lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Player Selection
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-17-2005, 05:58 PM   #1
GangsterAngel
Rookie
 
GangsterAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 139
Player Selection

Dose anyone know how the player selection menu works?

when i say ' works '
i meen how and where it LOADS the player icons into the list

i know it gets he models from the .skin file
but i dont see how its posible for a menu file to read from a .skin file
or get the list of skins.

infact im 100% sure its not posible for the menu file to do it.

Because, menus are static values.
and the icons and model list is Dynamic .
( i know the menus can load Dynamic Cvars tho, but thats diffrent )

so i dont see how its posible for the menu to do it.

im talking about how the list is auctually BUILT and then DRAWN.
so i can filter out models , for species selection.

Can anyone give me some guidance to of where its told to draw the icons ?
GangsterAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2005, 03:44 AM   #2
GangsterAngel
Rookie
 
GangsterAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 139
i can find Reset but not set... somone plz give me some guidance!
Code:
static void UI_ResetCharacterListBoxes( void )
{

	itemDef_t *item;
	menuDef_t *menu;
	listBoxDef_t *listPtr;

	menu = Menu_GetFocused();

	if (menu)
	{
		item = (itemDef_t *) Menu_FindItemByName((menuDef_t *) menu, "headlistbox");
		if (item)
		{
			listBoxDef_t *listPtr = (listBoxDef_t*)item->typeData;
			if( listPtr )
			{
				listPtr->cursorPos = 0;
			}
			item->cursorPos = 0;
		}

		item = (itemDef_t *) Menu_FindItemByName((menuDef_t *) menu, "torsolistbox");
		if (item)
		{
			listPtr = (listBoxDef_t*)item->typeData;
			if( listPtr )
			{
				listPtr->cursorPos = 0;
			}
			item->cursorPos = 0;
		}

		item = (itemDef_t *) Menu_FindItemByName((menuDef_t *) menu, "lowerlistbox");
		if (item)
		{
			listPtr = (listBoxDef_t*)item->typeData;
			if( listPtr )
			{
				listPtr->cursorPos = 0;
			}
			item->cursorPos = 0;
		}

		item = (itemDef_t *) Menu_FindItemByName((menuDef_t *) menu, "colorbox");
		if (item)
		{
			listPtr = (listBoxDef_t*)item->typeData;
			if( listPtr )
			{
				listPtr->cursorPos = 0;
			}
			item->cursorPos = 0;
		}
	}
}
GangsterAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2005, 03:55 AM   #3
GangsterAngel
Rookie
 
GangsterAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 139
i find functions like

Code:
qboolean UI_hasSkinForBase(const char *base, const char *team) {

and i think im onto somthing.
then i do FIND in files "UI_hasSkinForBase"
and it only finds it once!!!!!

im realy lost here! someone help me !!!!!
GangsterAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2005, 02:28 PM   #4
D-style
Rookie
 
D-style's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 12
that first one you posted seems to be for the create-a-jedi screen.. but idk much about coding so i should just shuddap


...........::::::::THIS IS MY SIG!::::::::........

Problem is.. i dont have a sig..
D-style is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-18-2005, 06:32 PM   #5
GangsterAngel
Rookie
 
GangsterAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 139
item = (itemDef_t *) Menu_FindItemByName((menuDef_t *) menu, "torsolistbox");
if (item)

its saying there , that is "torsolistbox" ( Create-a-Jedi ) dose not exist then not to bother.

therefore , supporting the normal player selection .
because that box where the icons are listed , is called "headlistbox"
GangsterAngel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-21-2005, 02:00 PM   #6
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Just poke around in the player selection menu .menu a bit more. You'll find it. It should be called "Ghoul2" something.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-22-2005, 09:50 PM   #7
CerberuS_21
Rookie
 
CerberuS_21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 15
Code:
		itemDef 
		{
			name 				headlist
			rect 				30 224 404 194
//			rect 				126 215 80 200
			type 				ITEM_TYPE_LISTBOX
			style 				WINDOW_STYLE_FILLED
			elementwidth 			64
			elementheight 			64
			elementtype 			LISTBOX_IMAGE
			feeder 				FEEDER_Q3HEADS
//			horizontalscroll
			backcolor 			0 0 0 1
			border 				1
			bordercolor 			.5 .5 .5 1
			forecolor 			1 1 1 1
			descText			@MENUS_CHOOSE_THE_MODEL_FOR
			visible 			1
			textscale 			0.7
			action 
			{ 
				play			"sound/interface/button1.wav" ;
			}
			mouseenter 
			{ 
				setitemcolor headlist bordercolor 1 0 0 1 
			}
			mouseexit 
			{ 
				setitemcolor headlist bordercolor .5 .5 .5 1 
			}
		}
From ui/jamp/player.menu - this tells the game where to display the icon list (there's a similar passage in ingame_player.menu which does the same for the ingame menus).

The actual feeder is composed in code. A search for "FEEDER_Q3HEADS" in the ui project should bring up the relevant code bits.

Not sure whether this is what you are looking for though.

CerberuS_21 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Coding > Player Selection

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:38 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.