lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: nVidia 6800 + KotOR = WTF?!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-06-2005, 01:49 AM   #1
Fester_Silently
Lurker
 
Fester_Silently's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1
Unhappy nVidia 6800 + KotOR = WTF?!

So - with a whim of nostalgia (and boredom, until the newest batch of Q1 games comes out) I decided to reinstall this excellent game. Actually, this will have been the FIRST time I'd installed this since moving up from my 9800XT/3.2 P4 days...I couldn't WAIT to see how well/gorgeous this would run on my new rig.

Not.

With seemingly ANY large/busy exterior area, I get an absolutely HORRENDOUS slowdown. I'm talkin' <1 frame per second. And either: a) when the game catches up to itself, my character is stuck in a corner, doing the running man, or b) the friggin' game'll get caught in an infinite loop and NOT catch up to itself. Hard reboot follows.

I'm using all the latest official drivers for EVERYTHING and my rig absolutely BURIES any recommended specs for the game. I've alternatively tried unofficial beta/WHQL/non-WHQL/tweaked video drivers all week long. Same crappy results.

So I ask: WTF?!

Here are my specs:

AMD64 3500+ @ 2.625 Ghz
HTTx800/250fsb/mem 2:1
A8V rev 2 - 1009 final BIOS
2x512Mb OCZ 3200 Platinum rev 2 @2.5-3-3-8
BFG 6800GT @ 400/1060 (love it!!)
2x WD 740 Raptor (SATA)
2x MAXLine 3 (SATA)
PCP&C 510 Express
WinXP+SP2

P.S.

Here's a related thread at the BioWare forums: http://swforums.bioware.com/viewtopi...&forum=80&sp=0

At the end of the post, the mod suggests going back to a previous official nVidia driver release. Did it work? In a word...

...no.
Fester_Silently is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-06-2005, 10:51 AM   #2
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
check your graphics settings on kotor. if your antistrophic filter settings are at 16x, then you might have problems since i don't think kotor completely supports that mode (whick doesn't make much sense to me, either).

try experimenting with the antistrophic filter settings below 16x and check your results.

it worked for me whenever i moved kotor to my new kick-a system and i had graphics problems. i had to tone down the resolution and turn the antistrophic filtering to a mere 4x.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-13-2005, 05:01 AM   #3
TemporaryTomato
Rookie
 
TemporaryTomato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 219
Try forcing AA and AF through your graphics card settings instead of the kotor options...
hey, it's worth a try!

16x AF works for me on a much crappier card. (9600 XT)
TemporaryTomato is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > nVidia 6800 + KotOR = WTF?!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:36 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.