lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Kotor Tool on hold - equipment failure :(
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-28-2006, 01:37 PM   #1
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
Exclamation Kotor Tool on hold - equipment failure :(

I have the unfortunate position of having to tell you that due to some equipment problems, the next release of Kotor Tool and the new maps is on hold for a while.

We had some power problems here that resulted in the loss of my router and PC's power supply. Fortunately, the monitor was off and is OK; unfortunately, this same PC is where the Kotor Tool code lives.

Until I can figure out a way to replace them, my postings will be a lot more infrequent, as I have to do so from work at lunch time, so please understand if I don't respond to questions right away.


Kotor Tool Developer
http://kotortool.starwarsknights.com/

"You want to help everyone who asks for aid, answer all of their questions, write that crucial bit of code for which they're searching, and be the hero who saves the day (and their job), but there comes a point when you realize that sleep is sometimes necessary."
—Stephen Toub

Visit the Kotor Tool Forum
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-28-2006, 01:44 PM   #2
rgdelta
Junior Member
 
rgdelta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 303
Sorry to hear that Fred I hope everything else is fine that has happened to me before :-(

You do such a great job with KT think of this as a KT vacation lol
rgdelta is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-28-2006, 02:16 PM   #3
Jackel
Senior Member
 
Jackel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,056
Fred after hearing you have worked like 12 billion hours (or closer to 1500 or so, I forget) you deserve a holiday for a while anyway. An serious equipment failure is a bad way for it to happen but at least you can now follow your signature and realise sleep is sometimes neccessary. Hope everythig gets sorted soon mate.
Jackel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-28-2006, 02:48 PM   #4
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,758
Current Game: KotOR II
I'm so sorry. To think of all the work you must have put into it...Is there anything I can do to help?



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-28-2006, 04:06 PM   #5
Fred Tetra
Kotor Tool Guy
 
Fred Tetra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: What a creepy photo, eh? Had to use it!
Posts: 947
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth InSidious
I'm so sorry. To think of all the work you must have put into it...Is there anything I can do to help?
Not really, unless you feel like donating $

Otherwise, I'll just wait until I have the dough saved up. PC stuff is viewed as "non-essential" to the running of the house here, as I have a big family on one income, so it might take a while, lol.
(There should be an animated smiley that's putting money into a PC - that'd be me!)


Kotor Tool Developer
http://kotortool.starwarsknights.com/

"You want to help everyone who asks for aid, answer all of their questions, write that crucial bit of code for which they're searching, and be the hero who saves the day (and their job), but there comes a point when you realize that sleep is sometimes necessary."
—Stephen Toub

Visit the Kotor Tool Forum
Fred Tetra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2006, 01:57 AM   #6
The Source
Rest In Peace
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,304
Contest winner - Modding 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Tetra
I have the unfortunate position of having to tell you that due to some equipment problems, the next release of Kotor Tool and the new maps is on hold for a while.

We had some power problems here that resulted in the loss of my router and PC's power supply. Fortunately, the monitor was off and is OK; unfortunately, this same PC is where the Kotor Tool code lives.

Until I can figure out a way to replace them, my postings will be a lot more infrequent, as I have to do so from work at lunch time, so please understand if I don't respond to questions right away.
Hey man!
You have given us a tool that could never be replaced. I thank you for all the hard work you have done. I hope all goes well.
MacLeodCorp.



R.I.P. to 'The Source' and 'MacCorp'
2004-2008
The Source is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2006, 11:22 AM   #7
Pavlos
Scruffy Englishman
 
Pavlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The real world/ivory towers
Posts: 1,974
Current Game: Viking Warrior Poets
Hey! Don't worry about this at all. KotOR Tool has more than enough features at the moment - the work you have done is, though it belittles your achievements to say so, amazing. Don't worry about the maps at all - a good of gff editor will see us through. You've done more than enough on this device, consider the equipment problems as something of a holiday from the tool.
Pavlos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2006, 09:44 PM   #8
TheOssusKeeper
Forumite
 
TheOssusKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 534
sorry to hear about the pc problems... your KT is awesome... thanks for the hard work you've put into it to give to us...

on a little lighter note (i hope)... a pc power supply unit doesn't cost that much (well then too, it depends on what you need i guess)....


TheOssusKeeper is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-02-2006, 12:40 AM   #9
Kitty Kitty
Junior Member
 
Kitty Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 355
Sorry for the PC blues...

Well, due to a great many circumstances I won't go into right now I've been rather out of the loop around here (and everywhere actually) for quite some time. Be that as it may, I couldn't pass up saying how grateful I am for all the work you've done on the tool, Fred. I hope this PC trouble situation works itself out for the best with a minimum of fuss and expense, and we can soon get back to cheering for each in a seemingly endless string of awesome additions and revisions to the best tool the KotOR community has ever seen.

Cheers and kudos Fred, and all my best...
-Kitty


Kitty Kitty is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2006, 08:39 PM   #10
Darkkender
Knight of Holowan
 
Darkkender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In the mountains of Oregon
Posts: 2,953
Current Game: Star Wars The Old Republic
Veteran Modder 
Hey Fred after reading through my post I realized I was asking the wrong question.

The Question I should ask is what type of power supply do you need?
350w or 500w or bigger.
If you can let me know I can get it one to you by next week or at least a check for one.


Working so, we will learn history as a tree knows it; we will climb into shapes printed in the seed; we will become time made visible, years made fragrant; we will make of concentric memory a stem of praise; we will inhabit daylight at a trees own speed; we will be travelers who remain, patriots to this ground.
OMG I only rank 62.13018% geek or a Extreme Geek as it is referred to on the geektest at Geektest
[TSL]Holowan Plugin

Last edited by Darkkender; 03-09-2006 at 12:12 AM.
Darkkender is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2006, 07:12 PM   #11
BlazeHoliday
Rookie
 
BlazeHoliday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 57
yeah, i don't have much money either, but if need be i can donate 25 or so.. i picked up a good 400w powersupply from microcenter for that amount, and i would be so kind to do the same for you fred! all i ask is more kotor I maps! haha, i know those are put together by hand maybe you could do a few more in the future!
BlazeHoliday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > KotOR Tool > Kotor Tool on hold - equipment failure :(

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:52 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.