lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Yavin1 with XWings (Screenshot)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-28-2004, 10:12 AM   #1
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Yavin1 with XWings/Ties (Download!)

UPDATE 0.7 (Nov-2-04):
Ok, I made this version of yav1 for download:

INCLUDES:
2 atsts
3 xwings
2 tiefighters
2 combatspeeders
2 speederbikes

- most of the trees are gone for easy fly
- balanced spawn points
- NOTE: flyers will not respawn once you die

TODO:
* more work needed to remove blockade or to move vehicles out of the temple
- this version still uses map swaping technique (yav1 as tat1)
* need to make it to work without swapping

DOWNLOAD:

http://www.eline.ba/swbf

INSTRUCTIONS:

*back up your yav1 and tat1 lvls
*no need to patch mission.lvl

- Download above, and patch your original yav1.lvl
- Copy patched yav1.lvl to TAT folder
- Delete original tat1.lvl (or rename it eg. tat1.lvl.org)
- Rename yav1.lvl (in TAT folder) to tat1.lvl

Fire up SWBF
In instant action manu choose TATOOINE: DUNE SEA (Galactic civil war), which will actualy load patched yav1.

Enjoy.

PS. I would realy appriciate help on above issues.

Last edited by Servant; 11-02-2004 at 09:49 AM.
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2004, 11:05 AM   #2
kingguru
Rookie
 
kingguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gametoast.com
Posts: 175
Flying Beasts Idea..

Hey looks like fun , im doing the same things with tattooine , good times .

i was thinking once we get models in game we should get a few of us together and do an all_fly_whatver we make competition and call it flying beasts.

Teams will make a flying vehicle model with up to 5 guns from the games current choises (no atat gun or lightsaber damage) that will spawn on each factions side and all other spawn points will be wiped. We will compete with each others flying forces only and there will be limits on damage and amount/types of guns on our flying beasts.

Could be loads of fun , well run it on dedicated servers and allow different teams to load up their own models for the competition.

Ive seen similar ideas but with this engine it would be a hoot!


Star Wars Battlefront 1 & 2 Mod Site.

-=Gametoast.com =-
kingguru is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2004, 11:45 AM   #3
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
I Agree completly

That is what I am looking for. Naboo would be good map for this or maybe Bespin with just 2 huge (with no connection) platforms for shipd to take of and nothing else just ships. People would have to fly since they could not do anything else.

I dont know anything about modeling though, I am just playing around with Hex.

Thax for response Guru.

PS What do you think about idea to kindly ask Pandemic to give us a patch where we could load are "new" mods without hacking theirs or maybe to ask them for some source code of some levels (not the engine itself), so we can find compiler to compile our mods (I guess in the beggining would be Copy/Paste their code with some modifications)...
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2004, 11:59 AM   #4
nemesis11c
Rookie
 
nemesis11c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 43
i think it would be ccol to give the IMPs and the Alliance their own versions of the LAAT, like the Imps a Sentinel Class Landing Craft, and the Alliance the Lambda Shuttle. Im not sure how it would be done, but I think that we could do it with just a liitle code editing, like deleting the Y-Wing and Tie Bomber, and replace them different models and code. Also, is there any way to use the LAAT to ferry troops around the battlfield? I can get the troops in , but not out, and that dissapoints me. Does anyone know ow to make troops exit the LAAT?
nemesis11c is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2004, 03:01 PM   #5
Gerardo
Rookie
 
Gerardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 51
Great job on that map. I actually wouldn't mind having x-wings and ties on the regular yavin map with all the trees though.
Gerardo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2004, 12:40 AM   #6
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
With Trees!

Grass is fine, but with trees you can not do much since you cant see what is happening there.

I have a problem with this map which I didnt mention. Xwings which spawn in the main buiding can not get out. Entrence is too small so AI just crash in the wals (which is kinda funny). If anybody know how to make entence bit higher.
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2004, 12:59 AM   #7
Ranre
Forumite
 
Ranre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: My Computer
Posts: 503
Great job, Nice map. I'm having my way with the CIS on Kashyyyink( correct me if I spelled it wrong) with jedi star fighters.... Now thats a ship that needs an upgrade .


Sniper all the way!



I am 50% addicted to Porn. What about you?


A Republic Commando: Online Sig :Ranre
Ranre is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2004, 01:25 AM   #8
subs0nic
Rookie
 
subs0nic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally posted by nemesis11c
i think it would be ccol to give the IMPs and the Alliance their own versions of the LAAT, like the Imps a Sentinel Class Landing Craft, and the Alliance the Lambda Shuttle. Im not sure how it would be done, but I think that we could do it with just a liitle code editing, like deleting the Y-Wing and Tie Bomber, and replace them different models and code. Also, is there any way to use the LAAT to ferry troops around the battlfield? I can get the troops in , but not out, and that dissapoints me. Does anyone know ow to make troops exit the LAAT?
I think F3 is the 'get out' order.. one of the function keys anyway.

Quote:
Originally posted by Servant
I have a problem with this map which I didnt mention. Xwings which spawn in the main buiding can not get out. Entrence is too small so AI just crash in the wals (which is kinda funny). If anybody know how to make entence bit higher.
In the tutorial I'm making, I have jedifighters in the temple. You can get them out (with a few scrapes), but the AI still slams them into the wall. I'm going to try removing the wall.


SWBF Mod releases, Guides and FAQs brought to you by the Gametoast team: .-=www.gametoast.com=-.

-- No blood for oil!
-- Carpet bombing Afghanistan and occupying Iraq does nothing to ensure anyone's "freedom". (Freedom from what exactly?)

