lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: "ignoring" friendly fire in single player
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-17-2005, 12:30 AM   #1
yangyan
 
yangyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Somewhere far away...
Posts: 289
"ignoring" friendly fire in single player

Im not sure if this is the right forum, but im trying to make something that forces ally npcs to ignore your friendly fire, so if you spawn luke and start sabering him and there are other jedi around, they'll just ignore you and you wont get a "Mission Failed : You've turned on your friends". Is there like a script (icarus) thats run by default infinitly by the game so when you kill an ally the script automatically detects it, or is it hardcoded into the game? Or is there a script that tells the game to give you a mission failed when you turn on your allies? any help would be appreciated.


yangyan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-17-2005, 07:29 PM   #2
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
I beleive the actual behavior event is hardcoded but the menu/script that it calls when this happens is editable.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-18-2005, 12:27 AM   #3
yangyan
 
yangyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Somewhere far away...
Posts: 289
do you know which script controls it? ive been searching for an hour and the closest thing ive come to is common/mad_at_player.ibi but it doesnt have a SET_MISSIONFAILED, MISSIONFAILED_TURNED. All it does have it SET_ENEMY, player.


yangyan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-18-2005, 12:42 AM   #4
yangyan
 
yangyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Somewhere far away...
Posts: 289
i did a search and looked for missionfailed and none of the files had missionfailed_turned in it. maybe it isnt controlled by scripting?


yangyan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-18-2005, 09:52 AM   #5
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Well, crap, I can't seem to find the reference either. I seem to remember it being in the AI code somewhere but I can't seem to connect it to the mission failed menu being displayed other than thru the SET_MISSIONFAILED ICARUS command.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-19-2005, 02:05 AM   #6
yangyan
 
yangyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Somewhere far away...
Posts: 289
i downloaded survival mod 2 and played for a while, then I realised that the mod allowed you to kill your allies without failing the mission. sure they start attacking you but thing is you dont fail. i explored the scripts for a while but there doesnt seem to be any kind of script that controls it either. which means its built into the map or its something to do with npcs.cfg or something else


yangyan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-19-2005, 02:08 AM   #7
yangyan
 
yangyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Somewhere far away...
Posts: 289
ok its probably not built into the map because i made a simple box room and spawned some rebels. turned on god mode and killed one, and soon enough I got a mission failed


yangyan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-19-2005, 02:19 AM   #8
yangyan
 
yangyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Somewhere far away...
Posts: 289
ok! it is the map, or some script thats run by the map. cause I played my map on Survival mod and i got a mission failed, and I played on a normal survival mod map and i didnt get a mission failed.


yangyan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-19-2005, 02:57 AM   #9
yangyan
 
yangyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Somewhere far away...
Posts: 289
or maybe it isnt, im stumped.


yangyan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-19-2005, 09:57 AM   #10
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Try checking the worldspawn options on the Survival Mod, it might be in there or something.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-23-2005, 05:04 AM   #11
yangyan
 
yangyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Somewhere far away...
Posts: 289
classname = worldspawn


yangyan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-23-2005, 10:57 AM   #12
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Uh, I mean part of the physical map .bsp. You can decompile it using the editor and then look at the worldspawn map entity settings.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-23-2005, 06:41 PM   #13
yangyan
 
yangyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Somewhere far away...
Posts: 289
yeah there was already a sample map in the pk3. didnt have any other things in worldspawn


yangyan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-23-2005, 09:57 PM   #14
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Well, I'm out of ideas. Maybe try emailing the creators?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2005, 04:55 AM   #15
yangyan
 
yangyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Somewhere far away...
Posts: 289
I dont think they were intending it. I made another room and spawned a whole bunch of rebels and had tons of fun massacring them. Didnt get mission failed either. strangly I didnt do anything in the map except put info_palyer_start


yangyan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2005, 11:50 AM   #16
riceplant
Junior Member
 
riceplant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 348
I've noticed that killing friendlies doesn't usually fail you the mission, just hurting them. For example, I spawn in several rebels and start shooting them. I will soon get 'mission failed'. But if I saber them, killing them in one hit, I don't. Is this of any use?
riceplant is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-26-2005, 02:41 AM   #17
yangyan
 
yangyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Somewhere far away...
Posts: 289
but they start attacking you as soon as they see you kill one of them.


yangyan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Coding > "ignoring" friendly fire in single player

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.