lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: making NPCs playable
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-14-2004, 11:08 AM   #1
seabass901
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Memphis
Posts: 21
making NPCs playable

TO make NPCs playabe would you have to edit the Mission.lvl file (under that map) and the (whatevermap).lvl file?
seabass901 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2004, 02:44 PM   #2
kingguru
Rookie
 
kingguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gametoast.com
Posts: 175
To make Npc playable on those maps they have locals simply edit the mission.lvl file, no editing is required in the map.lvl files UNLESS you want to alter spawn points, map buildings or mod visual items. The mission.lvl files decides who plays on what faction and the SIDE/ files decide what weapon each unit uses.

/SIDE/"filename.lvl" = mod the items and where they are placed and how they look on a given unit for that faction.

_LVL_PC/MISSION.lvl = mod the factions and what units are usable for any given map ;also you can swap units with any other unit that loads in the the specifed maps area. Each map has its own area , in fact there are 2 areas for each map but only the first area affect gameplay. The seconds is for reference for editiing.

_LVL_PC/"mapfolders"/"mapname.lvl" = mod the map, move everything. Change spawn points and remove anything on the map simply by changing the first letter of any item such as the atat in hoth is listed as imp_walk_atat ,. if you name it wmp_walk_atat, the atat spawn is removed and the map loads with no erros.

This should be a huge help. Its taken many hours to get to this information in a usable format with 10k crashes to desktop. Good luck.


Star Wars Battlefront 1 & 2 Mod Site.

-=Gametoast.com =-
kingguru is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2004, 03:46 PM   #3
seabass901
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Memphis
Posts: 21
Once again Im having problems.. I tried to make darth vader take the place of the scout. heres what I did.


imp_inf_shock_troopersnow  imp_inf_pilotatat  imp_inf_darthvader ClearWalkers


I dont know if this explains anything or not.. but I edited that under hoth.
seabass901 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2004, 04:40 PM   #4
Visceral
Rookie
 
Visceral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 37
I've got the Jawas playable in Mos Eisley, and I'm trying to give them blasters. Their default is a fusion cutter, and I tried to replace it with a Tusken blaster rifle. When I load up and try it out, the spawn screen says their weapon is "Tusken Cycler", but when you spawn you're holding nothing and clicking the fire button does nothing. I assume this is because their default weapon that I switched out for this isn't an actual weapon with an attack? Is there any way to get the blasters to show up and work?
Visceral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront > Modding & Editing > making NPCs playable

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:21 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.