lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: About photoshop brushes
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-30-2005, 10:37 AM   #1
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
About photoshop brushes

Ok i have an hipernoob question , i've downloaded a tutorial about making hair:

http://www.bobotheseal.com/vids/BoBo_Hair_Demo.zip

and my problem is that i dont know how to make the brush fade at the end of each stroke like it is there, when i set it to fade in brushes window it only fades from left to right and it fades in the middle of the brush...what i have to do???




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-31-2005, 08:02 AM   #2
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
anybody? DOH!




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-31-2005, 06:36 PM   #3
CortoCG
 
CortoCG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Outer Heaven
Posts: 907
Bobo is using a digital pen with a tablet. Itīs pressure sensitive, thatīs how he manages to fade the stroke at the end.



Dark Forces Mod: Modeler, animator, coder.

For more detail about my work visit my website
CortoCG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2005, 07:34 AM   #4
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
but how i use it?? im just going mad cuz no one seems to know but at the same time everyone knows how...:/




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2005, 11:17 AM   #5
Manquesa
 
Manquesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 699
In the Brushes menu as seen in that hair demo. Click on the words "Other Dynamics" Then under the Flow Jitter option next to the work "Control" is a drop down menu. Select "pen pressure" from the drop down menu.

That worked for me, I use a very small wacom tablet. (well I barely use it, I mostly just use my mouse)


Finished Projects:
Sith Terminator
Awing
Tie-Interceptor
Y-Wing
Death Glider
Slave 1
Ep. 3 Jedi Starfighter

Current Projects:
T-16 Skyhopper
Manquesa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2005, 06:37 PM   #6
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
im going to surrender ...:
http://img60.imageshack.us/img60/3748/bah5ue.jpg




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-01-2005, 08:38 PM   #7
Manquesa
 
Manquesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 699
Well, stupid question but, are you using a digital pen or mouse?


Finished Projects:
Sith Terminator
Awing
Tie-Interceptor
Y-Wing
Death Glider
Slave 1
Ep. 3 Jedi Starfighter

Current Projects:
T-16 Skyhopper
Manquesa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2005, 08:45 AM   #8
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
mouse




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2005, 12:25 PM   #9
Manquesa
 
Manquesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 699
Oh ok, sorry I was under the impression that you were using a digital pen after reading Corto's post about the digital pen.

Ok, well I went into photoshop and looked at how to do it with a mouse. Basically just do the same thing, except select "Fade" from the drop down menu instead of "Pen Pressure". The only problem with this is that it will only allow the stroke to be a certain length. You'll have to adjust the number to the right of the drop down menu in increase or decrease the length of the stroke.

I just tested it out and it simmulates very well what's in that hair demo. Though like Corto said, Bobo is most likely using a digital pen with pressure sensitivity allowing him to control the fade and stroke length all at once.

You should be able to acheive the same results though with a mouse, it'll just be a bit slower and annoying as you'll have to manually change the lenght of the stroke as you go


Finished Projects:
Sith Terminator
Awing
Tie-Interceptor
Y-Wing
Death Glider
Slave 1
Ep. 3 Jedi Starfighter

Current Projects:
T-16 Skyhopper
Manquesa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-02-2005, 03:25 PM   #10
LightNinja
The Ninjonator
 
LightNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somewhere-Spain Status: Ninjonator
Posts: 1,998
ok i've figured out it, but it doesn't look like bobo. Well if he is using a digital pen now i know why his looks that good, anyway thanks for the info Manquesa




~JA MP Total Conversion~
LightNinja is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Skinning > About photoshop brushes

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:45 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.