lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Where can I get this mask from?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-02-2005, 04:10 PM   #1
Vibro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Posts: 264
Where can I get this mask from?

Where can I get this mask from? http://gallery147761.fotopic.net/p12567097.html

Is it a mod?
Vibro is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-02-2005, 04:27 PM   #2
The_Maker
Veteran
 
The_Maker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 966
Uhm, no it isn't a mod, its just a default item, there are lots of items with the same use of that model, one I can name of the top of my head...

Force Focussing Visor, Enhanced Sheilding Visor, and Sheilding Visor...
You can find more info about K2 masks Here


The_Maker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-02-2005, 04:27 PM   #3
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Nope, its a default mask in both games.

In KotOR you get it from
spoiler:
Evil Bastila
when she rejoins your party
spoiler:
after you kill Jolee
and
spoiler:
Juhani
at the
spoiler:
Rakata Temple
.

TSL's random loot generator ensures that you're never quite sure where you'll get it from, or if you'll even get it at all.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-02-2005, 06:00 PM   #4
Vibro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Posts: 264
Thanks alot for your help .
Vibro is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2005, 03:44 AM   #5
pokejedi123
Rookie
 
pokejedi123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Estonia
Posts: 172
hey how i cant see those spoilers

pokejedi123 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2005, 05:00 AM   #6
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokejedi123
hey how i cant see those spoilers
Use your mouse click and highlight the text in those white boxes!


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2005, 09:55 AM   #7
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,403
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Achilles
Nope, its a default mask in both games.

In KotOR you get it from
spoiler:
Evil Bastila
Are you sure? I know it's a bad idea to question you about this kind of ting, but I never got it from her. It's the Vacuum Mask, and I got it from a shop on Manaan (Tyvark's shop, I think it was).
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2005, 10:05 AM   #8
Vibro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Doctor
Are you sure? I know it's a bad idea to question you about this kind of ting, but I never got it from her. It's the Vacuum Mask, and I got it from a shop on Manaan (Tyvark's shop, I think it was).
Yep, I just bought it there too.
Vibro is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2005, 07:19 PM   #9
The_Maker
Veteran
 
The_Maker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 966
@ Achilles:
I assumed he was talking TSL since that is what game the screenshot is from

But there are other places you can get that model in K1 too.
I never got it from
spoiler:
Evil Bastila
though...


The_Maker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2005, 09:23 PM   #10
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,403
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
^ I think this might be one of those occassions where Achilles is wrong. I knew it could happen.
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2005, 09:34 PM   #11
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
^^^^
My post wasn't directed toward you. If you look at the time stamp, you'll see that we posted our responses at the same time. Sorry if there was a misunderstanding.

Now, in response to your message: Nope, that's the only place that you'll find it in K1. If you don't believe Gamebanshee, the you can certainly use FindRefs to search through the game files yourself
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2005, 09:44 PM   #12
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,403
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
Actually... our posts are nowhere near similar in time., and it can't be the only place, because I never get it there.
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2005, 09:55 PM   #13
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Doctor
Actually... our posts are nowhere near similar in time., and it can't be the only place, because I never get it there.
*sigh* That'll teach me to take people off my ignore list...

Screenie

It's been real...see ya around.

EDIT: BTW, since were on my ignore list, I didn't see your message. The message that I posted earlier was for The_Maker, not for you. If you think I'm wrong, then you are more than welcome to prove it by posting a screenshot showing one of your characters finding that particular item anywhere in the game other than where I said you could find it. Cheers.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2005, 11:05 PM   #14
lukeiamyourdad
Using Teletraan I
 
lukeiamyourdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,274
LFN Staff Member 
I'd like to jump in and confirm that you do get the Vacuum mask if you go Dark Side on the Rakatan homeworld. You might not know it, but it should magically appear in your inventory.


http://www.marioramos.ca/ -A friend of mine and an aspiring filmmaker.
lukeiamyourdad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2005, 11:12 PM   #15
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
^^^^
Yep, right after
spoiler:
Evil Bastila
joins your party
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2005, 05:08 AM   #16
JediKnight707
Or I will choke you...
 
JediKnight707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: On that Blvd. of Broken Dreams
Posts: 1,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Doctor
Actually... our posts are nowhere near similar in time., and it can't be the only place, because I never get it there.
Achilles, look at the bold/italics/underlined, look who posted it, then look at your screenie.

JediKnight707 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2005, 10:57 PM   #17
90SK
Senior Member
 
90SK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Eastern USA
Posts: 4,379
Hmm. I never got it that way, but I never played DS to it's fullest.

