lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Disruptor Scope
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-21-2004, 07:44 PM   #1
Mana Dragon
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 57
Disruptor Scope

Does anyone know how to edit the Disruptor Scope? I know it is located in gfx/2d area, but making my own disruptor scope causes errors. Suggestions?
Mana Dragon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 07:14 AM   #2
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
What sort of errors are we talking here?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 10:08 AM   #3
Mana Dragon
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 57
I used Paintshop Pro to make my own Scope. I put it in tga format because I believe that's what JO recognizes. The error says it cannot recognize gfx/2d/cropcricle.tga ( modified ).

I guess I'm asking if there's a specific way to create a 2d Scope for JO?
Mana Dragon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 01:29 PM   #4
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
the .tga is probably not in the proper format. I recommend you just make it easy and make it a .png instead (better compression)


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 07:47 PM   #5
Mana Dragon
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 57
When you put it in png format, the Scope no longer becomes a scope. Where you could normally see enemies jumping around, you now see a picture of the Targetting Scope. If you use the scope, and move your mouse, you can't even get a glimpse of the outside environment.

It's difficult to explain, but it's like Luke Skywalker trying to use the force with the blast sheild down on the helmet. ( Episode IV, the scene on board the Falcon in Light Speed where Obi-Wan suggests trusting your feelings facing the remote droid )

However, I could load JO with that picture format, I will try a few other formats.
Mana Dragon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2004, 08:35 PM   #6
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
You probably don't have an alpha channel on your scope picture. As such, there's no transparent parts for the scope and you can't see anything.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2004, 09:34 AM   #7
Mana Dragon
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 57
uhhhhhhh How would I do that? Adding an alpha channel?
Mana Dragon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-23-2004, 10:31 AM   #8
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
The shader is already set up to handle the transparency stuff, all you have to do is add an alpha channel. I suggest you google up a tutorial on alpha channels for your particular editor.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2004, 09:53 AM   #9
Mana Dragon
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 57
Wow. You really are the Jedi Guardian of Newbie Questions

Thanks alot, I now have a classy scope =)
Mana Dragon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2004, 02:09 PM   #10
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
You're welcome.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > General Editing > Disruptor Scope

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:15 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.