lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Increasing the space battle cap?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-19-2006, 02:36 AM   #1
alxy_07
 
alxy_07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 20
Increasing the space battle cap?

Hey guys, I am enjoying the game but I would like the space battles more if the cap was larger than 20. I was hoping that the game would have had the option of 20-30-40 space battle cap or something to that effect, so we could choose. Is there any way to increase the cap, or is any mod going to increase it? Thanks
alxy_07 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2006, 02:57 AM   #2
Spaxspore
Rookie
 
Spaxspore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 87
i fully agree... i wish it was around 30-50


Spaxspore is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2006, 08:28 AM   #3
darkthunder
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Anyone know where to modify the cap limit? Ground battles I think is 6-7 which is very low.
darkthunder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2006, 10:10 AM   #4
Tom Servo
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 107
Its in the factions.xml, You can modify both ground and space cap there.
Tom Servo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2006, 11:56 AM   #5
Spaxspore
Rookie
 
Spaxspore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 87
can someone edit it to 30-50 on space and post it up then

Please


Spaxspore is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2006, 02:36 PM   #6
le noir
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
For space battles just open the factions.xml
and search for

<Space_Tactical_Unit_Cap>20</Space_Tactical_Unit_Cap>

for both factions

change the number to whatever you want.

Well I've only managed to find the ground battle unit cap for skirmish.
For those who are interested in this:

in the factions.xml search for

<Land_Skirmish_Unit_Cap_By_Player_Count>

below that you will see

0,10,
1,10,
8,5,


change the second number of the rows to change the cap
for example

0,40,
1,40,
8,5,

I would post the full .xml entry but the forum says it's to much text.

Last edited by le noir; 02-19-2006 at 02:52 PM.
le noir is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2006, 02:48 PM   #7
GhOsT-Jedi
Rookie
 
GhOsT-Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Past the outer rims of the universe training my sith armies.
Posts: 159
I personly think that it's fine, I just build up a fleet, and attack, when one of my ships gets whiped out, I call in more. The pop cap is fine to me, I just had a 4v4 mon cal vs ISD over corusant...






GhOsT-Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2006, 02:53 PM   #8
Spaxspore
Rookie
 
Spaxspore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 87
i just want to bring in more ships, cause if one is crippled i want to send additional backup so i dont lose it complety.


Spaxspore is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2006, 03:07 PM   #9
Mr. DancyRobot
Rookie
 
Mr. DancyRobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: <insert $h#t-hole here>
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by le noir
For space battles just open the factions.xml
and search for

<Space_Tactical_Unit_Cap>20</Space_Tactical_Unit_Cap>

for both factions

change the number to whatever you want.
hey thx le noir, ive looking throu the XML's to find where thats at.



-may the pants be with you-
Mr. DancyRobot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-19-2006, 05:31 PM   #10
Spaxspore
Rookie
 
Spaxspore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 87
tested and works... am Happy now

Playin w/ 45


Spaxspore is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2006, 08:23 AM   #11
Marku
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
ive edited it to 45 too. thanks for thread ^_^
Marku is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2006, 09:53 AM   #12
Sithman1138
Junior Member
 
Sithman1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 288
I like the popcap because when a ship is destroyed, I bring a ISD right on top of them!


-Adthrawn of SWGBH
-Sithman1138 of TF.N

^^Sig by Sabretooth^^
ADTHRAWN DESIGN TEAM
Sithman1138 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2006, 10:15 AM   #13
Marku
Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
uhh my game wont load now, lol. ive undone the changes to.
Marku is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2006, 08:18 PM   #14
Son Tenchi
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: IN, USA
Posts: 9
where is the factions.xml file located?


"I might die, someday, but until then.....your mine."
Son Tenchi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2006, 08:42 PM   #15
Ali1392
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 205
i dont have any xml file and i know where to find them coz on the demo i hade my vens spawning 16 imp sds
Ali1392 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2006, 10:26 PM   #16
Zorromorph
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 42
The ground battle cap is in GAMECONSTANTS.XML

The relevant section:

<Max_Ground_Forces_On_Planet> 10 </Max_Ground_Forces_On_Planet>

Change 10 to whatever number you like. As mentioned, the space battle cap must be adjusted for each faction individually in FACTION.XML

To get at them you need one of the unofficial tools to extract Config.meg, and then you can go have yourself some wicked modding fun.
Zorromorph is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2006, 10:49 PM   #17
Admiral Sith
Junior Member
 
Admiral Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 375
I dont think that would work, that one refers to the maximum amount the defender can have(I think), and there are only 1 slots. For the ground battle cap you would probably have to modify the amount each reinforcement point on that map gives.



"It may be that the old astrologers had the truth exactly reversed, when they believed that the stars controlled the destinies of men. The time may come when men control the destinies of stars." -Arthur C. Clarke

"Ideals are like stars: you will not succeed in touching them with your hands, but like the seafaring man on the ocean desert of waters, you choose them as your guides, and following them, you reach your destiny." -Carl Schurz
Admiral Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2006, 11:33 PM   #18
Zorromorph
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 42
You are quite right, it does work only for the defender. Back to the drawing board because this is something I really want to do.
Zorromorph is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Modding forum > Increasing the space battle cap?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.