I got it on the StarForge, where you get Revan's robes. You can create, among other things, a vacuum mask.

90SK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2005, 12:09 AM   #18
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skye
Hmm. I never got it that way, but I never played DS to it's fullest.

I got it on the StarForge, where you get Revan's robes. You can create, among other things, a vacuum mask.
Wow, you must have the cool version. When I play KotOR, the star forge computer only makes armor and robes. Based on this screenshot, I think my install might be broken or something.

And to think all this time I trusted the gamebanshee site, which is obviously mistakenly listing only one place that you can get it.

You know what's really embarrassing though? The fact that I've played KotOR > 50 times and I've never seen it anywhere but in Bastila's inventory. I really need to learn to start paying more attention.

Thanks for setting me straight dude!
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2005, 06:45 AM   #19
Mace MacLeod
Food-based rocker
 
Mace MacLeod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere else. Probably.
Posts: 1,096
Current Game: World of Warcraft
Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
spoiler:

IIRC, that mask shows up either on the top floor of the Raktan Temple (in one of the supply cans) or on the first floor of the Star Forge. I vaguely recall having to be evil to get it, but I could be wrong. It's defintely there, tho...


Be considerate to others or I will bite your torso and give you a disease!
Mace MacLeod is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2005, 02:27 PM   #20
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
I pray that a moderator will lock this thread soon... *

One last time: There is only one place in the entire game (KotOR) that you can get this mask.
spoiler:
It is in Bastila inventory. If you choose the Dark Side in the Rakata Temple, she will join you after killing Juhani and Jolee and then it will be in your inventory too
That's it. It isn't available anywhere else. Fact. Drop it. Thanks.

*God a moderator has heard your prayer but your wish won't be exauced this time even if you are right about the answer, there's no real point in closing threads as soon as a member finds the right answer - d3

Last edited by Darth333; 12-08-2005 at 04:17 PM.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2005, 04:50 PM   #21
The_Maker
Veteran
 
The_Maker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 966
I beg to differ Achilles.

I got the mask somewher (don't remember) and
spoiler:
Evil Bastila
didn't join my party and I was LSF...

I can take a screenshot to prove it to you


The_Maker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2005, 04:53 PM   #22
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,403
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
EDIT: Never mind, The_Maker, I get what you mean, now.

But I do believe that you are incorrect this time, Achilles. I never got it from
spoiler:
Evil Bastila,
and it seems that I'm not the only one. Now let's all stop arguing before the mods get P.O'd. Let's just agree to disagree.
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2005, 05:31 PM   #23
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Maker
I beg to differ Achilles.

I got the mask somewher (don't remember) and
spoiler:
Evil Bastila
didn't join my party and I was LSF...

I can take a screenshot to prove it to you
Please do. I would love for someone to post one screen shot showing this. I posted references confirming my position, but all I've recieved in return is heresay.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2005, 11:22 PM   #24
deathdisco
Bastards of Young
 
deathdisco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Left of the Dial
Posts: 709
Veteran Modder Contest winner - Modding 
Achilles is right. It comes in Dark Bastila's inventory. She doesn't give it to you (ie:"Here you go Revan take this mask"), it's just in your inventory when she joins your party.

deathdisco is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2005, 11:30 PM   #25
RobQel-Droma
Blah
 
RobQel-Droma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Up yours. X0
Posts: 2,216
Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
^I have to say, Achilles, that the place I got it in KotOR I was in a container if you go DS on the Rakatan upper floor. Unless I am mistake, which I don't think I am.
RobQel-Droma is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2005, 02:17 AM   #26
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobQel-Droma
^I have to say, Achilles, that the place I got it in KotOR I was in a container if you go DS on the Rakatan upper floor. Unless I am mistake, which I don't think I am.
This is the inventory of p_bastila001.utc. If you go to RIMs>Modules>unk_m44ac_s.rim>Blueprint, Character you'll find 6 files for Bastila (7 if you count the .utc used for the cutscene). Each file has Bastila at a different level so that when she rejoins you, it's at a commiserate level with yours. Every single one of them includes this item.

This item can only be obtained through Bastila's inventory. This website confirms it. Someone please post a screenshot or some other form of documentation that proves otherwise. Repeatedly posting "well I could swear that I found it _________" does not strengthen your argument. I will happily admit that I'm wrong as soon as someone posts with proof.

