lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Laat/t & Spha-t?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-21-2004, 08:07 PM   #1
MorbisDelRu
Lurker
 
MorbisDelRu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Lenox, Il
Posts: 2
Laat/t & Spha-t?

Would it be possible and even feasible to add these republic vehicles when and if modding tools are released?


I'd like to see the SPAH-T because it would add more of a tactices and stratagy flavor to the game, and increase the need for teamwork, with such a large vehicle.

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x...w20031204sphat

The LAAT/t could also be used to transport AT-TE''s across the battlefield on larger maps, or to hold fortified enemy postions, and possible with large troop bays/containers that can be attached/unattached, as with the AT-TE. Transportable large guns, such as those seen on bespin, might also be an idea.

http://massassi.yavin4.com/sw/al_attc.htm
MorbisDelRu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-21-2004, 08:52 PM   #2
FN-AndrewD
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 11
Awesome

I think that having those in the game would be awesome. Especially considering the fact that those transports could be great for the land combat in the game, bringing in troops by flight and vehicles as well. Great idea!

And those lasers, sheesh, there is a enemy for the AT Walker. Dang!

Anyways, if and when they release a modding kit, I think that would be wonderful!


AndrewD
FilesNetwork Public Relations Manager & Network Administrator
andrewd@filesnetwork.com
-http://www.swbffiles.com (Star Wars Battlefront Files)
-http://www.filesnetwork.com (FilesNetwork Homepage)
-http://www.filefront.com (FileFront Network)
FN-AndrewD is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2004, 08:10 PM   #3
psych0fred
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
Possible

The LAATE and SPHAT were built for the game, but the LAATE last time I checked was no longer functional (I think because of code changes) and the SPHAT was never functional, although I see no reason why both of these could not be used as props at the ver least. I don't think it would be hard to get the SPHAT working, all it would take is knowledge of it's geometry and hard points so the weapons could be set up.
psych0fred is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2004, 04:29 AM   #4
MorbisDelRu
Lurker
 
MorbisDelRu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Lenox, Il
Posts: 2
The laate has the same basic design/layout as the republic gunship, so it shouldn't be that hard to make one ( I hope). I don't know about the docking element thou.

And I think the SPHAT would add a nice tactics and stratagy element to the game, such as a driver, a gunner, and multiple defense gun positions. Just so you don't have one person jumping in and taking off with the thing.
MorbisDelRu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2004, 07:02 AM   #5
arachon
Rookie
 
arachon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: If I say cold weather blue and yellow flag, big amusment park, vikings, what do you think of
Posts: 116
and making the main gun for the SPHA-T would probably not be that dificult cause the type of shot it has already exists (the one in the main gun for the republic fighter tank)
arachon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2004, 01:47 AM   #6
psych0fred
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
Try others

You're better off trying to vehicles in that were more or less finished and tested rather than those dropped early on. Try the k-wing (all_fly_kwing), the alliance hovernaut (all_fly_hovernaut), or the landespeeder (tat_hover_landspeeder - which has no weapons) They are all wrapped up in the all.lvl. It should be easy to swap the xwing or ywing on bespin with the kwing.
psych0fred is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2004, 06:22 PM   #7
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
the kwing? isnt that a bomber from the EU series w/the yevetha? and I think that the landspeeder would make a nice replacement for the speeder in dune sea, and the atst/aat in tat2.


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2004, 12:42 AM   #8
Alegis
In hiding
 
Alegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,880
LFN Staff Member 
The LAAT would be fantastic, but the maps now are just way too small for it


-"The glass is neither half-full nor half-empty: it's twice as big as it needs to be."
Alegis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2004, 10:39 AM   #9
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
i just tried the k-wing, and upon loading, it crashed. i used it to replace the ywing in bes1, and i changed both the mission.lvl and the bes1.lvl files to reference it, so what am i doing wrong here? i see the references to all_fly kwing in all.lvl, but no such luck when i try to load it. does it need to be activated in some other way, because it isnt actually in the game?


