lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Hoth Map with screen shots help needed too!!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-06-2004, 03:23 PM   #41
vas_zag
Rookie
 
vas_zag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: England
Posts: 90
you can change the draw distance of the map in wordspawn
vas_zag is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-10-2004, 10:04 PM   #42
stride
Rookie
 
stride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 90
k guys im pretty much done with this map so im gonna wait for the at-at to come out to realese it.
Thanks for all you help
stride is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-13-2004, 06:23 AM   #43
Neon
Veteran
 
Neon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 980
Have you already the objectives and stuff ?
0.o


Neon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-16-2004, 03:04 PM   #44
MadCow1989
Junior Member
 
MadCow1989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 248
Cant you have a ATST version released this looks **** amazing lol
MadCow1989 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-16-2004, 05:01 PM   #45
stride
Rookie
 
stride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 90
I could but that would ruin the ATAT version right, but if something happens and the atat doesnt come out then I will have to.
stride is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-16-2004, 09:08 PM   #46
vas_zag
Rookie
 
vas_zag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: England
Posts: 90
yeah he is right to wait
i know i would if i spent all this time mapping a great hoth level then released it with a very important factor
vas_zag is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2004, 05:36 PM   #47
stride
Rookie
 
stride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 90
Ok the fps for me here is 50 and i have a radion 9800. O man the fps would be a killer for everyone. The OUTSIDE area is very VERY big. When I make the distancecull lower than the outside area the sky looks like the VOID. When i lower it to how i really want it the fps goes up and its great but there is no way in hell im gonna let the sky look like crap . I really dont want anyone to have bad fps. Can someone tell me how to lower the distancecull without messing up the sky. Making it look like THIS . Thanks
stride is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2004, 08:28 PM   #48
mergatroid
Rookie
 
mergatroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: France
Posts: 85
I think that's impossible but I haven't tried my hand out on large, outdoor maps before.


mergatroid is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2004, 09:08 PM   #49
Lindsey
Junior Member
 
Lindsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Santa Cruz CA
Posts: 340
Study Ravens Hoth SP map by decompiling it. Having a mix of fog and distancecull will be good. Also try putting gridsize 4096 4096 4096 4096 in the worldspawn
Lindsey is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2004, 09:30 PM   #50
stride
Rookie
 
stride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 90
Decomplile is that possible. How do you do that lol??
stride is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2004, 05:38 PM   #51
mergatroid
Rookie
 
mergatroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: France
Posts: 85
Don't worry about decompiling it, there is the Hoth siege .map sample that came with either the game or GTKradient.


mergatroid is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2004, 05:42 AM   #52
MadCow1989
Junior Member
 
MadCow1989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 248
oh god if thats your FPS it wil kill mine am only on a 700 mhz lol
MadCow1989 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2004, 12:23 PM   #53
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Check this: http://www.shaderlab.com/q3map2/manu...hull_guide.htm

Basically, if you use the keys _farplanedist <distance> and _foghull <path to skybox shader> instead of distancecull, then the engine will draw the skybox you specify at the distance you give it, instead of simply NOT drawing anything. If your skybox is a flat color that matches the fog color, it will look like your map just fades to fog everywhere. Check my maps Oracle and Corellian Platform Encounter for some examples if you want to see more.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2004, 12:09 PM   #54
Dolmkazaahr
Rookie
 
Dolmkazaahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mos Eisley, Tatooine and also Nar Shadaa, though i may be found at some of my commercial Nova Mines on Kessel, Naboo(i shouldn't have told u about naboo, the queen will kill me) and i used to have a Nova Mine on Sernpidal.
Posts: 79
Post GGGGREAT!!!

This Looks like its gona be even better than the SIEGE_DESTROYER Map made by Raven!!!!!!!And about the AT-AT as far as i can tell from wat Duncan said to me and everyone else on the forums, the actual Model, animation, sound, and vehicle are done, but Scouttrooper has nto quite finished the skin, almost done though and Phunk, the coder for it, is still workin on another project (Movie Battles II).


Im related to Grand Admiral Thrawn, Chewbacca and Jango Fett.
I can use the force to protect someone then kill them the next day with force lighting.
But my most admirable features is i can sit on my arse in 1138 ways.

Im also the leader of
LORDLARD'S TAXI CO.
Dolmkazaahr is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2004, 12:14 PM   #55
Dolmkazaahr
Rookie
 
Dolmkazaahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mos Eisley, Tatooine and also Nar Shadaa, though i may be found at some of my commercial Nova Mines on Kessel, Naboo(i shouldn't have told u about naboo, the queen will kill me) and i used to have a Nova Mine on Sernpidal.
Posts: 79
AAHHHHH FPS!!!!!

