lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: kotor mods
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-03-2005, 12:39 PM   #1
Prodigy.NL
Rookie
 
Prodigy.NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ede, the Netherlands
Posts: 30
kotor mods

ey everybody

im new to all the mods and such, but what ive seen is that mods conflict pretty much
i think im pretty lucky that the mods ive downloaded this far dont replace the same files, cause i havent downloaded weapon mods and such much (yeah, 1 small one)
but now i really want some more lightsabers in the game and i saw more then one big one, so im wondering, is there a way to play with more then one?
i think is has something to do with Cchargin Kotor Mod Manager, but i havent founded yet what that is

do i exadentely have conflicting mods that anyone is aware of?
mods i have at the moment:
Enter Jabba’s Palace
one nameless by RedHawke that improves the female scoundrels underwear (only it doesnt work)
Xia Terashai's Set v1.1 (like this one pretty much)
one nameless by RedHawke that changes Missions cloths
one nameless by RedHawke that makes you recruit a character named RedHawke in your party
FORCE POWER MIND TRICK
Force Powers Feat Gain
one nameless by RedHawke that lets you wear bastila's clothing
one nameless by RedHawke that makes Mission a Jedi
and i just saw a possible conflict: one nameless mod by Saberdust that changes Missions clothing (ingame this clothing shows up)

i named all those mod nameless cause there isnt an official name in the readme

i thank everyone that looks at this topic and special thanks to everybody who is willing to reply and help me

Prodigy.NL
Prodigy.NL is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-03-2005, 01:11 PM   #2
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
Welcome to the Forums Prodigy.NL!

With the mods you've listed, most of the merging problems will be in the appearance.2da. Did you merge them, or just overwrite the files as you were installing them? That may be the cause of why some are working and others aren't...(RedHawke's Mission clothes seems to be have overwritten by Saberdust's I would guess)..

My Xia set & RedHawke's Bastila Clothing for PC mods should get along fine Mine were built off of his mod (with permission)

When dealing with sabers, your "arch-nemesis" will be the upcrystals.2da. However, merging this one is probably one of the least ones to give you a headache

stoffe -mkb- has made a new Tool here recently that helps to merge them. You can find it here:

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=153075

If you have any specific questions, feel free to let us know and we'll do our best to help you out. However, if you'd like to provide a list of mods you were thinking of getting, some members (maybe even me) might already have a merged .2da you can have


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |

Last edited by ChAiNz.2da; 10-05-2005 at 10:28 AM.
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-04-2005, 11:16 AM   #3
Prodigy.NL
Rookie
 
Prodigy.NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ede, the Netherlands
Posts: 30
thank you Chainz.2da for your help
i love your Xia robe btw, but back to topic:

i downloaded the program and i followed the frist 2 links in the quote of stoffe -mkb-, but i saw those mods are for TSL
this program works with Kotor 1 or is it for TSL?

o and speaking of crystals, anyone know a mod that adds orange crystals to the game?
orange is my favourite colour
Prodigy.NL is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-04-2005, 11:49 PM   #4
Det. Bart Lasiter
obama.png
 
Det. Bart Lasiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: `(•.°)~
Posts: 7,997
Current Game: all
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
I'm pretty sure both games use the same .2da file version (v2.0b?), so it should work.



"No, Mama. You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty whoever put that hit on you already got the cops in their back pocket." ~Black Dynamite
Det. Bart Lasiter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-06-2005, 07:50 AM   #5
Prodigy.NL
Rookie
 
Prodigy.NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ede, the Netherlands
Posts: 30
thank you very much for your reply

i have an other question again

to merge files you also need the original 2da file, where can i find that one, i cant find it in my folders or my cd's
any advise?
Prodigy.NL is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-06-2005, 09:36 AM   #6
ChAiNz.2da
Brony 4 Life. Yo.
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,845
Current Game: Minecraft MP: PynCraft|Tekkit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodigy.NL
thank you very much for your reply

i have an other question again

to merge files you also need the original 2da file, where can i find that one, i cant find it in my folders or my cd's
any advise?
You'll need to extract one with Fred Tetra's KotOR Tool:

http://kotortool.home.comcast.net/index.html


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-10-2005, 04:02 PM   #7
kdsphantom
Rookie
 
kdsphantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: on a planet far far away
Posts: 104
Man am I glad i read this post, good post Prodigy. and yes wicked robe chainz.

I had nearly the exact same issue problem when I started downloading and installing mods some 3 well near 4 weeks ago now. I thought I read the read me's and posts wrong so I didnt post on this this issue. Now even thinking the same that perhaps me and Prodigy missed, maybe, what we needed to do. What you just said, we needed to get.

But maybe this might could get cleared up in the read me for that ?

When I started to install a mod, I was prepared for 2da files and looking to see when I would need to merge them, and the first time it asked for an original I was stumped. I had 2 files and the mod tool was asking for 3 files.

