lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Modeling with Maya 7.0
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-04-2006, 12:32 AM   #1
Grimscythe
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: US
Posts: 25
Modeling with Maya 7.0

I recently bought Maya 7.0 because I've been interested in getting into modeling. I'm really at a loss at where to start though...if anyone can help me out or direct me to some decent tutorials I'd be very appreciative.

Thanks.
Grimscythe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2006, 06:49 AM   #2
Athanasios
Forumite
 
Athanasios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 561
There are plenty of tutorial and guides for maya and other 3d modelling programs. Just google it .

Here's what i found by simple "maya modelling - starting guide" googling, and seems pretty nice to start with: http://www.3dtotal.com/ffa/tutorials/tutorialsalias.asp

Although i have a friend that plays Maya in his fingers, never asked him what he started with. Ill ask him and reply back asap
Athanasios is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2006, 07:50 AM   #3
Grimscythe
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: US
Posts: 25
Heh, I failed at googling =/
Thanks though, the site looks pretty good.
Grimscythe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2006, 03:32 PM   #4
Athanasios
Forumite
 
Athanasios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 561
Grimscythe , i asked my friend i was talking about; Learningmaya.com is the site you're looking for
Athanasios is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2006, 04:00 PM   #5
Orao
Junior Member
 
Orao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 266
Be awere tough. You need export plugin for may in order to use your models with EAW.



EaW: Total Realism
mod....
TR mod team status: TR Advisor, programmer, map maker, Multimedia developer
Orao is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2006, 07:45 PM   #6
Grimscythe
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: US
Posts: 25
Wow, that's a lot...thanks Athanasios =)

@Orao - What's the export plugin?
Grimscythe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2006, 08:11 PM   #7
popcorn2008
Little Green Friend
 
popcorn2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 1,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimscythe
@Orao - What's the export plugin?
Basically the models that you do create are going to be in a format that is un-usable in the game. When the mod tools come out, modders will be able to put the models into the game via a plugin that will convert their models to ones that can work in Empire at War.


> Lucas Forums Moderator
> Petroglyph Forums Moderator
> Unofficial Petroglyph Fan Forums Global Moderator
popcorn2008 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2006, 10:39 PM   #8
magna mandaloe
Rookie
 
magna mandaloe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 168
Until then we have to antisipate Petroglyph's strange file movments. I bet though the same place that I got to edit .DAT files some mystical person can make a code based off of 3DS MAX which could be easy like with .TEDS. Thats it im forming a crack to on this subject!





*Changed cause I did'nt like old much*
magna mandaloe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Modding forum > Modeling with Maya 7.0

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:13 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.