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2004, 10:42 AM   #10
psych0fred
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
LAATE

The original LAATE (rep_fly_vtrans) was designed to drop the ATTEs off rather than have them spawn. They weren't actually pilotable. Then the ATTEs were turned into command walkers (mobile cps) and the vtrans dropped since the ATTEs would need to be reprogrammed to not spawn units while in the air. Also the vtrans was just taking up memory since it wasn't a pilotable craft. It sure looked cool though, you can see it in some of the original downloadable movies for the game.
psych0fred is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2004, 11:09 AM   #11
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
i just tried the hovernaut, and this time, it loaded the map, but the hovernaut didnt show up, and again, i changed both the mission.lvl and the tat1.lvl files (all_hover_combatspeeder to all_hover_hovernaut, with, of course, the null spaces afterwards)


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2004, 11:34 AM   #12
psych0fred
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
Kwing

Same thing happened to me. Either the kwing is broken or it needs the memory pools adjusted. I tried swapping it with the ywing since there are fewer but still no luck. In the mission.lvl not only do you have to specify which assets are loaded per level but there are also memory pool settings for vehicle classes and other game objects. Big multi-unit vehicles like the LAAT, the Kwing, the hovernaut, all have multi-seats which means multi turrets and multi-aimers that the memory pools need to be raised for. These can be seen as the SetMemoryPoolSize lines. I'm thinking the big vehicles need several of these adjusted.
psych0fred is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2004, 11:38 AM   #13
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
how many seats does the kwing, hovernaut, and landspeeder have?


Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2004, 11:38 AM   #14
psych0fred
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
Hovernaut

Try the hovernaut on Naboo Plains. It was once on that level and it looks like misson.lvl still has the line for the SetMemoryPoolSize commandhover set to 0. If you can change that to 1 and replace one instance of a vehicle in the world it may work. You may also need to raise the memory pools for turrets and aimers. However the Hovernaut is a mobile command post so it may need something else configured.
psych0fred is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2004, 11:45 AM   #15
psych0fred
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
Seats

The landspeeder (tat_hover_landspeeder) has two seats and was once working on Mos Eisley (don't ask). It is a vehicle akin to the jeep in BF1942 where it was relatively fast and had no weapons.

The Kwing I think is the same as the Republic Gunship. When I looked at the memory pools set for the CW era on Bespin platforms they were the same as for the GCW era which leads me to believe they should be set high enough for the Kwings to work if there are only a few on the map.

The Hovernaut was pretty unique, it is a giant hover gunship/transport that had I think 5 positions, 1 pilot and the rest gunners.

There was also the MTT (cis_hover_mtt) which is that droid hover craft that deploys battledroids fron Episode I. The one in the game I have heard people have got working on Naboo plains. It didn't deploy droids in an animated fashion like in the movie but it was a command hover as well with two turrets. I heard it works but has no sounds because the sounds it uses aren't being loaded with the level.
psych0fred is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2004, 11:49 AM   #16
Cpt. Bannon
Junior Member
 
Cpt. Bannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: jainesoutpost forums
Posts: 276
maybe i'll try taking out the other ywing and maybe an xwing or two, see if that works, and for the hovernaut in tat1, i think i'll take out all the alliance vehicles, just to see if it works.

EDIT: the kwing is not finished, i think. other vehicles wont load when they dont have the memory, but the kwing actually crashes the game on loading.

and the hovernaut doesnt show up ingame yet. i'm still working on this problem, but i think that it's model and/or textures were removed to save memory.



Last edited by Cpt. Bannon; 10-31-2004 at 12:25 PM.
Cpt. Bannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-07-2004, 09:57 AM   #17
DarthLeven
Rookie
 
DarthLeven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 11
It would be awesome if a patch somewhere down the road added the LAATE's ability to pick up and drop-off ATTEs to the current LAAT/Gunship...

ATTE's would still spawn exactly the way they do on the current maps, but then you could just hover low over an ATTE and hit the "toggle grenade" key to pick-up (or drop) the walker.

This would add a *REALLY* neat aspect to the game you could move ATTE's around the map much faster, but with an element of great risk... If the LAAT is shot down, you lose two crews, a vehicle and a mobile command post. Gameplay woud be absoultely wild!

Last edited by DarthLeven; 11-07-2004 at 11:21 AM.
DarthLeven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront > Modding & Editing > Laat/t & Spha-t?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:16 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.