lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Battlefront 2 (PC)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-14-2005, 12:10 PM   #1
Darth Smaug
Veteran
 
Darth Smaug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Elnor
Posts: 864
Battlefront 2 (PC)

Hi all i'm gonna get this game on PC this christmas..
Is it any good?
I mean like story and multiplayer.?
Cause i'm done with reading revieuw's..


I'm floating, and something's reaching out.
Darth Smaug is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2005, 12:51 PM   #2
Tyler_Durden
 
Tyler_Durden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 593
It's good for a few weeks. The gameplay does get boring after a while, though. It has a been there, done that feeling. Truthfully, I would wait and see if they release modding tools before making a purchase.
Tyler_Durden is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2005, 02:20 PM   #3
PoiuyWired
Unregistered User
 
PoiuyWired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,503
I, on the other hand, enjoys it. Now just hope the patch is up and the addon folder is back, then modding can go full swing.
PoiuyWired is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-14-2005, 05:55 PM   #4
ParanoidAndroid
Veteran
 
ParanoidAndroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The three dimensional geometric shaped space station of DOOM!
Posts: 787
I like the game, the story line is fun, not the most complex or detailed by far but it gives you kind of a feel for each mission, much better then the first one. As for multiplayer, well some people apparently have huge problems with it but ive experienced nothing really major (a few crashes from time to time but that happens to me for every game...) Sadly teamwork is practicly nonexistant, teaming up with buddies to fight is an effective tactic, one people seem to be unwilling to lose.

I find the battlefields fun, but in some cases a bit smaller and less complex then i'd hoped, I'm personally hoping the mod tools are released soon, for bigger maps hopefully.


Not being paranoid doesn't mean someone isn't trying to kill you... or does it?
ParanoidAndroid is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2005, 03:01 PM   #5
Tyler_Durden
 
Tyler_Durden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 593
Yeah, one big problem with these games is that the maps have been really small whereas in the movies, all the battlefields have a huge scope so it's really kind of disappointing wanting to have that same scope but not having it there. That's why this game NEEDS mod tools to survive. A lot of the maps made were in a lot of cases, better than the maps shipped with the game because they made them huge just like in the movies.
Tyler_Durden is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2005, 05:33 PM   #6
PoiuyWired
Unregistered User
 
PoiuyWired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,503
There is a reason why most maps are small(er). You can't really pump up the members of each side too much w/o getting a wonderful lag. So inorder to concentrate the players/AIs the map can't be too big.

Remember trying to hunt down that one last guy in Hoth?

Now, think realistic Hoth, that is like 5-10 times bigger per front.
PoiuyWired is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2005, 07:08 PM   #7
Tyler_Durden
 
Tyler_Durden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 593
5-10 time bigger is the way the game should have been intended, especially with the system requirements to play the game which is way behind what most games being made now require. Seriously, BF1 and BF2 were made with consoles in mind when they should have been made for PC then ported and bottlenecked for consoles. Maybe witht the recent merger of Pandemic and Bioware they have more resources and people to make the next game even better.

Last edited by Tyler_Durden; 12-15-2005 at 07:29 PM.
Tyler_Durden is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-15-2005, 11:09 PM   #8
SirLancelot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 253
There is always Battlefront III(crosses fingers).


Darasuum Kote (Mandalorian for Eternal Glory)
-Motto of the Clone Army

http://www.imperialcommandos.com/main.htm
http://www.clonetroopers.net/
SirLancelot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2005, 12:03 PM   #9
Commander Obi-Wan
Gold Standard
 
Commander Obi-Wan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,363
Current Game: BioShock 2
Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirLancelot
There is always Battlefront III(crosses fingers).
Yes.....but, well have to wait at least another year for that.


Commander Obi-Wan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2005, 12:08 PM   #10
Darth Smaug
Veteran
 
Darth Smaug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Elnor
Posts: 864
I would like to see an ultimate sw game.
With ALL the things that where in star wars.
I mean all the maps,use all of the jedi,sith,..
And take control over whole armys of jedi,sith,clones,stormtroopers,...
That would be the ultimate star wars game and it would be great if it existed i think!


