lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Problem with Debugging
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-10-2005, 05:31 AM   #1
mad mapper
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 25
Problem with Debugging

Well, i wanted to start writing some code and checked the debugger. But it is not working.

I have the following Problem:

Visual .Net is able to debug the cgame code, but the game code doesn't work.

These are the properties of the projects:

cgame:

C:\Programme\LucasArts\Star Wars Jedi Knight Jedi Academy\GameData\jamp.exe

+set fs_cdpath "C:\Programme\LucasArts\Star Wars Jedi Knight Jedi Academy\GameData" +set fs_dirbeforepak 1 +set sv_pure 0 +set r_fullscreen 0 +set viewlog 1

C:\projects\standardcode\Debug


game:

C:\Programme\LucasArts\Star Wars Jedi Knight Jedi Academy\GameData\jamp.exe

+set fs_cdpath "C:\Programme\LucasArts\Star Wars Jedi Knight Jedi Academy\GameData" +set fs_dirbeforepak 1 +set sv_pure 0 +set r_fullscreen 0 +set viewlog 1

C:\projects\standardcode\Debug


Excuse my bad English please.
mad mapper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-10-2005, 02:00 PM   #2
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
how exactly is it not working ?


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2005, 12:22 AM   #3
mad mapper
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 25
The break-Points have got a '?'-Sign


Excuse my bad English please.
mad mapper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2005, 06:35 AM   #4
mad mapper
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 25
------ Erstellen gestartet: Projekt: ui, Konfiguration: Debug Win32 ------

Kompilieren...
ui_syscalls.c
ui_shared.c
ui_saber.c
ui_main.c
ui_gameinfo.c
ui_force.c
ui_atoms.c
q_shared.c
q_math.c
bg_weapons.c
bg_vehicleLoad.c
bg_saga.c
bg_misc.c
Ressourcen werden kompiliert...
Verknüpfen...
LINK : LNK6004: ../Debug/uix86.dll wurde nicht gefunden oder nicht durch den letzten inkrementellen Bindevorgang erstellt; Bindung erfolgt vollstaendig
Bibliothek .\../Debug/uix86.lib und Objekt .\../Debug/uix86.exp wird erstellt

Das Build-Protokoll wurde unter "file://c:\projects\standardcode\Debug\ui\BuildLog.htm" gespeichert.
ui - 0 Fehler, 0 Warnung(en)


------ Erstellen gestartet: Projekt: botlib, Konfiguration: Debug Win32 ------

Kompilieren...
l_struct.cpp
l_script.cpp
l_precomp.cpp
l_memory.cpp
l_log.cpp
l_libvar.cpp
l_crc.cpp
be_interface.cpp
be_ea.cpp
be_ai_weight.cpp
be_ai_weap.cpp
be_ai_move.cpp
be_ai_goal.cpp
be_ai_gen.cpp
be_ai_chat.cpp
be_ai_char.cpp
be_aas_sample.cpp
be_aas_routealt.cpp
be_aas_route.cpp
be_aas_reach.cpp
be_aas_optimize.cpp
be_aas_move.cpp
be_aas_main.cpp
be_aas_file.cpp
be_aas_entity.cpp
be_aas_debug.cpp
be_aas_cluster.cpp
be_aas_bspq3.cpp
Bibliothek wird erstellt...

Das Build-Protokoll wurde unter "file://c:\projects\standardcode\Debug\botlib\BuildLog.htm " gespeichert.
botlib - 0 Fehler, 0 Warnung(en)


