lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: SWB 2 - Interface design
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-03-2005, 05:25 PM   #1
grahamwookie
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
SWB 2 - Interface design

Absolute Pants!

The worst thing is that you need a sniper scope or cross haird just to find and click a buttn. Its too small, too badly designed. The buttons are lifeless, too small. The interface in the first Battlefront was so much better. Big buttons, good architecture and well structured. This interface is like a bad mod!

Can any tell me how to extract the files needed so i can redesign the interface?

I can use this as a bad and good case study when i launch into a game interface designer career.

thanks

p.s. that AI is bad bad bad. you can run circles round the bots and check out the textures and lighting effects on there armour etc. ;-)
grahamwookie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2005, 05:54 PM   #2
Vibro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Posts: 264
I have to agree that I liked the interface on the first game more. This one just seems a little dull compared to it.
Vibro is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2005, 06:44 PM   #3
lordzack
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 165
I don't think the A.I. is that bad. In fact it usaully runs circles around me!
lordzack is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2005, 07:13 PM   #4
grahamwookie
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vibro
I have to agree that I liked the interface on the first game more. This one just seems a little dull compared to it.
The word "Dull" doesn't even sum it up. The work in this interface has been very shallow.

Does any one know how i could extractt he interface files so i can skin the god awful thing?
grahamwookie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-04-2005, 02:54 AM   #5
rut-wa jodar
 
rut-wa jodar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: a galaxy far,far away
Posts: 722
It`s usually the little oversights, that can spoil a perfectly good game.


I`ve bent my
rut-wa jodar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-04-2005, 12:02 PM   #6
alex533
Rookie
 
alex533's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 134
lol, you should see the interface on xbox and ps2, much better.

movie clips in background
alex533 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-04-2005, 12:12 PM   #7
Raxor
Rookie
 
Raxor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 63
if you can somehow mod the Hud you would be a godsend
Raxor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-04-2005, 12:25 PM   #8
CountDooku
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 15
Hopefully someone will be able to extend the mini-map because it only encompasses about 50 ft around and that's pretty much useless except for determining direction of command posts along the edges.
CountDooku is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-04-2005, 12:44 PM   #9
biny
Rookie
 
biny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 170
Maybe they'll fix it in a patch?!?!?!


"I reject your reality, and substitue my own!"
-Adam Savage, Mythbuster Extraordiniare.

"A proof is a proof. What kind of a proof? It's a proof. A proof is a proof. And when you have a good proof, it's because it's proven."
-Jean Chretien, former Prime Minister of Canada.

NOBODY EXPECTS THE SPANISH INQUISITION!!!!!





biny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-05-2005, 10:15 AM   #10
DarthMuffin
Dark Cupcake of the Sith
 
DarthMuffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by biny
Maybe they'll fix it in a patch?!?!?!
Dream on!

(I hope you were being sarcastic)


~Dark Cupcake of the Sith
DarthMuffin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2005, 10:04 AM   #11
Barcrest
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 28
Man the interface is really a backwards step. I don't even see why they felt the need to change it. The last one with the wireframe graphics looked really smart, as said above this looks like a realy bad mod.
Barcrest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-19-2005, 07:33 AM   #12
GECOFLUX
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
and i want higher resolutions for the menu screen, like 1600x1200!

grtz,
GECOFLUX
GECOFLUX is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-22-2005, 12:37 PM   #13
biny
Rookie
 
biny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth54
Dream on!

(I hope you were being sarcastic)
I wasn't being sarcastic.

But now that I think about it that makes no sense.



"I reject your reality, and substitue my own!"
-Adam Savage, Mythbuster Extraordiniare.

"A proof is a proof. What kind of a proof? It's a proof. A proof is a proof. And when you have a good proof, it's because it's proven."
-Jean Chretien, former Prime Minister of Canada.

NOBODY EXPECTS THE SPANISH INQUISITION!!!!!





biny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront II > Modding & Editing > SWB 2 - Interface design

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.