lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: -_- i can see my terrain brushes thru my skybox
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-13-2005, 06:49 PM   #1
SD_Radical_Ed
Junior Member
 
SD_Radical_Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jedi Academy v 1.00!!!!!
Posts: 252
-_- i can see my terrain brushes thru my skybox

i have two skyboxes, basically two parts to my mpa. one in space, on on land. i can see my trrain brushes like a little checkerboard through my space skybox though. wtf is going on here? does it have to do with my terrain being a structural brush?


HGR_Gaara_Of_The_Sand_TRI
I am the S.H.I.T. (Shinobi Hokage In Training)
SD_Radical_Ed is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2005, 08:39 AM   #2
SD_Radical_Ed
Junior Member
 
SD_Radical_Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jedi Academy v 1.00!!!!!
Posts: 252
?? any ideas?


HGR_Gaara_Of_The_Sand_TRI
I am the S.H.I.T. (Shinobi Hokage In Training)
SD_Radical_Ed is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2005, 09:45 AM   #3
MDN14
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 159
Skyboxes can be buggy like that sometimes. I had a similar problem as that when I made my first map for JA.
MDN14 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2005, 09:46 AM   #4
SD_Radical_Ed
Junior Member
 
SD_Radical_Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jedi Academy v 1.00!!!!!
Posts: 252
howd u fix it?


HGR_Gaara_Of_The_Sand_TRI
I am the S.H.I.T. (Shinobi Hokage In Training)
SD_Radical_Ed is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2005, 02:26 PM   #5
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Skyboxes are drawn behind EVERYTHING. So if you can see from one part of the map, through a sky brush, to another part of the map, the part behind the sky will also be drawn. Clever use of hint/antiportal brushes might fix the problem, but generally the best solution is to make sure no extraneous parts of the map are built behind sky brushes--you must either put structural walls (ie, a building) around them or locate them such that they can't be seen through the sky brushes.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2005, 04:11 PM   #6
MDN14
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 159
which is how I fixed my problem. I added in some terrain type stuff at the bottom of my map so it extended out far enough that you couldnt see the swoop track through the sky anymore.
MDN14 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-17-2005, 03:53 AM   #7
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,700
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
if you wrote the shaders for either of them, perhaps the sort is wrong?

i know i had a problem with skyboxes being drawn in front of the red slushie flags (makes them glow more and are semi-transparent) but they would get drawn over by the skybox. changing the sort method for their shader forced them to be drawn over the skybox.

acdcfanbill is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Mapping > -_- i can see my terrain brushes thru my skybox

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:34 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.