lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Quick before I kill the tech support!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-18-2006, 07:33 PM   #1
TheAbortionater
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Exclamation Quick before I kill the tech support!

WHAT THE HELL IS THE (sorry about caps) gray screen? Everytime I start Jedi Outcast, after completely installing, everything is good, all the directx and junk works fine, brand new computer....how come when the game starts a.) there's a little pop up window showing text in yellow font, looks like an old dos window with system process completion, and b.) once the monitor resets to the resolution, the cpu makes a beep, and nothing but gray screen!

Yoda doesn't know what the hell it is, dell doesnt', I'm not going to microsoft for another 21$ 10 minute phone call, is there someone who knows? There is no recogniztion of a fatal error in the error log, or even by a "send error report" it just goes back to the desktop once i push escape, which happens to be the only button the gray screen goes away by......

.......grrrrrr.........lucas arts has about the worst tech support next to EA.....
TheAbortionater is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-18-2006, 07:39 PM   #2
Jamps
Junior Member
 
Jamps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 440
From my experiences, Lucasarts has the best tech support. I suggest calling them up since Yoda's Help Desk didn't give you the answer.

The DOS-style window is suppose to be like that, and the grey screen is suppose to go away after a few seconds. Maybe your firewall isn't letting it launch, but I suggest just calling them.
Jamps is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-19-2006, 10:42 PM   #3
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,329
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Before calling them, you could try updating your video card drivers.

Also, run the "System Analyzer" program that was included with the game and run all the tests. At least then you'll be able to ask proper questions of the tech support people and possibly save on a long distance call (assuming it's not toll free..).


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-21-2006, 05:33 AM   #4
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Tell us your PC specs, then we may be able to solve your problem faster than LC's tech support




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-21-2006, 04:53 PM   #5
BawBag™
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,706
Installed the games latest patch?
BawBag™ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Help Center > Technical Help > Quick before I kill the tech support!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:52 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.