lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Upside down turrets, in the air?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-23-2006, 02:16 AM   #1
REDJOHNNYMIKE
Destroyer of Burfday!
 
REDJOHNNYMIKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Your liver... and a hobgoblin's jugular... simultaneously
Posts: 2,967
Question Upside down turrets, in the air?

I'm trying to place defense turrets in a security checkpoint.
I want them to hang upside down from the ceiling.
I'm pretty sure all turrets are classified as character/creature.
No matter what I set the height to I can't suspend it in the air.
No matter what I set the Y orientation to it snaps back to level.
I think that particular classification just doesn't allow suspended objects (probably to keep npcs on the ground) so is there an alternative way of doing this?


The Binary Theory of Life: Inside the box = bad... Outside the box = good...
Sanity is the highest form of oppression.
REDJOHNNYMIKE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-23-2006, 02:25 AM   #2
oldflash
Veteran
 
oldflash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 904
Current Game: SWtOR
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by REDJOHNNYMIKE
I'm trying to place defense turrets in a security checkpoint.
I want them to hang upside down from the ceiling.
I'm pretty sure all turrets are classified as character/creature.
No matter what I set the height to I can't suspend it in the air.
No matter what I set the Y orientation to it snaps back to level.
I think that particular classification just doesn't allow suspended objects (probably to keep npcs on the ground) so is there an alternative way of doing this?
How do you insert that turrets? In module editor or via scripts?


"If you must sleep on the same bed, at least try to dream different dreams".
oldflash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-23-2006, 03:02 AM   #3
rictus135
Junior Member
 
rictus135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Traralgon, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 318
The Z orientation affects height doesn't it? Not Y.


There are 10 types of people in the world.
Those who understand binary and those who don't.

I'm not too fat. I'm alive aren't I?
rictus135 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-23-2006, 03:17 AM   #4
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Unfortunately I believe Turrets will snap to the walkmesh just like a Droid or NPC would... I don't know if you can hang them upside down either. Cool idea though.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-23-2006, 08:18 AM   #5
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by REDJOHNNYMIKE
I'm trying to place defense turrets in a security checkpoint.
I want them to hang upside down from the ceiling.
No matter what I set the height to I can't suspend it in the air.
No matter what I set the Y orientation to it snaps back to level.
I think that particular classification just doesn't allow suspended objects (probably to keep npcs on the ground) so is there an alternative way of doing this?
The Z-coordinate (elevation) of creatures is always locked to the walkmesh in the game, there is nothing to do about this. Also, creatures cannot be rotated/tilted vertically. Only placeables can be placed freely.

There are a few walkarounds, though I'm not good enough at modelling for KotOR to know if they are possible:
  • You could take the model of a turret creature convert it to be used as a placeable instead. That way you could position and rotate it as you wish. It cannot move around as a placeable, but that shouldn't be any problem for a stationary turret anyway. If you need it to be able to attack you'll have to give it a script that casts a "spell"/force power that shoots a projectile/rocket/bolt from it.

  • You could edit the model of the turret creature in 3dmax/gmax to rotate it to be upside down and lift it above the AuroraBase high enough to touch the ceiling of your area. That would make it seem to hover above the ground, like the "flying" creatures in the game do. (Though the player or other creatures wouldn't be able to walk underneath it since it still technically is standing on the floor even if the visible model is near the ceiling.)

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2006, 12:09 AM   #6
REDJOHNNYMIKE
Destroyer of Burfday!
 
REDJOHNNYMIKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Your liver... and a hobgoblin's jugular... simultaneously
Posts: 2,967
I would't have time to do that other stuff, so is there some way to "unsnap"?
Don't say it's all hardcoded or somebody gets hurt


The Binary Theory of Life: Inside the box = bad... Outside the box = good...
Sanity is the highest form of oppression.
REDJOHNNYMIKE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2006, 12:14 AM   #7
Det. Bart Lasiter
obama.png
 
Det. Bart Lasiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: `(•.°)~
Posts: 7,997
Current Game: all
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Hardcoded

Not into the engine though, once we can make new walkmeshes/modules you'll be able to do this sort of thing.



"No, Mama. You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty whoever put that hit on you already got the cops in their back pocket." ~Black Dynamite
Det. Bart Lasiter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2006, 01:53 AM   #8
oldflash
Veteran
 
oldflash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 904
Current Game: SWtOR
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by REDJOHNNYMIKE
I would't have time to do that other stuff, so is there some way to "unsnap"?
Don't say it's all hardcoded or somebody gets hurt
It's not so hard to edit placeables.2da and add a new row.


"If you must sleep on the same bed, at least try to dream different dreams".
oldflash is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2006, 10:25 AM   #9
Darkkender
Knight of Holowan
 
Darkkender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In the mountains of Oregon
Posts: 2,953
Current Game: Star Wars The Old Republic
Veteran Modder 
I would take Stoffe's advise about changing the creature model in 3dsmax or gmax. If they're creature's then once they are dead you'll be able to move past them.


Working so, we will learn history as a tree knows it; we will climb into shapes printed in the seed; we will become time made visible, years made fragrant; we will make of concentric memory a stem of praise; we will inhabit daylight at a trees own speed; we will be travelers who remain, patriots to this ground.
OMG I only rank 62.13018% geek or a Extreme Geek as it is referred to on the geektest at Geektest
[TSL]Holowan Plugin
Darkkender is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2006, 11:30 AM   #10
REDJOHNNYMIKE
Destroyer of Burfday!
 
REDJOHNNYMIKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Your liver... and a hobgoblin's jugular... simultaneously
Posts: 2,967
Well, I definitely can't do the second option because half the reason for putting them up there is to get them out of the way and make room for future features (the other half being that it would just looks cool)

So how do I convert the model to a placeable?
What would I edit into the .2da?
And how do I make that script (could you just give me really good hints, I've gotta do some eventually)

I was using the smaller turret, but if it can't aim at targets as a placeable it would look stupid, I think I'll base it off the remote instead.


The Binary Theory of Life: Inside the box = bad... Outside the box = good...
Sanity is the highest form of oppression.
REDJOHNNYMIKE is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Upside down turrets, in the air?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:18 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.