------ Erstellen gestartet: Projekt: JK2game, Konfiguration: Debug Win32 ------

Kompilieren...
w_saber.c
w_force.c
tri_coll_test.c
q_shared.c
q_math.c
g_weapon.c
g_vehicles.c
g_vehicleTurret.c
g_utils.c
g_turret_G2.c
g_turret.c
g_trigger.c
g_timer.c
g_team.c
g_target.c
g_syscalls.c
g_svcmds.c
g_strap.c
g_spawn.c
g_session.c
g_saga.c
g_object.c
g_navnew.c
g_nav.c
g_mover.c
g_missile.c
g_misc.c
g_mem.c
g_main.c
g_log.c
g_items.c
g_exphysics.c
g_combat.c
g_cmds.c
g_client.c
g_bot.c
g_arenas.c
g_active.c
g_ICARUScb.c
bg_weapons.c
bg_vehicleLoad.c
bg_slidemove.c
bg_saga.c
bg_saberLoad.c
bg_saber.c
bg_pmove.c
bg_panimate.c
bg_misc.c
bg_g2_utils.c
ai_wpnav.c
ai_util.c
ai_main.c
WalkerNPC.c
SpeederNPC.c
NPC_utils.c
NPC_stats.c
NPC_spawn.c
NPC_sounds.c
NPC_senses.c
NPC_reactions.c
NPC_move.c
NPC_misc.c
NPC_goal.c
NPC_combat.c
NPC_behavior.c
NPC_AI_Wampa.c
NPC_AI_Utils.c
NPC_AI_Stormtrooper.c
NPC_AI_Sniper.c
NPC_AI_Sentry.c
NPC_AI_Seeker.c
NPC_AI_Remote.c
NPC_AI_Rancor.c
NPC_AI_MineMonster.c
NPC_AI_Mark2.c
NPC_AI_Mark1.c
NPC_AI_Jedi.c
NPC_AI_Interrogator.c
NPC_AI_ImperialProbe.c
NPC_AI_Howler.c
NPC_AI_Grenadier.c
NPC_AI_GalakMech.c
NPC_AI_Droid.c
NPC_AI_Default.c
NPC_AI_Atst.c
NPC.c
FighterNPC.c
AnimalNPC.c
Ressourcen werden kompiliert...
Verknüpfen...
LINK : LNK6004: ..\Debug\jampgamex86.dll wurde nicht gefunden oder nicht durch den letzten inkrementellen Bindevorgang erstellt; Bindung erfolgt vollstaendig
Bibliothek .\../Debug/jampgamex86.lib und Objekt .\../Debug/jampgamex86.exp wird erstellt

Das Build-Protokoll wurde unter "file://c:\projects\standardcode\Debug\JK2game\BuildLog.ht m" gespeichert.
JK2game - 0 Fehler, 0 Warnung(en)


------ Erstellen gestartet: Projekt: JK2cgame, Konfiguration: Debug Win32 ------

Kompilieren...
ui_shared.c
q_shared.c
q_math.c
fx_rocketlauncher.c
fx_heavyrepeater.c
fx_force.c
fx_flechette.c
fx_disruptor.c
fx_demp2.c
fx_bryarpistol.c
fx_bowcaster.c
fx_blaster.c
cg_weapons.c
cg_weaponinit.c
cg_view.c
cg_turret.c
cg_syscalls.c
cg_strap.c
cg_snapshot.c
cg_servercmds.c
cg_scoreboard.c
cg_saga.c
cg_predict.c
cg_playerstate.c
cg_players.c
cg_newDraw.c
cg_marks.c
cg_main.c
cg_localents.c
cg_light.c
cg_info.c
cg_event.c
cg_ents.c
cg_effects.c
cg_drawtools.c
cg_draw.c
cg_consolecmds.c
bg_weapons.c
bg_vehicleLoad.c
bg_slidemove.c
bg_saga.c
bg_saberLoad.c
bg_saber.c
bg_pmove.c
bg_panimate.c
bg_misc.c
bg_g2_utils.c
WalkerNPC.c
SpeederNPC.c
FighterNPC.c
AnimalNPC.c
Ressourcen werden kompiliert...
Verknüpfen...
LINK : LNK6004: ..\Debug\cgamex86.dll wurde nicht gefunden oder nicht durch den letzten inkrementellen Bindevorgang erstellt; Bindung erfolgt vollstaendig
Bibliothek .\../Debug/cgamex86.lib und Objekt .\../Debug/cgamex86.exp wird erstellt