I'm floating, and something's reaching out.
Darth Smaug is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2005, 01:23 PM   #11
Tyler_Durden
 
Tyler_Durden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 593
Yeah, if anyone ever played an Elder Scrolls game, that's the way the Ultimate Star Wars game should be made. An open-ended, open class game with RPG elements, yet a first person shooter at the same time. It would be a mix of Deus Ex, Grand Theft Auto, Elder Scrolls, and Vampire: The Masquerade - Bloodlines. It would also have space fighter elements like Freelancer with the opportunity to visit other planets, be a space pirate, take on missions, and build your own squadron. How awesome would a game like this be? I think all of this could be possible using the Source Engine, which is probably the most versatile game creation engine I've seen plus the the graphical prowess coupled with fairly low system requirements make it a no-brainer.
Tyler_Durden is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2005, 01:31 PM   #12
PoiuyWired
Unregistered User
 
PoiuyWired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirLancelot
There is always Battlefront III(crosses fingers).
Empire@war
PoiuyWired is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2005, 01:39 PM   #13
Redtech
Veteran
 
Redtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 800
Tyler, you do realise someone has to program this game! Anyway, a decent star wars game using the Source Engine? Heck, Valve have standards y'know.

Quake3 Engine all the way!


I am the definition of your defeat.
Redtech is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2005, 03:00 PM   #14
Tyler_Durden
 
Tyler_Durden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 593
Quake 3?!? Dude, that engine is so ancient now, it's rediculous. That and the fact that it is a resource hog. I can play half life 2 at almost full settings and run the game at 60 fps, plus it has more expansive environments. Jedi Academy runs at full settings at 34-40 fps with less spectacular graphics and the environments are nowhere as huge. Plus, Lucasarts can always lease the Source engine from Valve. They did it with Vampire and the upcoming Might and Magic game. Yeah the game itself would be hard to code and would probably take years to make, but a game like that is worth waiting a few years for, at least I think so.
Tyler_Durden is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2005, 03:19 PM   #15
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
If you played and liked SWBF1, I think you will like SWBF2. Most people do.

Looks to me that Half Life 2 takes the most resources:
Half Life 2 MINIMUM Requirments:
1.2 GHz Processor
256MB RAM
DirectX 7 capable graphics card
Windows 2000/XP/ME/98

Quake 3 requirments:
3D hardware accelerator with full Open GL support
Pentium 233Mhz MMX processor with 8MB video card
64MB RAM
Windows 95/98/NT 4.0
Direct X 3.0 (or higher) compatible sound card

Jedi Academy requirments:
Windows XP, Me, 2000, or 98
450 MHz Pentium III or Athlon class processor
128 MB RAM required, 256 recommended
32MB OpenGL 1.4 compatible video card



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2005, 04:16 PM   #16
MachineCult
Vincit Amor Patria
 
MachineCult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Disneyland?
Posts: 2,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoiuyWired
Empire@war
You what?



"For where ever there is a n00b, there is MachineCult to make him cry and cringe."
- Halo_92

MachineCult is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2005, 04:35 PM   #17
Redtech
Veteran
 
Redtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 800
Sorry, but you're forgetting the important factor.

BATTLEFRONT IS A STARWARS GAME!
Excuse the shouting, but let's put it this way. If Battlefront was a generic sci-fi team shooter, people wouldn't give it the time of day. It is buggy, glitchy, incomplete and rushed.

I have yet to see Star Wars, as a brand grab a genre for itself and make it it's own. Republic Commando did well, but should have expanded, the X-Wing series did brilliantly, but are dead, the Rogue series was a damned release game for the Gamecube, but is covering old ground now.

The Star Wars universe is rich and diverse, and with what the team have, the potential to create interesting and UNIQUE scenarios is there, but the "distance" is lacking. Take Halo 1/2. They're not the best designed games, but at the very least, you are going to have to look far for glitches, not something that could be picked up by "wall-crawling" (supposedly the first test in bug testing, for clipping errors etc)! Why should Zerted be smug in knowing that old bugs still exist in a new game? (Cantina bug anyone?)

I believe that the BFront series should be setting itself into new directions. I want to see the battles that were talked about in EU but never seen. Because then you are free to create interesting and diverse scenarios with some detail and run with it. Look at the sucess of Rhen Var and Bespin for example. They only have battles in EU. The "movie" levels should be a bonus, but IMHO, most of them are forced and rubbishly designed. Mapmakers are forced to add useless locations that detract from game flow to please fanboys, but make gaming annoying.