EDIT: There are four placeables in the top level of the temple:

1) Bastila's ship
2) an invisible placeable
3) an empty container (used three times in the ajoining room)
4) a Rakata computer

Not a single one of these placeables has an inventory. Therefore, you cannot obtain this item anywhere else in this module. Please let me know if you need screenshots of the empty inventory screens for each of these placeables.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2005, 10:23 AM   #27
Darth333
Administraterror
 
Darth333's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: In my secret dungeon...
Posts: 8,292
Achilles is right. I searched the files with findrefs and Kotor tool and I haven't seen any other location where you can get it from.
Darth333 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2005, 12:30 PM   #28
90SK
Senior Member
 
90SK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Eastern USA
Posts: 4,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Achilles
Wow, you must have the cool version. When I play KotOR, the star forge computer only makes armor and robes. Based on this screenshot, I think my install might be broken or something.
Wow, tough luck man. I hope they'll reimburse you ok.



I went back to my original Starforge savegame to capture a screenshot of the machine, but it seems that Achilles is indeed correct. It was quite devoid of any vacuum masks.

So my question now is: how can you get this if you're LS (if at all)?

90SK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2005, 12:41 PM   #29
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skye
So my question now is: how can you get this if you're LS (if at all)?
You can't. My take is that the devs wanted to have some sort of DS equivalent to the Circlet of Saresh (Tulak Horde's mask is not it) so they made this and placed it in such a way that you could only get it if you went to the Dark Side (instead of making it with an alignment restriction)
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2005, 12:52 PM   #30
RobQel-Droma
Blah
 
RobQel-Droma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Up yours. X0
Posts: 2,216
Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
^Hmmm... Well, sorry about that Achilles, as you said, I could just "swear that I found it" there. But, ever since I got TSL, I haven't played KotOR I for a while, so I would remember.
RobQel-Droma is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2005, 04:26 PM   #31
deathdisco
Bastards of Young
 
deathdisco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Left of the Dial
Posts: 709
Veteran Modder Contest winner - Modding 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Achilles
You can't. My take is that the devs wanted to have some sort of DS equivalent to the Circlet of Saresh (Tulak Horde's mask is not it) so they made this and placed it in such a way that you could only get it if you went to the Dark Side (instead of making it with an alignment restriction)
I think it is more to emulate the cut-scene Revan's mask. Although a poor substitute.

deathdisco is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2005, 04:42 PM   #32
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,403
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
I acceot that I am wrong, but is their another mask that uses the same or a similar model on Mannan? Because I swear I've gotten something like it there.
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2005, 06:34 PM   #33
lukeiamyourdad
Using Teletraan I
 
lukeiamyourdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada
Posts: 8,274
LFN Staff Member 
Not without mods. Like someone said, it's only "well, I remembered it was there..."
Well, the people who said that it was indeed only available in Dark Bastilla's inventory actually came up with more then that.

The only way you could have a mask like that without being DS and getting it on Rakata is cheats and mods.


http://www.marioramos.ca/ -A friend of mine and an aspiring filmmaker.
lukeiamyourdad is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2005, 06:58 PM   #34
The Doctor
Retired
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,403
Current Game: Skyrim
Forum Veteran 
Well then I don't know what I'm thinking of. It could be a mod, but it's more likely that I'm going insane.
The Doctor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2005, 03:32 AM   #35
OoMandaloreoO
Rookie
 
OoMandaloreoO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Restoring the Mandalorian empire.
Posts: 28
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vibro
Where can I get this mask from? http://gallery147761.fotopic.net/p12567097.html

Is it a mod?
Please refrain from insulting other users, or spamming off-topic stuff.
CR


wht i never said this


"This thermal detonator will blow us all to bits"- Calo nord.

Last edited by OoMandaloreoO; 12-11-2005 at 04:45 PM.
OoMandaloreoO is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2005, 01:45 PM   #36
PoiuyWired
Unregistered User
 
PoiuyWired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,503
It can't be "Dropped" in containers even in a hard game at really high levels?
PoiuyWired is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-11-2005, 09:12 PM   #37
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoiuyWired
It can't be "Dropped" in containers even in a hard game at really high levels?
I'm sure that's a possibility for games that have random loot systems (such as TSL), but not for games that have a static loot system (such as KotOR). To be fair, KotOR does have a fairly basic random loot system, however it is limited to useable items such as stims, medpacs, credits, etc.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2005, 07:50 AM   #38
Tie_killer
Rookie
 
Tie_killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
How do you make those spoiler things?


Ties Beware!
Tie_killer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2005, 08:15 AM   #39
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
^^^^
Put tags like this [ spoiler] at the beginning of the Text you want to white out close the text with this one [ /spoiler]

Just remove the spaces I put in the tags...


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Game Discussion > Republic Newsfeed > Where can I get this mask from?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:29 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.