lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Help Please... First time doing any type of mod
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-02-2005, 12:51 AM   #1
Starchaser
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Help Please... First time doing any type of mod

Hey all.
I have found many white saber mods for Jedi Academy but they all give a yellow glow on walls and floors. So as i dont see these as true white sabers i am working on one myself to fix the reflective glow. I found a tutorial that allows me to do this but am stuck.

Here's here I am stuck:
And there we are! Finished with it all! Incredible! Compile your new files using the bat files included, the qvm files should be in your "code/base/vm" folder after a successful compile. Now, make sure the pk3 structure is as follows:

gfx/effects/sabers/white_glow2.jpg
gfx/effects/sabers/white_line.jpg
menu/art/saber_white.tga
menu/art/saber_white_glow.jpg
menu/art/saber_white_glow2.jpg
shaders/sabers.shader
shaders/ui.shader
vm/cgame.qvm
vm/jk2mpgame.qvm
vm/ui.qvm


Put your fresh pk3 file in your base directory. Happy sabering!

I dont know what bat files they are talking about or what proggy to use to create the .qvm files so i can finish this project.
Starchaser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-02-2005, 09:51 AM   #2
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
.qvms were the old JKO version of the gameplay .dlls. Unless you've actually changed some code, there's no need to make or use new .qvms (or in this case .dlls).


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-02-2005, 10:01 AM   #3
Starchaser
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
YES to make the reflected glow correct i had to ad some lines to the code and now I am stuck as I need to compile this into .qvm files according to the Tutorial I found. if anyone knows what tools i need to do this please speak up.

Also it appears the source code is for MP only and i want this mod to be both SP and MP compatible.

Last edited by Starchaser; 01-02-2005 at 10:57 AM.
Starchaser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-03-2005, 08:13 AM   #4
stubert
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 227
they never released the single player code... you won't be able to =/

the tutorials you read are wrong for jka, you need to compile new dlls with visual studio 7 (qvm was removed after jk2)
stubert is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Coding > Help Please... First time doing any type of mod

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:55 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.