lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Problem with the current server browser (1.00a)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-28-2004, 12:54 AM   #1
Iceman_IX
Junior Member
 
Iceman_IX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 296
Problem with the current server browser (1.00a)

Because of the way the server browser now works, it's hard to find the best server to join. It's all random, atleast mostly. Since they don't auto-update themselves, you have to go through the list and random pick ones to update. It lists every server alphabetically until you "ping" or "update" it by clicking on it. Thus, some of my favorite servers "TexasGameServers.com" etc. I haven't been playing on and they are empty. Why? Perhaps it's because it's 4am on a Monday (err Tuesday) but it's probably because they are last alphabetically so people aren't "updating" and thus not joining them.
In order to play on what WERE my favorite servers, I have to remember their name, scroll down (which is no easy task because if you sit on any one server for too long it will be pinged and placed at the top of the list) and select it.
There really has to be a better way. This currently is pretty dumb, though nice in that it got rid of the utter frustration that joining servers use to involve.

As soon as the patch went live my favorite servers are all empty (I can see via XFire) but all the recent ones I have joined are servers that start with a symbol (something that would alphabetically be at the top of the list). As it stands the entire server list doesn't update. So some good servers could easily be overlooked. They'll be at the bottom of the list, no one will look to join them and people who do will see they are empty. There will be a rush to name every server with a ! or ~ in front.


XFire id: icemanix
NF7 | MBarton 2500 200x12.5 @1.875v
OCZ3200EL 2x256+512 @11-3-3-2
eVGA 6800GT | SB Live 5.1
Antec 430 | SLK-900 @53C load
Iiyama E431S | XDreamerII @30C
3dMark05: 4111
nForcersHQ

Last edited by Iceman_IX; 09-28-2004 at 01:21 AM.
Iceman_IX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2004, 11:26 PM   #2
knunchucksammy
Rookie
 
knunchucksammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Diego Ca.
Posts: 26
I think that this is actually worse than the old one... I was getting good of "fishing" for the server that I wanted to join. Now this is just rediculous, and there is not real way to get into a good game.

I like to play with NO AI, and I can't seem to find a server that has players, and has no AI. This is rediculous. It is like making a nice bowl of Ice Cream, and then taking a big warm steamer right on the top. This game "would" be fun if you could play it...
'

Back
knunchucksammy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront > Bug Reports/Requests/Game Feedback > Problem with the current server browser (1.00a)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:43 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.