lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Need help commanding troops
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-03-2005, 12:21 PM   #1
munkay
Lurker
 
munkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Need help commanding troops

I'm not too keen on the commands/orders system yet. In regards to the PC version how do you order teammates to follow/defend/attack and what not?

I'm used to battlefield II and the command system is quite simple there, but this game it seems it is F(1-12) commands, and I don't see confirmation of my orders...so a basic run down of how it works would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any help.

F you in advance for flames and noob comments =)
munkay is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2005, 01:01 PM   #2
rut-wa jodar
 
rut-wa jodar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: a galaxy far,far away
Posts: 722
I`m a bit confused myself, AFAIK! the F4 key has only 2 order commands for infantry( follow and move out), but if you hold shift then press F4 on a bot piloted vehicle, it orders them to hold up. I`m sure there are more,somewhere.


I`ve bent my
rut-wa jodar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2005, 03:50 PM   #3
munkay
Lurker
 
munkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
thanks for the info...I'd really like a complete list of all the commands, that'd be awesome.
munkay is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2005, 03:57 PM   #4
rut-wa jodar
 
rut-wa jodar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: a galaxy far,far away
Posts: 722
i don`t think thier are anymore commands


I`ve bent my
rut-wa jodar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2005, 07:29 PM   #5
EI 9373
Rookie
 
EI 9373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 83
*
Commands on SP have been taken out this time. Disappointing - especially when the AI has several from your own side stuck in a corner, heading towards the wall...


_
"Rebels look their best when shot in the face..."
EI 9373 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2005, 08:35 PM   #6
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
There are two basic AI commands. 'Follow Me' and 'Spread Out' (or 'Pile in' and 'Get Out' when you are in a vehicle). The ONLY AI command button is defaulted to [F4]. When you give a command, it is only sent to the unit in your crosshair. You have to look at each unit you send orders to. If you tell a unit to follow, it does follow you. Then next command you give that unit is 'Spread Out'. You cannot give the same order twice in a row to the same unit. The [F5]-[F12] buttons are for your human teammates online.



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info

Last edited by zerted; 11-03-2005 at 08:47 PM. Reason: you -> your
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2005, 08:38 PM   #7
EI 9373
Rookie
 
EI 9373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 83
...why couldn't that be in the manual?...


_
"Rebels look their best when shot in the face..."
EI 9373 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-04-2005, 01:40 AM   #8
MandaloreBIC
Rookie
 
MandaloreBIC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Mandalorian System
Posts: 107
un..... lucasarts wants to save trees? unlikely... lol!
anyway that really the 2 cmds you need, and it's more precise, but it sucks in a starfighter, you can't point at bots, and it really sucks to fly a lambdash (taht thingy....) with like only you in it, so this system is... going way DOWN!!!!!!


"He's no good to me dead"-Boba Fett
"This doesn't concern you, jedi."-Boba Fett
"He doesn't take a hint, this guy."-Jango Fett
"I'm just a simple man trying to make my way in the universe."-Jango Fett
"We'll just have to finish him."-Jango Fett
MandaloreBIC is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-04-2005, 04:41 AM   #9
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by MandaloreBIC
...anyway that really the 2 cmds you need, and it's more precise, but it sucks in a starfighter, you can't point at bots...
Oh, when you press 'Pile In' any bots around will run to the vehicle and get in. They don't have to be in your crosshair when you are in a vehicle. However, when you press 'Get Out' half of them just jump back in because the vehicle has open slots...



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-04-2005, 12:17 PM   #10
munkay
Lurker
 
munkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
thanks for all your help guys, I understand how it works now.
munkay is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-06-2005, 03:44 AM   #11
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
That's incredibly lame.

At least in SWBF1's SP you had four basic commands in single player...


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-06-2005, 05:57 AM   #12
rut-wa jodar
 
rut-wa jodar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: a galaxy far,far away
Posts: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurgan
That's incredibly lame.

At least in SWBF1's SP you had four basic commands in single player...
What were Pandemic smoking when they decided to dumb down Bots ?


I`ve bent my
rut-wa jodar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-06-2005, 06:59 AM   #13
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,322
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Red face

They were probably thinking "this will increase the difficulty if we make the bots stupid and you unable to command them effectively!"

This means they can more successfully promote the Prima Strategy Guides and pimp website updates about cheat codes.


Nevermind that the challenge of coordinating your troops effectively to achieve victory can be quite fun and rewarding (see Republic Commando).

It's not as if it was beyond their capability, in any case (see multiplayer).

Another consideration: there aren't enough buttons on the Xbox and PS2 controllers (you knew that one was coming, didn't you?).


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-06-2005, 01:59 PM   #14
Angarah
Rookie
 
Angarah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurgan
Another consideration: there aren't enough buttons on the Xbox and PS2 controllers (you knew that one was coming, didn't you?).
Yep, Ill probably need a new PC controller for Xmas cause my current one doesn't have enough buttons...but then again I have a really crappy controller


Angarah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront II > General Discussion > Need help commanding troops

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:23 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.