lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Tools released at fileplanet!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-22-2004, 10:12 AM   #1
Rends
Junior Member
 
Rends's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Theed
Posts: 314
Tools released at fileplanet!

Thanks to Dragonum who posted the link at battlefront.de

get the stuff here:
http://www.fileplanet.com/section.aspx?s=100457&v=0
Rends is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 11:58 AM   #2
Alegis
In hiding
 
Alegis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,880
LFN Staff Member 
goody goody!

Time for the modders to proove themselves


-"The glass is neither half-full nor half-empty: it's twice as big as it needs to be."
Alegis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 01:44 PM   #3
Tyler_Durden
 
Tyler_Durden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 593
OH........ YESSSSSSSSSS!!!

This is where it all begins, people. Thanks for the link.

By the way, is there any way this can be uploaded to lucasfiles? I don't want to have to register an ID with fileplanet and receive spam emails from them.
Tyler_Durden is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 02:25 PM   #4
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850


Now if this line will ever move...
TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 02:53 PM   #5
Raxor
Rookie
 
Raxor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 63
good to see that my fileplanet subscription isnt being wasted
Raxor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 03:12 PM   #6
Tyler_Durden
 
Tyler_Durden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 593
Well i couldn't wait, so i got an ID. The tools themselves seem fairly complex. Looks to be good in terms of customization options. Big download at 410 MB.
Tyler_Durden is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 03:46 PM   #7
Syzerian
Rookie
 
Syzerian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 229
Bah, 40 minute est wait time in line
Ok, Ive got the tools now. The tutorials only seem to tell you how to use objects from existing levels not how to create your own, plus you control the camera with the keyboard which makes it kind of hard to possition the camera the way you want.
I managed to make some hills but somehow an illegal operation poped up.



Last edited by Syzerian; 12-22-2004 at 06:57 PM.
Syzerian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 06:54 PM   #8
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850
Thankfully, it looks like modifying/adding units, weapons, and vehicles looks somewhat easy. If I can figure out how to "munge" ODF files, it looks like we'll see the Imperial Officer back in action (among many other things).

But I didn't find the sound files. Where are they?
TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 07:04 PM   #9
Syzerian
Rookie
 
Syzerian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 229
Sound file, gamedata/data/_lvl_pc/sound/common.bnk


Syzerian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 07:09 PM   #10
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850
Heh... uh... how does one open a .bnk file?
TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 07:14 PM   #11
Syzerian
Rookie
 
Syzerian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 229
No idea but I found another file with sounds in it.
bfbuilder/assets/sound config files
Just noticed it comes with an XSI addon, might download XSI now


Syzerian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 08:24 PM   #12
Tyler_Durden
 
Tyler_Durden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 593
If you hit TAB you can switch to mouse look mode in order to rotate the camera. This tool is very complex, although if someone could tell me how to apply a land base that would be dope. Looks like i was right in that you can edit land height and width although i haven't quite figured it out yet. More later..........
Tyler_Durden is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 09:05 PM   #13
Syzerian
Rookie
 
Syzerian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 229
Do the tools crash alot for you guys? They seem to crash alot for me.


Syzerian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 09:31 PM   #14
Tyler_Durden
 
Tyler_Durden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 593
hmm not yet. What OS you using?
Tyler_Durden is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 10:03 PM   #15
Syzerian
Rookie
 
Syzerian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 229
Windows XP pro.
It seems that if I click too fast or accidently click on the tab that is already active it causes an illegal operation.
EDIT: BTW to use terrain there is a terrain tab under 'advanced' then activate the 'height/raise' tab and then its left click to raise and right to lower but youll have to do it in wireframe or you wont be able to see a thing.
Still trying to figure out how to do lighting.


Syzerian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2004, 03:48 AM   #16
DarkReborn
Rookie
 
DarkReborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Emperors's Palace
Posts: 159
what is the tool for editing mission.lvl?


The Empire Will Crush the Patethic Band of rebels!Long Live To the Emperor!
DarkReborn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2004, 10:44 AM   #17
Tyler_Durden
 
Tyler_Durden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 593
It's actually quite hard to make a new world as i can't even build a land mass. I think we're gonna need an in depth tutorial, Diesel style.
Tyler_Durden is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2004, 11:54 AM   #18
StormTrooper789
Junior Member
 
StormTrooper789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Millington,TN
Posts: 258
Be nice if someone could host mirror for these tools because I HATE fileplanet for many reasons. The waiting in line , the in-ability to use segmented download, and no support for later resume. I guess Im gonna DL 'em(thank goodness I have Satellite!).

A word from the wisemen:
56Kers Beware!


I scored 12.03156% on the Geek Test.
What about you?

Official Internet Exploiter hater!

Did you know Microsoft wants to "Assimilate" you with their products?
StormTrooper789 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2004, 07:16 PM   #19
Ezralite
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18
i'd be more than willing to host a mirror at my website if someone can send me the file... I kinda got unlimited bandwidth, so just if someone can send me the file, i'll host it.
my site is www.louiemantia.com
ill put a link to the file when someone sends it to me
you can email it, or talk to me on aim about it and such...
email: louiemantia@gmail.com
aim: ezralite@mac.com

// Lou
Ezralite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2004, 07:20 PM   #20
TK-8252
Get Cloned.
 
TK-8252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,850
Quote:
Originally posted by Ezralite
i'd be more than willing to host a mirror at my website if someone can send me the file
No need to.

http://starwarsbattlefront.filefront...ng_Tools;34987
TK-8252 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2004, 07:21 PM   #21
Ezralite
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally posted by TK-8252
No need to.

http://starwarsbattlefront.filefront...ng_Tools;34987
very well then, thanks for the link tk

// Lou
Ezralite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2004, 02:59 AM   #22
Lionheart Lonesome
Rookie
 
Lionheart Lonesome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 49
ARE the tools and XSI 2 different things? If yes, where to get XSI (NO FILEPLANET)
Lionheart Lonesome is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2004, 04:45 AM   #23
Rends
Junior Member
 
Rends's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Theed
Posts: 314
Yes they are different things.
You need the mod tools to create levels (maps) and you need XSI to create new 3D Objects like buildings, vehicles characters ect...

you can get XSI4.2 Mod tool version at www.softimage.com.
But you still have to wait for the Battlefront addon you need to export the 3D models into a modtool readable format..
The XSI addon shipped with the modtools works only with the 500$ version of XSI4.2

Rends
Rends is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront > Modding & Editing > Tools released at fileplanet!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:49 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.