated by a button.
With the button being destroyed the door should be deactivated aswell.
My method works well.


Pahricida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2004, 09:07 PM   #4
EvilJedi
Rookie
 
EvilJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 154
and.. How did you do it??
EvilJedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-07-2004, 12:54 PM   #5
Shadow_stone
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 72
just use a target deactivate
Shadow_stone is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-07-2004, 02:02 PM   #6
Pahricida
Junior Member
 
Pahricida's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 444
Alright wrote a quick Tutorial:

STEP I:

First off construct your door. Doesn't matter wether you make it out of one or multiple func_door groups you'll just have to include a target_relay when you use more groups for more complex door structures.

Assign these parameters to it:

http://home.arcor.de/pahricida/Tutorials/func_door.gif

the target and targetname may vary since it's assigned randomly when you link the two entities via STRG+k

STEP II

Now construct your button. Now instead of turning it into a func_button as you may have thought make it into a func_breakable with these parameters:

http://home.arcor.de/pahricida/Tutor..._breakable.gif

STEP III

Construct a brush infront of your fake button. keep it's dimensions somewhere in between 48x48x88 to 96x96x88, depending on wether you want people to have to be next to the button to activate it or just roughly in the range of the button (may be helpful to smoothen gameplay).
Now assign the trigger texture to the brush and turn it into a trigger_multiple. Link this to the func_door and assign it following parameters:

http://home.arcor.de/pahricida/Tutor...r_multiple.gif

STEP IV

Create a target_deactivate and link the func_breakable button to it. Now link the target_deactivate to the trigger_multiple. Now as soon as the breakable is destroyed the trigger multiple won't work anymore and *tadaa* you've got your deactivated door.

here's a top-view scheme to make it clear:

http://home.arcor.de/pahricida/Tutorials/tut1.jpg

aaaaaaaaaaaaand finnaly a radiant view:

http://home.arcor.de/pahricida/Tutor...adiantview.gif

actually pretty easy once you've found out. I've fiddled with masses of triggers and target entities for about two hours until I got it working.


Pahricida is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-07-2004, 11:41 PM   #7
{NJO}*Dark
Rookie
 
{NJO}*Dark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: cyberspace.co.uk
Posts: 149
sounds good, although you cannt have it open like a normal door


~Dark
{NJO}*Dark is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-10-2004, 06:38 AM   #8
zag
Rookie
 
zag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: england
Posts: 80
ah im glad you worked it out eventually parhi

dark if you want rotating doors try this thread:

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...hreadid=122700


Movie Battles Team Member
zag is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-10-2004, 09:58 AM   #9
{NJO}*Dark
Rookie
 
{NJO}*Dark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: cyberspace.co.uk
Posts: 149
when i said normal door i ment that it would open when you walked up to it


~Dark
{NJO}*Dark is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Mapping > Scripting issue: Doors

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:46 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.