OMFG!!!!!!!!!FPS problems and the AT-ATs arent even in yet , I seriously need to get that new graphics card before this come out, mind u my speeds not that bad, its 1666 mhz, Pentium 4.


Im related to Grand Admiral Thrawn, Chewbacca and Jango Fett.
I can use the force to protect someone then kill them the next day with force lighting.
But my most admirable features is i can sit on my arse in 1138 ways.

Im also the leader of
LORDLARD'S TAXI CO.
Dolmkazaahr is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2004, 12:16 PM   #56
Dolmkazaahr
Rookie
 
Dolmkazaahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mos Eisley, Tatooine and also Nar Shadaa, though i may be found at some of my commercial Nova Mines on Kessel, Naboo(i shouldn't have told u about naboo, the queen will kill me) and i used to have a Nova Mine on Sernpidal.
Posts: 79
Mind you Ive saved up most of the money now so i can get a new graphics card...sry im babbling!!1


Im related to Grand Admiral Thrawn, Chewbacca and Jango Fett.
I can use the force to protect someone then kill them the next day with force lighting.
But my most admirable features is i can sit on my arse in 1138 ways.

Im also the leader of
LORDLARD'S TAXI CO.
Dolmkazaahr is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2004, 12:46 PM   #57
stride
Rookie
 
stride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 90
ok guys.
I got fps up to about 120. Thanks wedge2211 for the link it really helped.

Last edited by stride; 05-02-2004 at 01:26 PM.
stride is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2004, 12:51 PM   #58
Dolmkazaahr
Rookie
 
Dolmkazaahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mos Eisley, Tatooine and also Nar Shadaa, though i may be found at some of my commercial Nova Mines on Kessel, Naboo(i shouldn't have told u about naboo, the queen will kill me) and i used to have a Nova Mine on Sernpidal.
Posts: 79
STRIDE!!!!THE BETAS OUT!!!!!

Stride go to Duncans site and u will get the beta of it for ur map!!!


Im related to Grand Admiral Thrawn, Chewbacca and Jango Fett.
I can use the force to protect someone then kill them the next day with force lighting.
But my most admirable features is i can sit on my arse in 1138 ways.

Im also the leader of
LORDLARD'S TAXI CO.
Dolmkazaahr is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2004, 12:52 PM   #59
Dolmkazaahr
Rookie
 
Dolmkazaahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mos Eisley, Tatooine and also Nar Shadaa, though i may be found at some of my commercial Nova Mines on Kessel, Naboo(i shouldn't have told u about naboo, the queen will kill me) and i used to have a Nova Mine on Sernpidal.
Posts: 79
sry

Im talkin about the AT-AT


Im related to Grand Admiral Thrawn, Chewbacca and Jango Fett.
I can use the force to protect someone then kill them the next day with force lighting.
But my most admirable features is i can sit on my arse in 1138 ways.

Im also the leader of
LORDLARD'S TAXI CO.
Dolmkazaahr is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2004, 05:11 PM   #60
MadCow1989
Junior Member
 
MadCow1989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 248
Beta version of the ATAT at duncans site!

http://io.meskinaw.net/io_downloads.html Release The map already
MadCow1989 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2004, 01:27 PM   #61
TIE-pilot
Rookie
 
TIE-pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 32
nah... the beta isnt soo good... wait for the final.
this week more isnt soo bad
TIE-pilot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2004, 01:40 PM   #62
TIE-pilot
Rookie
 
TIE-pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 32
Unhappy Bad news

bad news guys... i tryed to spawn the atat and a snow-speeder-tfp on the map naboohills... the atat works to spawn... but if i spawn the snow-speeder-tfp the game crashed...

EDIT: Phew good news... it was the map... i spawned both on ravens mp/siege_hoth... and it WORKS

Last edited by TIE-pilot; 05-03-2004 at 02:07 PM.
TIE-pilot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2004, 06:14 AM   #63
MadCow1989
Junior Member
 
MadCow1989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 248
as i sayd on duncans ATAt threat its couse the maps vehicle slots are already full
MadCow1989 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2004, 11:31 PM   #64
EvilJedi
Rookie
 
EvilJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 154
One objective for the imperials could be to get Vader inside the Rebel Base or the Rebels' objective could be to get Han and Leia alive to the falcon (you could make them NPCs dunno where you're gunna get 'em but just thinkin of ideas here)

