lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Batch File Problems...
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-11-2005, 09:08 PM   #1
Xenodius
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Question Batch File Problems...

Hey, im moderately incompetent at batch files and stuff, but seriously, i cant figure this out, i even asked Dann and all he said was come here... anyway, when i run his SP batch file, it runs for about 1/4 second then shuts off. He said some people have that problem, wondering if anyone here can fix it? here is the file code im using:

"G:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars Battlefront II Beta\GameData\BattlefrontIIEngBeta.exe" /win /autonet listen /resolution 1280 1024 /gamename SinglePlayer /tps 30 /playerlimit 1 /playercount 1 /bots 16 /difficulty 1 /heroes 1 /hrunlock 4 /hrunlockvalue 1 /hrplayer 1 /hrteam 2 /hrrespawn 4 /hrrespawnvalue 1 /pregametime 5 /voicemode 2 /throttle 6144 /spawn 0 /netregion NA uta1c_con 250 250 tan1g_con 250 250 uta1g_con 250 250 tan1c_con 250 250 uta1c_con 250 250 spa1g_ass 200 200 tan1g_con 250 250 uta1g_con 250 250 tan1c_con 250 250 uta1c_con 250 250 tan1g_con 250 250 spa1g_ass 200 200 uta1g_con 250 250 tan1c_con 250 250 uta1c_con 250 250 uta1c_1flag 200 200 /sideselect novalue /noteamdamage

:-(
Xenodius is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-11-2005, 11:02 PM   #2
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Is the address really where you have SWBF2 installed? Drive and everything correct?

Also, you can delete the "novalue" thing, just have it like this:

/sideselect

Nothing else needed. "novalue" is just a placeholder for, you guessed it, NO VALUE!

Also put the batch file into the same folder as the EXE file and run it there. If you want to run it on your desktop or something, create a SHORTCUT to the batch file, and put that shortcut wherever you want.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2005, 10:11 AM   #3
Xenodius
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Unhappy Ahhh...

Oh... that makes things a little easier, didn't know it had to be in the same folder ^.^. I checked the file name, I know thats correct, its copied from my shortcut... but it still does the same thing! Opens and before the entire window is loaded, its gone... I can just barely see it load. Any ideas :-S
Xenodius is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2005, 01:50 PM   #4
SBF_Dann_Boeing
Rookie
 
SBF_Dann_Boeing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Off Somewhere Killing Tuskens
Posts: 223
hmmm I had the same problem with a friend of mine ([SBF]atatfightr) and I can't find an answer to. Its not the drive that's your problem I don't think, because atatfightr uses drive C and he still has problems, and my drive is D and I don't have any problems. Really weird.


Go to http://freewebs.com/sbfdude/
"If it doesn't work BLOW IT UP" shock1
SBF_Dann_Boeing is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2005, 06:56 PM   #5
Xenodius
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Ahh... SWBFIISM?

Alright, ill take that, I have another server designed to host anyway ^.^ Should work on that and even if it doesn't, i would like to ask.... what about SWBFIISM? (Star Wars Battlefront II Server Manager) at www.blackbagops.com? it says 0 downloads and has no link but i mean seriously it has FAQ and all... its confusing. I even tried doing it using IE instead of Firefox, to no avail. Ideas? And thankyou for all your help so far!


PS: Nothing is wrong with the HDD's themselves either, they are new.... (Im using two striped 160's, thats my G drive... Confuzzling.)
Xenodius is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2005, 08:04 PM   #6
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Can you load the game at all without a batch file?

I haven't tried any server browser (didn't know one was out to the public yet, if it does, it is likely unofficial and may be buggy), but you shouldn't need one to host a game...


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2005, 08:06 PM   #7
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Edit: My bad, it IS official.

Quote:
Battlefront™ 2 Server Manager
Black Bag Operations is proud to announce the next incarnation of our popular game server management tools.

Acclaimed developer Pandemic Studios has licensed BBO game server management tools for their upcoming Star WarsŪ Battlefront™ 2 game title for LucasArtsŪ due for release on 1 November 2005.
That would explain why it isn't out yet. Probably only certain lucky people have access to it right now. No reason to make it really public until the real thing is out.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2005, 08:12 PM   #8
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
You do not have to have the batch file in the same folder as the game. Make the following changes to your batch files:

Line 1) [c]:\
-where c is the hard drive partition you installed the game under. This moves command.com's directory to the correct hard drive.

Line 2) cd "[games\betas\SWBF2]"
-where games\betas\SWBF2 is the path to the BattlefrontIIEngBeta.exe file.

