lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Creating starsystems
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-11-2006, 08:49 AM   #1
darkthunder
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Creating starsystems

Hi. I was wondering if it's possible to create starsystems, rather then individual planets.

I would like to reproduce Earth with all 9 (10) planets if possible. Have the planets at a specific distance from each other etc in one map (so that you can take your fleet to any of the 9 planets at any time, or have all 9 planets on individual maps but still within the same system.

For example... making Earth habitable and the other 8 non-habitable. If Earth is captured, the entire system is lost. However you can capture ANY of the 9 planets and get control of just that planet. Non-habitable planets would have "space only" for spacestations. No ground.

Is it possible, and if so how? Or will this be available through one of the modding tools "soon to be released" ? A response would be nice

If anyone needs more info on my idea, i'm glad to answer any questions. But I need an answer first :P
darkthunder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-11-2006, 12:02 PM   #2
Loki_Kane
Rookie
 
Loki_Kane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 15
I believe you will have to wait for the mod tools before this can be done, I hope there will be a fairly simple map and galaxy editor included.


Loki_Kane is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-11-2006, 12:45 PM   #3
EAWFAN
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
if your are gonna do that could you please post it on the forum sounds fun to play




www.aosw.petrolution.net --- Ages of Star Wars: Jedi Civil war --- Official website
EAWFAN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-11-2006, 07:35 PM   #4
edwynn
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
sounds like the good old Star Control
edwynn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-11-2006, 08:58 PM   #5
thedoctor44
Rookie
 
thedoctor44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 48
This should be possible when the modding tools(map editors anyway) are released. After all, if you can scult a landscape and create a starsystem with them, it should be even easier to set up system on a GC edit mode. As for the Earth control thing, it should be basic to set up like an objective. Some simple scripting(or triggering, deppending on how this editor'll work)should enable you to set controlling Earth as a win condition.
thedoctor44 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2006, 08:30 AM   #6
darkthunder
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Basically the idea is that we're gonna have a bunch of canon starsystems for a Trek Total Conversion, incl. our own solarsystem, Bajor, Cardassia, Quonos, Romulus/Remus etc...

But to make starsystems, it would be nice to have more then 1 planet/system. If we can place all 9 planets of our own solarsystem in "one map", would work out great because in Star Trek "theoretically" your not suppose to warp inside a solarsystem if its inhabited. Warping would be between systems, just as it is in the stock game.

Can any of the "powers that be" please comment on what will be available in the mod tools, and if one of the tools will have the function of adding multiple planets to one map?
darkthunder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2006, 09:02 AM   #7
Loki_Kane
Rookie
 
Loki_Kane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 15
The "powers that be" are being pretty tight lipped about what the mod tools will include.


Loki_Kane is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2006, 11:14 AM   #8
thedoctor44
Rookie
 
thedoctor44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 48
Sometimes I think the "powers that be" were sleeping when they informed of the mod tools...

Quote:
But to make starsystems, it would be nice to have more then 1 planet/system. If we can place all 9 planets of our own solarsystem in "one map", would work out great because in Star Trek "theoretically" your not suppose to warp inside a solarsystem if its inhabited. Warping would be between systems, just as it is in the stock game.
Actually, you can warp within a system safely...you're chances of hitting a star just go a bit higher by say...a number that's impossible to calculate...

The only issue with a Star Trek mod is the small size of the SW galaxy in comparison to the Alpha Quadrant. Ahh well, hopefuly we can make bigger galactic maps than come with stock on campaigns. If not...well, travel time would be somewhat less realistic.
thedoctor44 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2006, 12:49 PM   #9
darkthunder
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Travel time between "systems" can be adjusted i've heard. So that much we can probably get fairly decent. Shouldn't go too fast to send a fleet between systems.
darkthunder is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-12-2006, 01:11 PM   #10
Admiral Sith
Junior Member
 
Admiral Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 375
My mod(not released) has times extremely slow between systems. This makes Trade Routes very very desirable, not to mention the planets on them are very credit rich.



"It may be that the old astrologers had the truth exactly reversed, when they believed that the stars controlled the destinies of men. The time may come when men control the destinies of stars." -Arthur C. Clarke

"Ideals are like stars: you will not succeed in touching them with your hands, but like the seafaring man on the ocean desert of waters, you choose them as your guides, and following them, you reach your destiny." -Carl Schurz
Admiral Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Modding forum > Creating starsystems

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:46 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.