Das Build-Protokoll wurde unter "file://c:\projects\standardcode\Debug\JK2cgame\BuildLog.h tm" gespeichert.
JK2cgame - 0 Fehler, 0 Warnung(en)


---------------------- Fertig ----------------------

Erstellen: 4 erfolgreich, 0 fehlgeschlagen, 0 übersprungen

I think the compiler had problems with this:

LINK : LNK6004: ..\Debug\cgamex86.dll was not found or created by the last binding process; Binding complete
Library .\../Debug/cgamex86.lib and Object .\../Debug/cgamex86.exp get created

Edit:
JA creates a base-Folder in my Debug-Folder and copies the original dlls into it. How to make JA use my dlls in the Debug folder???


Excuse my bad English please.

Last edited by mad mapper; 01-11-2005 at 07:07 AM.
mad mapper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2005, 01:31 PM   #5
stubert
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 227
debugger application... but it never worked right for me.. i just set up a batch to copy the dlls into /gamedata/redslushie, make sure the dlls are compiled in debug mode and you'll be able to call the debugger if it has an exception or error
stubert is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2005, 04:35 PM   #6
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
You need to have "+set fs_cdpath "C:\yourJKAdirhere\GameData" +set fs_dirbeforepak 1" in the command arguement.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-12-2005, 01:54 AM   #7
mad mapper
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 25
Look at my first post:

+set fs_cdpath "C:\Programme\LucasArts\Star Wars Jedi Knight Jedi Academy\GameData" +set fs_dirbeforepak 1 +set sv_pure 0 +set r_fullscreen 0 +set viewlog 1


Excuse my bad English please.
mad mapper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-12-2005, 06:03 AM   #8
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
Oh, ok. So, two things...

1. Is the working directory set to the debug folder?
2. Are you sure you have this debugger info set up for the particular compile config (final/debug/etc) that you are used? Remember that only debugger config used is the one for the current compile config and active project.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-12-2005, 09:55 AM   #9
mad mapper
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally posted by razorace

1. Is the working directory set to the debug folder?
Well, again: my first post:

c:\projects\standardcode\degug

Quote:
Originally posted by razorace

2. Are you sure you have this debugger info set up for the particular compile config (final/debug/etc) that you are used? Remember that only debugger config used is the one for the current compile config and active project.
I didnt understand that, sorry

All 4 Projects are set to debug


Excuse my bad English please.
mad mapper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-12-2005, 02:48 PM   #10
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
and you're sure that the config is right for your active project while in that compile configuration?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-16-2005, 10:59 PM   #11
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
Oh, I think I know the problem. You also have to change the Output Directory and Intermediate Directory settings to point whatever you want your output folder to be.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-17-2005, 07:53 AM   #12
mad mapper
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 25
My output directory is the following
.\../Debug
and the temporary output directory
.\../Debug/JK2game


Excuse my bad English please.
mad mapper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-17-2005, 10:03 AM   #13
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
Crap, ok, I looked into a bit more and the problem is that the game looks for stuff in a /base subfolder of whatever your work directory is.

So, for things to work, you'd have to have your output file be (an option under linker) to .\../Debug/base/whateverthedllnameis.dll.

Secondly, you have to make sure that the +set fs_cdpath "C:\Programme\LucasArts\Star Wars Jedi Knight Jedi Academy\GameData" is set to your actual JKA gamedata folder.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-19-2005, 08:58 AM   #14
mad mapper
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 25
Well, now i got another problem:

The engine says this:

Pixelformat failed!!!
Couldn't load GL Subsystem!!!


Excuse my bad English please.
mad mapper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-19-2005, 09:26 AM   #15
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
Mind taking a screenshot of the viewlog when this happens?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2005, 10:29 AM   #16
mad mapper
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 25
I'll do the next time i try it.


Excuse my bad English please.
mad mapper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Coding > Problem with Debugging

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:42 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.