lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Game with MODS - can I apply newest patch ?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-22-2006, 05:29 AM   #1
Koci
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 41
Game with MODS - can I apply newest patch ?

So, we have 1.03 now, just asking:

I must reinstall game because of mods, or I can apply this patch when
I use mod (more specific - Open Conflict mod) ?

Best Regards

Koci
Koci is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-22-2006, 05:42 AM   #2
Koci
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 41
Nevermind :-)

I make some survey, 1.03 is a crap, multiplayer worse than before,
so...............waiting for 1.04 :-)

But question still worth of thinking IMHO

Have a good day :-)

Koci
Koci is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-22-2006, 09:32 AM   #3
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
to those that actually do care, the only thing modders should be concerned with is if they have editted the 'MasterTextFile_***.dat (where *** is whatever language pack your game uses) since the 1.03 patch replaces the original.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-22-2006, 09:42 AM   #4
Rhedd-5
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 75
How on earth can muliplayer (which I don't play, so I have no personal opinion) be that much "worse than before"?

I ran a test on the new files to see what EXACTLY had changed, so I'd know if I should update my mods, and I found like, one line that isn't in the readme file: Losing players get a smaller credit bonus than they used to. That's it.

So, almost nothing is different. Things can't get worse if nothing changes.

People sure can get whinier, though. ^_^

Oh, and singerhs is right; the text .dat is the only thing that might cause trouble.
Rhedd-5 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-22-2006, 02:39 PM   #5
Three60
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 239
How was it changed? I haven't gotten the patch yet.


Three60 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-22-2006, 03:25 PM   #6
Athanasios
Forumite
 
Athanasios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 561
The text file is not big deal, especially for mods that added way more changes into it.

As for the rest, as seen in PFF forums, they patched mainly the Config file, so, we shouldn't have any problem. The MP issues are not .xml side but code side (obviously, otherwise we would have fixed them ).

EaW:Total Realism in fully compatible for sure. The changes to hardpoints and the rest "balance" labeled issues have been already tweaked. One .xml conflict would be the spawning times, but that's already tweaked too. Yet, i cant assure for the rest mods...
Athanasios is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-22-2006, 03:27 PM   #7
Master Leffe
Rookie
 
Master Leffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Earth. I thought it was obvious...
Posts: 148
Wait a second. Are you telling me that we'll have to re-edit our text files now?


Come on, did you actually think your destiny wasn't set?
Master Leffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-22-2006, 05:23 PM   #8
Slocket
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 309
They changed the garrison respawn time (that is in the XML if your mod changed that file building).

They changed the hitpoints of the Tractor Beam hardpoints any changes to that file needs to be updated if you want to be on par with 1.3. Or just leave it alone.
Slocket is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-22-2006, 10:39 PM   #9
EAWFAN
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 287
for a mod like mine which is meant for multiplayer use only i was very very relieved that i wouldnt have to make some sort of special program to allow people play my mod. and mp has actually gotten way better i have connected to every game since the patch(20 or so) so im happy




www.aosw.petrolution.net --- Ages of Star Wars: Jedi Civil war --- Official website
EAWFAN is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-23-2006, 02:41 AM   #10
MistenTH
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 126
Shouldn't have any issues as far as I know.

Basically mods are EAW 1.2 + Changes
Patch is EAW 1.3

If you place the Mod files into the data directory, the game reverts to
EAW 1.2 + Changes

So Mods will still run as per normal, but may not have the EAW 1.3 changes. But that is minor.


EAW: Star Wars Realism v3.0 - a mod that improves the realism, balance & gameplay from the default EAW Space Combat & Space Skirmish. Introduces a FLEET! Deathmatch mode.

http://pff.swrebellion.com/index.php?topic=2763.0
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=161089

EAW: Tactical Command - a Space Skirmish mod that seeks to bring tactics to EAW. Also introduces Scenario play.

http://pff.swrebellion.com/index.php?topic=3136.0
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=162569
MistenTH is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Modding forum > Game with MODS - can I apply newest patch ?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:58 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.