lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Has anyone been able to use obi-wan or luke on land?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-21-2006, 03:34 PM   #1
Yesh
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 52
Has anyone been able to use obi-wan or luke on land?

I've tried several of these mods and most end up crashing on me. All I want to do is play a land battle, even if its at tatooaine with new units, heros and vehicles. I tried editing the campaign file and got an error when playing the game. the same I've gotten with all these mods when you go to a planet that doesn't seem to work.
Yesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2006, 04:55 PM   #2
enterman
Rookie
 
enterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 78
i was using a mod were I was the rebels and I had Obi-Won as one of my characters to lead into a battle but, when sending him to a planet to fight, the game chrashed.
enterman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2006, 05:06 PM   #3
Minniboobs
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
yes same here i can use luke in space though i cant see inflitrators on land too
Minniboobs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2006, 06:15 PM   #4
Yesh
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 52
So Obi-Wan doesn't work. Do any other land heroes besides Han and Chewie work for anyone? Rebel or Empire?
Yesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2006, 06:35 PM   #5
enterman
Rookie
 
enterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 78
R2/D2 worked for me on land, he can hack turrents so that they attack the empire instead u.
enterman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2006, 07:14 PM   #6
Minniboobs
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
havent tried r2 d2 on land yet but i did manage to steal tech with them
Minniboobs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2006, 07:30 PM   #7
Yesh
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 52
What about imperials besides fett like palpatine, vader, mara jade, piett, tarkin etc.?
Yesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2006, 08:13 PM   #8
augrunt
Rookie
 
augrunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 192
Mara Jade aint in the game's scripts... or perhaps i didnt look hard enough, i saw katarn though, but when placed in the game he is invisble/not selectable/bugged... its the fact that they havent added anything major to this...

ive noticed in the code theres alot of messages to designers, theres a lot of junk code in there... like one of them stated to another designer/programmer "This code is worthless in here, its useless please remove it" or something along the lines... this is a build that was given to a beta testing group/the team @ petroglyph...


augrunt is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2006, 11:17 PM   #9
chr0n1x
Rookie
 
chr0n1x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 46
A lot of that code does usually stay ingames, sometimes they find a use for it, so they keep it, sometimes not, I don't know about petroglyph, how they do things.

Mara Jade is in the games scripts "Mara_Jade_Team", she even has a model. There are no models for Katarn, Vader, Obi Wan, Palpatine, Piett(*), Tarkin, Veers.
(*)=He uses a star destroyer for a mdoel ingame, no land variant. Veers uses an ATAT, but I don't think there is a model for him.
chr0n1x is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2006, 11:21 PM   #10
Yesh
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 52
so mara might work on land is what you're saying?
Yesh is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-22-2006, 03:02 AM   #11
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,625
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yesh
so mara might work on land is what you're saying?
Yes, she does indeed work when deployed on the ground. Her Force Corrupt skill is quite tasty. You can even use it to take control of the Rancor on the Tatooine map. The Rancor can kill an AT-ST in one hit.
DarthParametric is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-22-2006, 03:48 AM   #12
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,625
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Here are the heroes I have seen so far (text in square brackets are my comments) -

Han_Solo_Team
Mon_Mothma_Team
Tani_Team [?]
Droids_Team [R2 and 3P0]
Home_One [Admiral Akbar]
Sundered_Heart [Captain Antilles]
Obi_Wan_Team
Red_Squadron [Luke's X-Wing squadron at the time of the ANH DS attack]
Boba_Fett_Team
Grand_Moff_Tarkin_Team
Emperor_Palpatine_Team
Darth_Team [Vader]
General_Veers_Team
Accuser_Star_Destroyer [Captain Piett]
Mara_Jade_Team

There are some mods that spawn the vehicles these heroes use (like Slave 1, TIE Advanced x1, etc.) rather than the heroes themselves. Some heroes like Vader, Obi-Wan, etc will crash the game if you try to land them in a ground battle, as there are no model assets for them.
DarthParametric is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-22-2006, 04:02 AM   #13
chr0n1x
Rookie
 
chr0n1x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 46
Yes, they are scripted, however there are no models for most of them so you cannot use them.
chr0n1x is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-22-2006, 04:13 AM   #14
DarthParametric
I bent my Wookiee
 
DarthParametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,625
Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by chr0n1x
Yes, they are scripted, however there are no models for most of them so you cannot use them.
Well Mara_Jade_Team, Home_One, Sundered_Heart, Red_Squadron, and Accuser_Star_Destroyer all worked fine in my own tests. I haven't tried Veers, yet, but his AT-AT model is in-game as you posted earlier, so he should work as well. And enterman has said that R2 works on land, so I'm assuming that Droids_Team works too (haven't tested myself).
DarthParametric is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Modding forum > Has anyone been able to use obi-wan or luke on land?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:02 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.