Line 3) BattlefrontIIEngBeta.exe [/command1] [/command2...]
-where /command# is the command arguments you are using to set your server options

An example of a batch file (don't include the 'Line #') for Xenodius:

Line 1) G:\
Line 2) cd "Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars Battlefront II Beta\GameData\"
Line 3) BattlefrontIIEngBeta.exe /win /autonet listen /resolution 1280 1024 /gamename SinglePlayer /tps 30 /playerlimit 1 /playercount 1 /bots 16 /difficulty 1 /heroes 1 /hrunlock 4 /hrunlockvalue 1 /hrplayer 1 /hrteam 2 /hrrespawn 4 /hrrespawnvalue 1 /pregametime 5 /voicemode 2 /throttle 6144 /spawn 0 /netregion NA uta1c_con 250 250 tan1g_con 250 250 uta1g_con 250 250 tan1c_con 250 250 uta1c_con 250 250 spa1g_ass 200 200 tan1g_con 250 250 uta1g_con 250 250 tan1c_con 250 250 uta1c_con 250 250 tan1g_con 250 250 spa1g_ass 200 200 uta1g_con 250 250 tan1c_con 250 250 uta1c_con 250 250 uta1c_1flag 200 200 /sideselect /noteamdamage

(My server program will be out this upcoming Sunday.)



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2005, 10:06 PM   #9
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
You're right zerted, but whatever works.

How come nobody likes to use Respawn Invulnerability? (/spawn)

I guess I'm so used to it from every other FPS out there, but still.


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-13-2005, 11:50 AM   #10
Xenodius
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
AWESOME! it workies! that fixed it zert.... xD *hosts server for friends* Thanks y'all! and again! and again!and again! and again!and again! and again!and again! and again!and again! and again!and again! and again!and again! and again!and again! and again!and again! and again!and again! and again!and again! and again!


XD!

~
Xeno
Xenodius is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-13-2005, 05:39 PM   #11
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenodius
...again! and again!and again! and again!and again! and again!and again! and again!and again! and again!and again! and again!and again! and again!and again! and again!and again! and again!and again! and again!and again! and again!...
When you copy and paste something, make sure it doesn't have any errors in it (like a missing space [" "] ).

An no problem. Thats one reason the forums are here.



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2005, 10:36 AM   #12
yellowblood
Rookie
 
yellowblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Yavin 4
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurgan
How come nobody likes to use Respawn Invulnerability? (/spawn)
sory for the stupid qiestion, but what does it mean? Can't find "Invulnerability" in the dictionary.


yellowblood is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2005, 11:14 AM   #13
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowblood
...but what does it mean? Can't find "Invulnerability" in the dictionary.
lol, Look up the root word 'vulnerable'. Seems people are starting to forgot how to use dictionaries...

Respawn Invulnerability is a setting. If turned on, a player has a few seconds where he cannot be hurt after respawning. This prevents (or at least tries to prevent) people from sitting in a vehicle near a CP, killing all the respawning units before they have a chance to fight back. It is normally a good idea to have this setting turned on and set to a time around 5 seconds.

yellowblood, I like your occupation. How much do you get paid and do you know of any openings in the New York area?



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2005, 01:10 PM   #14
biny
Rookie
 
biny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 170
I'm having bathc file problems too. I made a thread but no-one has answered.

this is my batch file:

"C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars Battlefront II Beta\GameData\BattlefrontIIEngBeta.exe" /nointro /win /norender /autonet dedicated /resolution 320 240 /nosound /gamename SuperServer /playerlimit 8 /playercount 0 /sideselect /bots 16 /difficulty 3 uta1c_con 200 200 tan1c_con 200 200 spa1g_ass 200 200

what happens is that the little box that comes up when u start a server comes up, but it just stays black, even after 5 minutes.


"I reject your reality, and substitue my own!"
-Adam Savage, Mythbuster Extraordiniare.

"A proof is a proof. What kind of a proof? It's a proof. A proof is a proof. And when you have a good proof, it's because it's proven."
-Jean Chretien, former Prime Minister of Canada.

NOBODY EXPECTS THE SPANISH INQUISITION!!!!!





biny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2005, 01:21 PM   #15
yellowblood
Rookie
 
yellowblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Yavin 4
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerted
lol, Look up the root word 'vulnerable'. Seems people are starting to forgot how to use dictionaries...