Also, not sure if you're going to do this, but don't make any NPCs or vehicles respawn, the imperials don't have any technology to make an ATAT appear when one died now do they?
EvilJedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2004, 04:26 AM   #65
TIE-pilot
Rookie
 
TIE-pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 32
respawnable atats arent unfair:
the rebels gor snosspeeders, so try to shoot them down: its impossible so mal respawnable atats
TIE-pilot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2004, 06:52 AM   #66
stride
Rookie
 
stride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 90
I was thinking about the future of this map. Hmm I want to redo
the main field area now that i know a better terrain making technique. Should I make the new area hilly kind of round or
more canyon like? Orr.. maybe i could do like a canyon look far
from the echo base a make it flatten as it gets closer to echo
base. So many ways i can redo it. I need help. What do you
guys think would be best for this. If i give it a canyon look the
frame rate would pop up since I know more about this stuff now
and how to keep the fps high in canyons. Not that it wouldnt be
good with a hilly look. Hmm hilly, canyon, hilly, canyon, hilly...
both?! I could even make it kinda of ditchy with like gaps and stuff. What would be best?? Im not sure any
suggestions?
stride is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2004, 02:01 PM   #67
Lindsey
Junior Member
 
Lindsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Santa Cruz CA
Posts: 340
1. Watch the film ESB

2. Flat and hilly is best for these walkers

3. fog goes a lon way, it helps the FPS too.

4. Send me the map (lindseymr7@hotmail.com on MSN)

and I could test it and give you a more detailed suggestion.
Lindsey is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2004, 02:07 PM   #68
stride
Rookie
 
stride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 90
aww everything is so flat that why i want to make ne terrain.
stride is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-09-2004, 03:40 PM   #69
Dolmkazaahr
Rookie
 
Dolmkazaahr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mos Eisley, Tatooine and also Nar Shadaa, though i may be found at some of my commercial Nova Mines on Kessel, Naboo(i shouldn't have told u about naboo, the queen will kill me) and i used to have a Nova Mine on Sernpidal.
Posts: 79
Ask Majin to give u his edited AT-AT that him, Duncan, KOTORMrJay and others have been working on cause it is now much more impressive than the original beta.


Im related to Grand Admiral Thrawn, Chewbacca and Jango Fett.
I can use the force to protect someone then kill them the next day with force lighting.
But my most admirable features is i can sit on my arse in 1138 ways.

Im also the leader of
LORDLARD'S TAXI CO.
Dolmkazaahr is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-10-2004, 03:49 PM   #70
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Stride, would you like my remake of Duncan_10158's AT-AT? It is definitely better than most people can make it. I'm thinking about adding shields to them, since they did have shields. Only if I can figure out how to...





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-11-2004, 08:36 PM   #71
DarkLordTrooper
Rookie
 
DarkLordTrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Radnor, PA
Posts: 90
oh man oh man, cant wait for another hoth map cuz the one included in JA was pretty lame. I cant wait for some ATATs
DarkLordTrooper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2004, 07:30 PM   #72
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Yeah the original Hoth map in JA just sucks!!!!





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2004, 10:52 PM   #73
EvilJedi
Rookie
 
EvilJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 154
LOL It's nothing like the movie, but it is fun to play with 32 people in the New Republic Server
EvilJedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2004, 02:19 AM   #74
Neon
Veteran
 
Neon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 980
Plz release a BETA before you remake it, plz (if it's possible).
What happends when you put the AT-AT beta in the map?
But don't use majins AT-AT, because he isn't allowed to release it, it would be released with your map, so think about it before you use his one


Neon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2004, 11:11 AM   #75
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Believe me, recieving a well-tested final version would be WAY better than recieving a half-baked beta, DogGy.

Long live the private beta!


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2004, 03:10 PM   #76
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Quote:
Originally posted by DogGy
Plz release a BETA before you remake it, plz (if it's possible).
What happends when you put the AT-AT beta in the map?
But don't use majins AT-AT, because he isn't allowed to release it, it would be released with your map, so think about it before you use his one

DogGy, I'm not gonna release my remake of the AT-AT. Not unless Duncan_10158 says it is O.K. Plus, I sent it to people to beta test and get important feedback, why not to Stride as well?





- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-18-2004, 07:47 AM   #77
Neon
Veteran
 
Neon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 980
And how is this map going ?????


Neon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-07-2005, 05:54 AM   #78
DuncanFrost
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Question

How is the map going?
Suggestion: have luke in a pilot costume if possible.
DuncanFrost is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Mapping > Hoth Map with screen shots help needed too!!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:57 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.