I'd want to see Battlefront take a path that doesn't make it a suck up to Battlefield. But at the mo, it can't decide whether it wants to be an arcade game, or a serious shooter. Rewards etc really work better for a serious shooter, but the "bullet spam" of Battlefront 2 makes them unfair without nerfing them till they're pretty useless. Then again, the effects for the powerups are...weird.

Personally, I'd rather it made up its mind. Serious pace and "realism." Or sonic-speed running and dying with the floaty green bubbles of DEATH! (Go Magnaguards!) Oh yeah, I'd like to add that a Stormtrooper sprints faster than most characters in Sonic Heros, but that's a personal rant.

Another thing, WE as a community need to work out what we want. The problem with Battlefront is that it's trying to caters to people who actually play games (like me), who are cynical general sci-fi buffs....all the way to fanboys who complain why girls laugh at their Darth Maul costume but couldn't play Pong. You can't please them all. That's why it'd be better if at least a direction could be taken.

As for engine, I dunno if source works that well over levels that are actually BIG. (Why are some UT99 levels bigger than Battlefront ones?) But the engine they use is OK, needs work, but it's reliable and scalable at least. The source engine doesn't seem to do really large expances in my experiance, but someone who's clocked HL2 can disagree with me there.

I've literally gone back to playing Quake 3 from Battlefront (although I will add that BFt has improved my aim). you shouldn't be suffering such a bad result from Jedi academy though. I've yet to find slowdown and I'm still maxing out settings and resolutions...yet I'm just below specs for Battlefront 2. Saying that, at least the character models look nice!


I am the definition of your defeat.
Redtech is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2005, 04:51 PM   #18
Commander Obi-Wan
Gold Standard
 
Commander Obi-Wan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,363
Current Game: BioShock 2
Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoiuyWired
Empire@war
Battlefront and EaW are to completely different games.


Commander Obi-Wan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-16-2005, 04:57 PM   #19
Tyler_Durden
 
Tyler_Durden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 593
The thing about jedi Academy is that it had memory leaks. Sure the system requirements are low but those same requirements attached to half life make for a better overall game and experience. Plus half life 2 didn't have memory leaks and ran smooth. Quake 3 looks dated, no gamer or critic worth his salt would give another quake 3 engine game higher than a 7/10 score now, especially the more scrutinizing ones, namely me. Especially in the sales department. Why would anyone want to go back and have outdated graphics and models that use low polygon counts? Sure the game is good for modding now but I think the best way to go with a Star Wars game now is forward.
Tyler_Durden is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-19-2005, 11:22 AM   #20
Redtech
Veteran
 
Redtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 800
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyler_Durden
Why would anyone want to go back and have outdated graphics and models that use low polygon counts? Sure the game is good for modding now but I think the best way to go with a Star Wars game now is forward.
WTFF?? Are you taking the mick? This is battlefront 2 we're talking about. It's engine was "old" when it was new (although quite efficient, I'll give it that, but UTK3 ate it).


I am the definition of your defeat.
Redtech is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-19-2005, 12:29 PM   #21
Tyler_Durden
 
Tyler_Durden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 593
That's true, but at the time I pretty much knew what I was getting myself into. This was more of a "I have nothing else to buy with my money" game. But for BF3 (if there is one), I won't buy it unless they do something amazing. The same engine isn't gonna cut it a third time.
Tyler_Durden is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2005, 10:12 AM   #22
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redtech
...Why should Zerted be smug in knowing that old bugs still exist in a new game? (Cantina bug anyone?)...
I'm not trying to come off as being smug. Sorry to everyone who I gave that impression to.

I think the space battles get old, fast. If you are not going to be playing online, I would go over the fourms and reviews once more before deciding buying the game.



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-22-2005, 09:26 AM   #23
Redtech
Veteran
 
Redtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 800
Sorry Zerted, I didn't mean that in a negative way. "We loves you precious". Just that you're an expert on the technical gubbins of this game.


I am the definition of your defeat.
Redtech is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2005, 06:43 AM   #24
Darth Smaug
Veteran
 
Darth Smaug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Elnor
Posts: 864
Do all the jedi-sith carry there original hilts from the movie's? Or do they all carry the same hilt?