Respawn Invulnerability is a setting. If turned on, a player has a few seconds where he cannot be hurt after respawning. This prevents (or at least tries to prevent) people from sitting in a vehicle near a CP, killing all the respawning units before they have a chance to fight back. It is normally a good idea to have this setting turned on and set to a time around 5 seconds.
Thanks, exellent explenation :P But if someone's near an enemy CP while this option is turned on, the enemy's player (who just spwaned) can kill him in those 5 sec, can't they?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zerted
yellowblood, I like your occupation. How much do you get paid and do you know of any openings in the New York area?
lol ^^


yellowblood is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2005, 01:26 PM   #16
yellowblood
Rookie
 
yellowblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Yavin 4
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by biny
what happens is that the little box that comes up when u start a server comes up, but it just stays black, even after 5 minutes.
Is the window says "STARWARS Battlefront"?


yellowblood is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2005, 03:14 PM   #17
biny
Rookie
 
biny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowblood
Is the window says "STARWARS Battlefront"?

It most certainly does (on the bar at the top) but the rest is black. Then i have to Ctrl+Alt+Del to close it. =-[


"I reject your reality, and substitue my own!"
-Adam Savage, Mythbuster Extraordiniare.

"A proof is a proof. What kind of a proof? It's a proof. A proof is a proof. And when you have a good proof, it's because it's proven."
-Jean Chretien, former Prime Minister of Canada.

NOBODY EXPECTS THE SPANISH INQUISITION!!!!!





biny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2005, 03:34 PM   #18
yellowblood
Rookie
 
yellowblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Yavin 4
Posts: 41
wierd. did you try to check if you can join it? I mean, maybe it's working but there's a problem and you can't see it. Basiclly you'r sopposed to see some info text, black on white, and that's it.


yellowblood is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-14-2005, 08:01 PM   #19
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowblood
But if someone's near an enemy CP while this option is turned on, the enemy's player (who just spwaned) can kill him in those 5 sec, can't they?
The invulnerability goes away under two conditions:
1) The time limit runs out.
2) You fire a shot. As soon as you start attacking someone, you are vulnerable again.



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-15-2005, 05:42 AM   #20
yellowblood
Rookie
 
yellowblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Yavin 4
Posts: 41
oh ok... then it's better to be turned on :P


yellowblood is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-16-2005, 02:58 AM   #21
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,316
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Yes.

The green "pulsing" indicates you're invulnerable. But once you attack, it's gone! Most FPS games have this, that's why it was so odd that SWBF didn't have it. I guess they wanted to encourage spawn camping (since it helps to capture control points that way) but on the other hand it's really frustrating. Having the respawn invulnerability at least gives the defenders half a chance...


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-16-2005, 08:15 PM   #22
biny
Rookie
 
biny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowblood
wierd. did you try to check if you can join it? I mean, maybe it's working but there's a problem and you can't see it. Basiclly you'r sopposed to see some info text, black on white, and that's it.
I cant join it and it doesnt appear in the servers list ingame.

=-[ =-[ =-[


"I reject your reality, and substitue my own!"
-Adam Savage, Mythbuster Extraordiniare.

"A proof is a proof. What kind of a proof? It's a proof. A proof is a proof. And when you have a good proof, it's because it's proven."
-Jean Chretien, former Prime Minister of Canada.

NOBODY EXPECTS THE SPANISH INQUISITION!!!!!





biny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-17-2005, 07:44 AM   #23
yellowblood
Rookie
 
yellowblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Yavin 4
Posts: 41
Try to remove the folder's path and locate the BAT file in the GAMEDATA directory.
You have nothing to lose.

PS I'm not saying this cause I'm bored, but it happaned me too yesterday and when I passed the BAT back to his place it's all got fixed. wierd.



Last edited by yellowblood; 10-17-2005 at 07:48 AM. Reason: PS
yellowblood is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-17-2005, 12:47 PM   #24
biny
Rookie
 
biny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowblood
Try to remove the folder's path and locate the BAT file in the GAMEDATA directory.
You have nothing to lose.
You mean make the batch file and save it in Gamedata?

Quote:
and when I passed the BAT back to his place it's all got fixed. wierd.
I dont understand.


"I reject your reality, and substitue my own!"
-Adam Savage, Mythbuster Extraordiniare.

"A proof is a proof. What kind of a proof? It's a proof. A proof is a proof. And when you have a good proof, it's because it's proven."
-Jean Chretien, former Prime Minister of Canada.

NOBODY EXPECTS THE SPANISH INQUISITION!!!!!





biny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront II > Server Administration > Batch File Problems...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:34 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.