lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Why does the computer want to lose?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-07-2006, 10:30 PM   #1
Lord Pickle
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 46
Why does the computer want to lose?

I got EaW the day it came out and I have been playing single player exclusively and a have to say the A.I. is pretty damn weak.

Why is it that in galactic conquest the computer will attack and conquer a system then sit back and stop?

It doesn't try to push deeper into my territory. All I need to do is to build up my forces and hit his weak planets. In the time that it takes the computer to try and take another planet I can usually take three or four of his. The A.I. seems incapable of attacking multiple planets in quick succession. So it becomes a case of building up my fleets and ground forces then pushing through the entire galaxy with only one major land and space fleet.

It’s even easier as the Empire if I set it to level 5 since as soon as I get the Death Star its basically impossible for the computer to destroy it in the 90 seconds before I can blow up the planet. Then I just go from planet to planet just annihilating any Rebel bases.

I even set the game to only level one but the same problem the A.I. seems content to take a planet then "rest" for a while. Plus as the Rebels the Imps seem hard pressed to stop my raid parties which usually consist of 3 airspeeders. Hopefully multiplayer doesn’t let me down.
Lord Pickle is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2006, 07:15 AM   #2
Athanasios
Forumite
 
Athanasios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 561
MP surely won't let you down

Now, the problems with AI you mention are already known (if you make a quick search you'll find plenty of threads about it). The main complaints/facts are that the AI will not attack planets with space station at Tech 3 and above and it willl make fleets consisted (only) from Tech 2 ships, meaning corvettes etc.

Since we have not access to LUA scripts that describe the behaviour of AI, what we currently do is to find alternative ways to make it be more aggressive, cheat more and make bigger fleets. EaW:TR will hopefully offer a more challenging AI in v2.1.



EaW: Total Realism
mod....
TR mod team status: TR Leader, programmer, map maker, Multimedia & Website developer & administrator, Public Relations manager
Athanasios is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2006, 02:45 PM   #3
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
I don't know if those are really 'facts,' Athanasios, the computer keeps throwing fleets of Gunships and Assault Frigates at my level 3 stations...


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2006, 04:58 PM   #4
Det. Bart Lasiter
obama.png
 
Det. Bart Lasiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: `(•.°)~
Posts: 7,997
Current Game: all
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
^^^^
The A.I is somewhat unpredictable in terms of how many units it sends.



"No, Mama. You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty whoever put that hit on you already got the cops in their back pocket." ~Black Dynamite
Det. Bart Lasiter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2006, 07:50 PM   #5
Ali1392
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 205
mine has the same problem ecept recently its been sending raiding fleets which is prtty good
Ali1392 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2006, 08:58 PM   #6
Jeff
Rating: Awesome
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 8,431
Current Game: SWTOR
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Notable contributor LFN Staff Member 
I just got the game today and my first impressions of the AI are not very good. I at first had it set on medium because I didn't know how hard it would be, and I easily beat the computer in the rebel campaign's first few levels. But it's still fun I think


Follow me on Twitter
Follow StarWarsMMO.net on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
Jeff is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Galactic Discussion > Why does the computer want to lose?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:28 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.