I'm floating, and something's reaching out.
Darth Smaug is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2005, 09:09 AM   #25
MachineCult
Vincit Amor Patria
 
MachineCult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Disneyland?
Posts: 2,657
I think they do have their own hilts, but where it shows what your Primary weapon is in the corner of the screen, it's always Obi-Wans hilt.



"For where ever there is a n00b, there is MachineCult to make him cry and cringe."
- Halo_92

MachineCult is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2005, 09:24 AM   #26
Darth Smaug
Veteran
 
Darth Smaug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Elnor
Posts: 864
Quote:
Originally Posted by MachineCult
I think they do have their own hilts, but where it shows what your Primary weapon is in the corner of the screen, it's always Obi-Wans hilt.
Hmmm,i've seen screens where dooku's hilt is not curled..
And screens where the primary weapon in the corner of the screen Luke's hilt is.


I'm floating, and something's reaching out.
Darth Smaug is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2005, 11:07 AM   #27
ParanoidAndroid
Veteran
 
ParanoidAndroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The three dimensional geometric shaped space station of DOOM!
Posts: 787
As far as I can tell, they all hilts are carbon copies of each other. Exept for D. Maul, of course. But apart from him it seems they all carry the same, silvery-black hilt, can't tell too well of course.

Although, I don't pay much attention to small details like that, as far as I can tell lightsaber hilts are identical, OB1's could be Ani's which is identical to Mace's, who carries a similar model to what is used by the emperor. As far as I'm concerned, a glowing beatstick is a glowing beatstick, I mean at least the colors are right. (right?)


Not being paranoid doesn't mean someone isn't trying to kill you... or does it?
ParanoidAndroid is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2005, 11:12 AM   #28
Darth Smaug
Veteran
 
Darth Smaug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Elnor
Posts: 864
Quote:
Originally Posted by ParanoidAndroid
As far as I can tell, they all hilts are carbon copies of each other. Exept for D. Maul, of course. But apart from him it seems they all carry the same, silvery-black hilt, can't tell too well of course.

Although, I don't pay much attention to small details like that, as far as I can tell lightsaber hilts are identical, OB1's could be Ani's which is identical to Mace's, who carries a similar model to what is used by the emperor. As far as I'm concerned, a glowing beatstick is a glowing beatstick, I mean at least the colors are right. (right?)
I find it interesting having other hilts and that every jedi has his own constructed hilt.


I'm floating, and something's reaching out.
Darth Smaug is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2005, 11:52 AM   #29
ParanoidAndroid
Veteran
 
ParanoidAndroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The three dimensional geometric shaped space station of DOOM!
Posts: 787
yeah, I agree that it is a cool detail, kind of gives the jedi more individuality. Just somthing I personally don't pay that much attention too.


Not being paranoid doesn't mean someone isn't trying to kill you... or does it?
ParanoidAndroid is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2005, 01:15 PM   #30
Daddyboom
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 96
Wait are we still talking about Battlfront 2?
Daddyboom is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-24-2005, 01:35 PM   #31
ParanoidAndroid
Veteran
 
ParanoidAndroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The three dimensional geometric shaped space station of DOOM!
Posts: 787
Yeah, although we may have deviated a bit from the original topic, anywho right now we are talking about the diffrent hilts of each jedi's saber, or lack thereof.


Not being paranoid doesn't mean someone isn't trying to kill you... or does it?
ParanoidAndroid is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-25-2005, 07:17 PM   #32
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
Its past Christmas. Darth Smaug, do you like the game?



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-26-2005, 02:47 PM   #33
Darth Smaug
Veteran
 
Darth Smaug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Elnor
Posts: 864
Gonna install it tommorow.
(sister has to study in the vacation)


I'm floating, and something's reaching out.
Darth Smaug is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-27-2005, 07:34 AM   #34
Redtech
Veteran
 
Redtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 800
I doubt they put that much detail to sabres when they couldn't do that for weapon models/animations.


I am the definition of your defeat.
Redtech is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-27-2005, 10:40 AM   #35
PoiuyWired
Unregistered User
 
PoiuyWired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,503
I wish they had a christmas easter egg in the game...
PoiuyWired is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront II > General Discussion > Battlefront 2 (PC)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:57 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.