lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Battlefront needs AutoUpdate
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-11-2004, 10:23 AM   #1
Jet Black
Rookie
 
Jet Black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 83
Battlefront needs AutoUpdate

This is crazy... I'm looking at ASE and there are loads of people, looks like great servers too, playing version 1.0??

I know if I didn't look for a patch, I'd never know it was available - there should be an autoupdater you can run at launch to make sure you're up to date.
Jet Black is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-11-2004, 10:33 AM   #2
Rends
Junior Member
 
Rends's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Theed
Posts: 314
100 percent agree!
Rends
Rends is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-11-2004, 11:13 AM   #3
Mountainforest
<insert high rank here>
 
Mountainforest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Garrison orbiting Geonosis
Posts: 1,263
You know there is a "check for updates" button? You can reach it by clicking the help button in the launch screen.




Minister of Outer Rim Garrison, a Dutch multigame clan
Website - Forums - Email
Mountainforest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-11-2004, 12:19 PM   #4
Jet Black
Rookie
 
Jet Black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 83
Still, there should be an autoupdate that will check everytime someone logs on... I saw over 100-200 players playing with version 1.0 and some very nice servers today. I would rather that they be playing with us, rather than seperate.
Jet Black is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-11-2004, 08:42 PM   #5
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,510
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
It's not that everyone forgets to updates, it's probbaly because they don't want to. Having an auto-update checker running everytime I start the game would be annoying. I have yet to update my game to the latest patch.
swphreak is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-12-2004, 03:25 AM   #6
Rends
Junior Member
 
Rends's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Theed
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally posted by StarWarsPhreak
It's not that everyone forgets to updates, it's probbaly because they don't want to. Having an auto-update checker running everytime I start the game would be annoying. I have yet to update my game to the latest patch.
so far i know there isn't a single reason not to update!

Rends
Rends is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-12-2004, 08:34 AM   #7
Jet Black
Rookie
 
Jet Black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally posted by Rends
so far i know there isn't a single reason not to update!

Rends
I agree with Rends, what could possibly be your reason for not updating? The game runs better, there is a better client, more options for admins and more stable servers.

Why would you want to keep playing 1.0?
Jet Black is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-12-2004, 09:20 AM   #8
Alegis
In hiding
 
Alegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,880
LFN Staff Member 
there is one big bug in 1.1, which gives you about 12 fps. I only know 2 people with this symptom, both an ATI card latest drivers.

Still I don't think thats the reason... Lazy?


-"The glass is neither half-full nor half-empty: it's twice as big as it needs to be."
Alegis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-12-2004, 10:24 AM   #9
Rends
Junior Member
 
Rends's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Theed
Posts: 314
Well it's not only the players. there are still some Servers running 1.0 software.
Here is a actualy example of unpatched Servers i just got from Gamespy:
(Server Name , Active players)

FerrisStateBattlefront (161.57.5.51:3658) 50 Players

[BA]BattleArenasSTARWARSBATTLEFRONTwww.BattleArenas.co m (212.42.1.20:3658) 31 Players

PTY_Clan_Public (69.44.56.234:3658) 24 Players

Plopsters_SWBF (217.158.150.54:3658) 20 Players

www.blackknightservers.com (38.113.97.232:3658) 16 Players

!!!PureGamerBFServer (206.173.165.60:3658) 24 Players

{pdX}SWBF-Just-for-Kicks (216.183.109.37:3658) 40 players

Ilangame.com Free Shooters (69.28.240.210:3658) 32 players


and some more...

You see most of them are full. I wonder why the Admins didn't upgrade to 1.1 yet.

6 of 10 most frequent (the time i checked) servers still runn the old Server Version 1.0
Rends is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-12-2004, 11:30 AM   #10
Rends
Junior Member
 
Rends's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Theed
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally posted by Alegis
there is one big bug in 1.1, which gives you about 12 fps. I only know 2 people with this symptom, both an ATI card latest drivers.
Who are the 2 poor guys running a ATI Rage pro ?
Rends is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-12-2004, 01:39 PM   #11
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,510
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally posted by Rends
so far i know there isn't a single reason not to update!

Rends
Well, the other small "patches" didn't do jack, so I could care less. I'm fine with the version I have. I'll probbaly update when they get a linux dedicated server released.
swphreak is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-12-2004, 04:37 PM   #12
micks75au
Rookie
 
micks75au's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 56
Please believe me when I say that you want to keep the option of updateing as an option to do by yourself. Novalogic have a system where you can't play thier games online unless you update. Last week they released a patch that radically altered gameplay and screwed up fps and hit detection. That S**t storm only got remedied this week after Nova decided to fix the problem they caused. Keep the upate system as an option.


For eight hundred years have I trained Jedi. My own counsel will I keep on who is to be trained! A Jedi must have the deepest commitment, the most serious mind.
This one....a long time have I watched. Never his mind on where he was. Hmmm? What he was doing. Hmph. Adventure. Heh! Excitement. Heh! A Jedi craves not these things.

You are reckless!
micks75au is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2004, 09:59 PM   #13
JawaJoey
Forumite
 
JawaJoey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: My home...duh
Posts: 500
Some form of notification for the ignorant would be nice though. At least let the people know that they're running an older version.
JawaJoey is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront > General Discussion > Battlefront needs AutoUpdate

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:32 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.