I am 75% addicted to Porn. What about you?
subs0nic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2004, 01:53 AM   #9
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Removing wall

Please try to remove this wall. As you have seen in my Yav1, I removed all trees too, to give room to xwings to fly around.
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2004, 12:19 PM   #10
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Yavin 1.1 (Pre-Released)

Well, Yav1 map is almost finished.

This mini_mod will include:
1. 2 atst
2. 1 xwing
3. 1 tiefighter
4. 1 combatspeeder
5. 1 speederbike

and

only 1 spawn points for each team, plus one nutreal for first team to get to (in the middle) - Kings own recipe from gametost,

and

most of the tress/grass is gone (so ships can fly aroung, no flying bounderies also).

TWO THINGS REMAINING:

1. How to remove stupid enterence blockade so xwing and combat speeder can get out (check out link below),

2. This is actualy replacement for Tat1 map (did not figure out how to add ships that does not belong to the level in the first place), so there is work on actual level loading ....

Here is screenshot from last build:

http://www.eline.ba/swbf

Last edited by Servant; 10-30-2004 at 01:02 PM.
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2004, 02:55 PM   #11
kingguru
Rookie
 
kingguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gametoast.com
Posts: 175
That piece thats in your way isn't a part of the building in model code, you can go in and replace its first letter with a w and its gone. If you want help this evening I can tell you exactly what prop is is and show you how to kick it out. Looks like a fun mod so far keep it up.


Star Wars Battlefront 1 & 2 Mod Site.

-=Gametoast.com =-
kingguru is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2004, 02:50 AM   #12
subs0nic
Rookie
 
subs0nic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 156
You'll be pleased to hear that the technique I'm using in my tutorial doesn't involve swapping the maps, however it isn't perfect for reasons you'll see, but it does work. A bit more poking around should unlock its potential considerably, sadly I just can't find the time at the moment. Work is throwing more demands on my time on a daily basis, so take any deadlines I set myself with a pinch of salt.

That said, I'll be working on the tutorial over the weekend to get it finished. It won't include the removal of that piece of wall since a) I want to get it out 'as is' ASAP, and b) the purpose of the tutorials is to demonstrate concepts rather than provide playable mods.


SWBF Mod releases, Guides and FAQs brought to you by the Gametoast team: .-=www.gametoast.com=-.

-- No blood for oil!
-- Carpet bombing Afghanistan and occupying Iraq does nothing to ensure anyone's "freedom". (Freedom from what exactly?)

I am 75% addicted to Porn. What about you?
subs0nic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2004, 05:18 AM   #13
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Tranx

Thank you guys,

If King can find than code for removing blocade I would realy appricate it.

Also, when Sub finishes his guide I will be able to do it his way without swaping levels, and release patch instead of whole level.

Great, thax again
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2004, 05:52 AM   #14
subs0nic
Rookie
 
subs0nic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 156
Re: Tranx

Quote:
Originally posted by Servant
Thank you guys,

If King can find than code for removing blocade I would realy appricate it.

Also, when Sub finishes his guide I will be able to do it his way without swaping levels, and release patch instead of whole level.

Great, thax again
The method I used in the tutorial won't allow you to do what you've done here.


SWBF Mod releases, Guides and FAQs brought to you by the Gametoast team: .-=www.gametoast.com=-.

-- No blood for oil!
-- Carpet bombing Afghanistan and occupying Iraq does nothing to ensure anyone's "freedom". (Freedom from what exactly?)

I am 75% addicted to Porn. What about you?
subs0nic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2004, 07:33 AM   #15
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
OK

OK, thanks for response though,
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2004, 12:56 PM   #16
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
blockade

Quote:
Originally posted by kingguru
That piece thats in your way isn't a part of the building in model code, you can go in and replace its first letter with a w and its gone. If you want help this evening I can tell you exactly what prop is is and show you how to kick it out. Looks like a fun mod so far keep it up.
King I tried to find it no luck, can you help?

I kinda sovle this problem killing intirior walls when you are inside greattemple so xwing can get out. Once out, temple restore itself back to normal. It works but it looks kinda stupid.

Last edited by Servant; 10-30-2004 at 01:52 PM.
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2004, 11:30 AM   #17
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Version 08 is out for download

Version v08 is same as v07 with the following changes:

1. some work on respawn time
2. Great Temple is complitly gone (found blockade removal - didnt work)

Download site:

http://www.eline.ba/swbf

read the instruction for v07 (top of the page) for install.

eddie
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-12-2004, 03:45 PM   #18
Noriyule
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4
I Have a few questions and Comments.

I havent Played Yavin 1 yet. but from i can see from the Picture, there are no TREES on the map AT ALL. Why is that? At least set up a couple of trees for troops to have some cover. Because from what i can imagine, to get to the temple its basically Omaha beach reanactment from Savign private Ryan. 100 Die 10 Survive.
Noriyule is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2004, 02:21 AM   #19
Servant
Rookie
 
Servant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 149
Good point. I traied to make room for flyers. I kept some trees/grass for decoration. At some point I was experiemnting with a lot of different kinds of things (PNTS chunck post at gametoast.com) so at some point grass was gone.

Well, this was more learing how to do stuff mod then the real mini-mod. Anyhow, learned what I did on yavin1, I started Naboo1 mod which should keep all original stuff and add new vehicles and expend the map complitly. So, if you wish to follow progress keep an eye on Naboo1 Expended Map.

eddie.


GT-1 team at:
http://www.gametoast.com

Last edited by Servant; 11-14-2004 at 07:28 AM.
Servant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront > Modding & Editing > Yavin1 with XWings (Screenshot)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:03 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.