lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Bones getting unlinked during compile..
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-18-2005, 09:04 PM   #1
Scarlett
 
Scarlett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Not quite over the rainbow
Posts: 79
Bones getting unlinked during compile..

Bleh. Someone help. For some reason, when i compile my model (making a new skeleton), the bones become unlinked in the process for some reason - meaning all the bones get moved to the same tree level, direct children of 'model_root'. I'm using 3ds max 5, exporting out in XSI 3.0... (and it's not a result of the export process).

I've done this several times in the past.. and haven't before had this problem. As far as i can see, this new model is setup just as the previous ones i've done are. So, i'm left kind of.. stuck..

If anyone has any suggestions, ideas, et cetra...
Scarlett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2005, 02:23 AM   #2
Scarlett
 
Scarlett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Not quite over the rainbow
Posts: 79
...nevermind, i just had the $pcj $flatten command in my Carcass script. However, there is still an issue - the end bone of a chain, always gets thrown out and gets moved up a few levels in the hierarchy. Although.. i have found a little hacky-fix. I don't know if it's what Raven did or not though (i would hope not ), but if you just add another bone to inherit from that end bone (not binding the mesh to it of course), it seems to do the trick.. and i guess the addition bone gets deleted during the compile. I suppose it does work a little too well to be unintentional though... just seems such very sloppy design..

If anyone knows of any other way.. i'd like to hear it...

And does anyone have an understanding of what the $pcj <bone name> Carcass script command is suppose to do? Raven used them in theirs (with the $pcj $flatten command done first to "flatten" the heirarchy), it obviously has something to do with bone linking but.. i don't really see the point... Why destroy the hierarchy, only to rebuild it again?
Scarlett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Modeling > Bones getting unlinked during compile..

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:24 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.