lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: can you drive capital ships?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-12-2005, 08:04 PM   #1
Blackrider27
Rookie
 
Blackrider27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 67
can you drive capital ships?

does anybody know if you can drive capital ships like a rebel blockade runner or the invisibil hand. i think it would be cool to land in the hanger in the blockade runner then man the turrents or drive it with small laser cannons on the front
Blackrider27 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-12-2005, 08:08 PM   #2
DarthMuffin
Dark Cupcake of the Sith
 
DarthMuffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,034
You can't drive capital ships.

And I'm pretty sure I read somewhere that they don't even move.

I think that you can man the turrets though.


~Dark Cupcake of the Sith
DarthMuffin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2005, 03:49 PM   #3
Blackrider27
Rookie
 
Blackrider27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 67
i think they move. You know what would be cool if the battle on the blockade runner was just a coincidence and there taking screenshots from the battle of endor from inside the bockade runner
Blackrider27 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2005, 04:56 PM   #4
MachineCult
Vincit Amor Patria
 
MachineCult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Disneyland?
Posts: 2,657
They don't move man. They're solid brush. You can man the turbolasers and walk around inside the capital ships. The Tantive IV is not a capital ship though, and there wouldn't be any way of getting into a blockade runner from outer space.



"For where ever there is a n00b, there is MachineCult to make him cry and cringe."
- Halo_92

MachineCult is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2005, 05:37 PM   #5
ParanoidAndroid
Veteran
 
ParanoidAndroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The three dimensional geometric shaped space station of DOOM!
Posts: 787
They might have pre determined flight paths on certain maps, I think I read somewhere that they do... but even if they do move theres no way that you can control them.


Not being paranoid doesn't mean someone isn't trying to kill you... or does it?
ParanoidAndroid is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2005, 05:56 PM   #6
DarthMuffin
Dark Cupcake of the Sith
 
DarthMuffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by MachineCult
You can man the turbolasers and walk around inside the capital ships.
Is this official? I mean, is it available in multiplay and instant battles? Not just in the campaign?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ParanoidAndroid
They might have pre determined flight paths on certain maps, I think I read somewhere that they do... but even if they do move theres no way that you can control them.
The official trailer shows moving capital ships. However, that's most likely a cinematic.

And I think the people at LA/Pandemic are too lazy to add pre-defined paths. Anyway, I -think- I read somewhere that they definitely don't move.


~Dark Cupcake of the Sith
DarthMuffin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2005, 06:30 PM   #7
MachineCult
Vincit Amor Patria
 
MachineCult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Disneyland?
Posts: 2,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth54
Is this official? I mean, is it available in multiplay and instant battles? Not just in the campaign?
I've seen more than one stage demo for the game and i can tell you that there are a lot more than just a hangar on the capital ships, (i've seen a Mon Calamari ship with a hangar on both sides) for all kinds of play.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth54
And I think the people at LA/Pandemic are too lazy to add pre-defined paths. Anyway, I -think- I read somewhere that they definitely don't move.
From the Demos i can tell you for sure that the large capital ships do not move.
Neither do Blockade Runners or the small Imperial Cruisers.



"For where ever there is a n00b, there is MachineCult to make him cry and cringe."
- Halo_92

MachineCult is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2005, 10:32 PM   #8
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
Simple physics: Force = Mass x Acceleration, where Force != . If they don't move, well make'm move .

...well maybe not, but that won't stop us from trying.



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2005, 11:25 PM   #9
McCusto
Veteran
 
McCusto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 955
What they said


McCusto is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2005, 04:26 AM   #10
HordaK
Rookie
 
HordaK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 59
Well u cant control the capitals, but i enjoy the Feature ,that u can watch the battles from the bridge window, more than the Mass Teamkill count by running over any Tie Fighter with a Stardestroyer cause the Ties are just not been seen by myself
HordaK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2005, 07:40 AM   #11
Redtech
Veteran
 
Redtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 800
Yeah, very food point actually. Heck, n00b piloting is bad enough already!


I am the definition of your defeat.
Redtech is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-31-2006, 11:40 PM   #12
Sithkiller438
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Can you blow up capital ships and if so how?
Sithkiller438 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-31-2006, 11:45 PM   #13
Darth Andrew
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Indiana, U.S.A
Posts: 943
You can only destroy a capital ship's systems, and not the ship itself.
Darth Andrew is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-03-2006, 04:47 AM   #14
TSR
Hoist the colours!
 
TSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lincoln, England, UK
Posts: 2,777
Current Game: Rift
Forum Veteran LF Jester Helpful! 
maybe a mod could change that....


British By Birth. English By The Grace Of God

Dulce et Decorum Est Pro Patria Mori
Let Mercy Come
TSR is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-03-2006, 08:28 PM   #15
zerted
Click Center of Circle: O
 
zerted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside a human body.
Posts: 1,245
a mod can change that.



(I may not agree with thoughts posted under this name)
Looking for a mature clan? Checkout www.rdhclan.net
email/PM me for more info
zerted is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2006, 05:17 AM   #16
TSR
Hoist the colours!
 
TSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lincoln, England, UK
Posts: 2,777
Current Game: Rift
Forum Veteran LF Jester Helpful! 
.

do it.
TSR is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > SWBattlefront.net (SWBF I & II) > Star Wars Battlefront II > General Discussion > can you drive capital ships?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:46 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.