lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Turret Complaint
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-23-2002, 05:56 AM   #1
Surfnshannon
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 82
Thumbs down Turret Complaint

Let's say there's a dude attacking you and you want to safe haven your workers - so you alarm them to go inside. Since your command center holds only 10...your other workers go into your turrets. After you blow the enemy away and you give your workers the all clear - out jumps the workers in the command center and off they go back to work as if nothing ever happened. However, the other workers who took shelter in your turrets are still in your turrets...too lazy to go back to work. You have to tell them individually or group wise to go back. The only way I can tell what they WERE working on is by selecting and seeing what they used to be "ore miner" or what have you. This is VERY annoying. Why can't they remember what they were working on as well...when the all clear sounds...why won't they go back to work???
Surfnshannon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-23-2002, 06:22 AM   #2
Natopo
 
Natopo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Virginia
Posts: 841
They should adress this in the x-pac. I don't think they they adressed it on the game.


Finding the cure for stupidity
Natopo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-23-2002, 11:43 AM   #3
Gaming Nut
 
Gaming Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waldwick, NJ
Posts: 303
It's litte more then an annoyance and maybe an insentive to keep him away from your workers. Also I'm not sure but if you look at the turret are their the alret buttons on it's menu I think the forrtress has them and you need to cacnel the alret their too for the workers to come out but I'm not sure I have no problems with it becasue at a glance I can tell what worker was doing what.
Gaming Nut is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-23-2002, 11:54 AM   #4
Chessack
 
Chessack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 318
Actually, this is proper behavior, as it allows you to fine-tune your response to an invasion. Suppose a few troops get through your outer turret defense net. While the battle rages there, they get into your middle area and you sound the alarm. Your workers go into towers as well as the CC. Now the CC power overwhelms the couple of enemies that made it into your middle area. You can let those workers in the CC go back to work... but the battle is still raging around your turrets. If the workers all came outside, as you would like, then they'd be dead meat.

Basically, there are two choices, and they are equally valid, as far as I can see.

1. Sounding the "all clear" at the CC could let everyone out. This would be good in cases of limited attacks where you want everyone to go out at once, but would force you to let workers out of the CC by hand, rather than using an all clear, if you want to "fine tune" your response and only let certain workers out. Thus, all clear would work well for general cases but not well for fine tuning.

2. Sounding "all clear" from a building only lets workers out of that building. This is good in the case of isolated hot spots, and lets you "fine tune" your response, but does not allow a single "all clear" to be sounded, allowing all workers to go back to work at once.

I can't see how they could do both, so the game programmers had to pick one of the two behaviors. They picked #2, which gives preference to fine-tuning over the single-click generality in #1. Since I prefer fine-tuning to generality, I for one am glad they picked #2.

May the Force be with you.


Chessack
Mos Espa, Tatooine
Chessack is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-16-2002, 09:02 AM   #5
Blackhawk
 
Blackhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1
You could make more commandcenters!!
Blackhawk is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2002, 12:15 PM   #6
KhaleeLah
 
KhaleeLah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vong Worldship
Posts: 140
lots and lots of command centers. save that ore for fortresses. OR you could put those towers in your enemies base.
KhaleeLah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-10-2002, 12:03 AM   #7
project_future
 
project_future's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 9
All you have to do to let all of the workers out is to his the alert beacon again, not the one with the X on it, but the one that you used to get them in in the first place. In doing so, ALL of the wokers in that general area will go back to work.


project_future is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-03-2003, 08:18 PM   #8
XxShadow69xX
 
XxShadow69xX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ...i'm not quite sure
Posts: 7
well ive noticed it all depends on how far/close ur turret is from ur CC
when i do what u just described and my turret is relatively close to my CC, every1 goes bak to work
but say my main base gets attacked but a small colony accross the map doesnt, if i hit the button in my CC, the main workers go in, the colony workers dont even look @ their CC, they just keep living
XxShadow69xX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-17-2003, 10:55 AM   #9
Dewback Fodder
 
Dewback Fodder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5
The CC has an alarm range of about three screens in all directions.

So if your turrets are in the 3Screen radius, that SHOULD mean that the turrets will let go of the units.



I had a problem VERY much like this one in AOK but it was fixed in TC so I assume that if it wasnt fixed in CC it will be in the most recent patch (havent gotten CC or the CC v1.1 patch)


When I get up, I always fall down
Dewback Fodder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-19-2003, 02:49 PM   #10
Dark Jedi13
 
Dark Jedi13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Floria
Posts: 1
Angry they stink

I hate how turrets are so weak! They are so expensive and do almost no damage to enemies! They also have very little health.
I stopped building turrets because one AC (Air Cruiser) can destroy them in 2 or 3 hits!


"There is no try, only do"
Yoda Empire Strikes Back
Dark Jedi13 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-18-2003, 04:32 AM   #11
Ma Liang
 
Ma Liang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 18
Then you clearly have no idea how to use turrets.

Research Medium, then Advanced Turret in the Research centre. The + buiding Sight in the Command Centre and War Centre. Build 3 or 4 in a narrow passage (It's what there intended use is). Garrison 5 units in there, and get a Shield Generator for it. You can then hold back armies of 100+ Jedi, Troops, Mechs, and Hvy Weapons alike.

They are not used for wide spread areas for any reason other than cover-fire. As in a wide area, you cannot predict what side they will atack from, or even if their close enough for the turret to hit them.


The power of accurate observation is often called "Cynisism" by those who do not possess it.
Ma Liang is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2005, 03:21 PM   #12
AT-ATNemesis
Rookie
 
AT-ATNemesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In A Galaxy Far Far Away.....
Posts: 123
Post

turrets arent worth the ore to build in tl2
best 2 build them in tl3
Hope this helps


I Find Your Lack Of Faith Disturbing!~Lord Vader
Wipe Them Out,All Of Them!~Darth Sidious
At Last We Will Have Our Revenge~Darth Maul

Gone A-Sniping Back In 3
AT-ATNemesis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > Community > GalacticBattles.com > Star Wars: Galactic Battlegrounds > SWGB Strategy Center > Turret Complaint

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:25 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.