I looked then in the kotor directories for those files and didnt find them (is that where Fred's tool extracts?) So my solution and again thinking I had made an error in following directions at some point this process was to use the 1st, 2da file I had from the 1st mod as my original then, use the first 2da file again as the first file to merge and the 2nd file to merge would be from the 2nd mod, to form the "merged" file and overwrite that into my override dir.

Then the next mod that would use that certain 2da file, the one sitting in override folder would be my "new" original and so forth. Was my solution bad, terrible and wrong? Is that going to hit me down the road or have in a sense made some mods incompatible or lord knows what I have done? and no worries ) its my error, my foul and as they say no ambulance no foul ). This is one happy phantom, I have my lightsaber, a half dressed girl and my insane killer droid in my group, so nothing can make me cry well cept when handmaiden is mad at me again.

And as a sidenote all of the newer mods more so for TSL have the self exracting exe so there is no problems of course with those.

thank you again
kdsphantom

Last edited by kdsphantom; 10-10-2005 at 04:14 PM. Reason: typo heh again
kdsphantom is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-18-2005, 07:38 AM   #8
Prodigy.NL
Rookie
 
Prodigy.NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ede, the Netherlands
Posts: 30
thank you everybody for your replies

i havent had internet for the last 2 weeks and finally have it again
i downloaded that program at school chainz and i can play normally with a lot of mods
but something must have gone wrong, im almost finished with Taris again (playing the game for the second time, now with mods) and all the sith soldiers all of a sudden have blue twilek heads from the following mod:
http://www.pcgamemods.com/mod/7120.html

i think something has merged wrong in the heads.2da file, or does the appearance.2da file have also have to do with this?
i uploaded them both:
http://aa.1asphost.com/Earthsuit/kotor/appearance.2da
http://aa.1asphost.com/Earthsuit/kotor/heads.2da

also an other problem (well i dont know if its a problem):
i have 2 mods that alter the global.jrl file, how to merge them?
i uploaded them both, so if someone could email me a meged one or give me a link to a site where it is explaned, that would be great!
http://aa.1asphost.com/Earthsuit/kotor/global.jrl
http://aa.1asphost.com/Earthsuit/kotor/global1.jrl

sorry for asking so much help, but thank you for still helping me

Prod

ps: chainz, you are a hero!
Prodigy.NL is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-18-2005, 10:16 AM   #9
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
You'll find a tutorial on how to edit global.jrl here: http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=143372

You can spot the modifications in the .jrl files with this tool: http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...hreadid=149457
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2005, 11:51 AM   #10
Prodigy.NL
Rookie
 
Prodigy.NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ede, the Netherlands
Posts: 30
is there a tutorial to use the GFF File Comparison Tool?
Prodigy.NL is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2005, 11:57 AM   #11
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
It's pretty simple to use. Read the first post in this thread: http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...hreadid=149457
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2005, 12:08 PM   #12
Prodigy.NL
Rookie
 
Prodigy.NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ede, the Netherlands
Posts: 30
i was stuggeling, because the thing wanted gff files and it didnt show up
then i put it on all files and i could open it
if i read this, i can just replace it, is that right?

GFFCompare:
File #1: D:\Star Wars\KOTOR\Override\global.jrl
File #2: D:\Star Wars\KOTOR\files to add\Override\global1.jrl
-----------------------------
(root1) Categories has 105 Structs
(root2) Categories has 107 Structs

(root1)|Categories105 does not exist in File #1

(root1)|Categories106 does not exist in File #1
Prodigy.NL is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-08-2005, 02:05 PM   #13
Prodigy.NL
Rookie
 
Prodigy.NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ede, the Netherlands
Posts: 30
i still have this problem, could someone please help me with it?
im almost finished with Taris again (playing the game for the second time, now with mods) and all the sith soldiers all of a sudden have blue twilek heads from the following mod:
http://www.pcgamemods.com/mod/7120.html

i think something has merged wrong in the heads.2da file, or does the appearance.2da file also have to do with this?
i uploaded them both:
http://aa.1asphost.com/Earthsuit/kotor/appearance.2da
http://aa.1asphost.com/Earthsuit/kotor/heads.2da
Prodigy.NL is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2005, 12:25 PM   #14
Prodigy.NL
Rookie
 
Prodigy.NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ede, the Netherlands
Posts: 30
help?
i want to play normally again
Prodigy.NL is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2005, 06:10 AM   #15
Prodigy.NL
Rookie
 
Prodigy.NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ede, the Netherlands
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodigy.NL
i still have this problem, could someone please help me with it?
im almost finished with Taris again (playing the game for the second time, now with mods) and all the sith soldiers all of a sudden have blue twilek heads from the following mod:
http://www.pcgamemods.com/mod/7120.html

i think something has merged wrong in the heads.2da file, or does the appearance.2da file also have to do with this?
i uploaded them both:
http://aa.1asphost.com/Earthsuit/kotor/appearance.2da
http://aa.1asphost.com/Earthsuit/kotor/heads.2da
help?
Prodigy.NL is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > kotor mods

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:52 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.