lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: .skins on map_objects?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-12-2005, 04:11 PM   #1
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,187
.skins on map_objects?

I've been informed of a problem with one of the holocron models used for JKA. Basically, the Force Pull model has the skin of the Force Push holcron. I've already checked the shader files and it's definately not the shaders. The model is just using the problem skin.

Is it possible to change the textures on a md3 model with a .skin file or do I have to get someone physically fix the .md3?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2005, 04:05 PM   #2
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Yes it is possible:

1.Make sure your .skin file has the same name as your .md3 file

Let's say i make a saber called psyko.md3, the .skin file will be named psyko.skin and contain the name of the model followed by the texture path like this:

saber_w,models/weapons2/psyko/saber.jpg

2.saber_w is the default name given to your object in 3d max (check the name in md3viewer)

place the .skin and texture in the model's path, in this case:
models/weapons2/psyko/saber.jpg

3.Load the model into md3view and import the skin (go to file then import skin), then write a .md3 with the new skin applied.

The other way would be to manually edit the .md3, which i dont recommend unless you know what you are doing.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-14-2005, 04:31 PM   #3
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,187
Thanks Psyk0Sith, it looks like that is going to work. I just gotta mess with the textures a bit first, but I think I got it.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Modeling > .skins on map_objects?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:45 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.