lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: model-specific animations
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-26-2005, 07:33 AM   #1
Jufa
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 72
model-specific animations

I don't know how but somehow I understood that with OJP you can make playermodel specific gla-files (animations).
Is that true or was I dreaming or what? O.o
Jufa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-26-2005, 02:20 PM   #2
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
It's not something we've done. Not sure why you would think that. I suppose you could emulate such behavior by storing all the animations in the _humanoid.gla and then only play them on specific models.

However, trying to do model specific animations with preexisting, basejka playermodels and external files is basically impossible.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-27-2005, 03:16 AM   #3
Jufa
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 72
yea i don't know how i got such an idea :/
but anyway, thnx for the answer.
Jufa is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-23-2006, 09:31 PM   #4
Grey Raven
Rookie
 
Grey Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: nope.
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by razorace
It's not something we've done. Not sure why you would think that. I suppose you could emulate such behavior by storing all the animations in the _humanoid.gla and then only play them on specific models.

However, trying to do model specific animations with preexisting, basejka playermodels and external files is basically impossible.

Not trying to undermine anyone, but why would it be impossible? There are multiple .gla files used by basejka for various models.

<Suggestion> If you wanted custom animation files for each character, you could set up a typedef struct that would contain flag variables (similar to classes). Name them something like MODEL_JAN, MODEL_KYLE, MODEL_DESANN, etc. Then set the code to assign the proper flag to each player model. Then, you can simply specify which of your custom .gla's would load when that model is selected.

<Problem>I'm not quite sure of this, but though my suggestion could work, why would you want to use custom .gla's? Having multiple .gla's loaded at one time would be difficult for the server to keep track of, and for 32 player games, where each player is using a different .gla, the server might even crash.

<Suggestion#2>Just go into bg_saber.c and modify the SetSaberMove() function to include an extra int input that would represent the player model's class flag (you know, MODEL_KYLE, etc.) and use this flag inside SetSaberMove() to determine which of your new anims (that you merged into _humanoid.gla with Glamerge) get stored in the torso animation's variable, I believe it's something like saber.torsoAnim, but I could be off. Anyway, this would considerably take a load off the server-side, and reduce the needed client-server commmunication (which is a good thing). It would put more load on the client side, but the affect would be negligable.
Grey Raven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2006, 12:29 AM   #5
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
Simply put, you can't have more than one .gla file running per model. All that stuff is handled in the engine code and we are lacking the syscall that allows multiple glas per model to work.

That's why I mentioned the merged humanoid.gla. However, that would be a pretty big hassle and not something that is truely per-model based.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2006, 06:04 AM   #6
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
The only reason you'd really want seperate anims is for Map Specific NPCs. (I like to call them Ambient NPCs)

Which is possible. You compile your anims that you want, and hex edit an existing model to point to them. The model references the gla in a simple ascii string within the glm.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2006, 11:29 AM   #7
Vruki Salet
Junior Member
 
Vruki Salet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Somewhere else entirely
Posts: 443
Keshire, is that only available for single player games? I tried it with the dancing leia someone put up for an example once, following all the instructions, and it didn't work. I was using MP.
Vruki Salet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-10-2006, 09:30 PM   #8
Grey Raven
Rookie
 
Grey Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: nope.
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by razorace
Simply put, you can't have more than one .gla file running per model. All that stuff is handled in the engine code and we are lacking the syscall that allows multiple glas per model to work.

That's why I mentioned the merged humanoid.gla. However, that would be a pretty big hassle and not something that is truely per-model based.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but the MP source allows for multiple .glas to run at once. It can load _humanoid, and any of the already model-specific "model.gla"s that it uses to animate the skeletons for the rancor, rockettrooper, saber-droid etc., all of which can be loaded into a single JKA/Quake3 scene. Why would engine access be required for .gla loading anyway? Worst-case scenario, you use a trap_ function, which aren't too difficult to figure out.


TK421 - So, why does Lord Vader breathe like that?
TK476 - What do you mean?
TK421 - You know, that koooopaahhh stuff.
TK476 - Oh, that.
TK421 - Well...?
TK476 - Well, what I heard is unverified, but...
TK421 - Yeah?!
TK476 - Well, I heard he gets free porn streamed to those goggles. You know, koooopaahhh...
TK421 - Dude...It's good to be the king!
TK476 - Right on, bro.
Grey Raven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-11-2006, 12:41 AM   #9
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,176
The needed trap_ for switch between glas for a given model is missing in MP.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-11-2006, 01:00 AM   #10
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Yep. So what a model is compiled to point to is all you get. You can't dynamically switch gla's.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-11-2006, 02:16 AM   #11
Greiver
Rookie
 
Greiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: the dark place in your mind
Posts: 41
so its a nogo on have a truly lefthanded saberist cause that would of been way cool oh well


quote
"Though steel thy flesh divide"
Greiver is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-11-2006, 02:26 AM   #12
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greiver
so its a nogo on have a truly lefthanded saberist cause that would of been way cool oh well
Not true. You can merge new anims into the main _humandoid.gla.

If you then want it model specific your going to need to define it codewise.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-11-2006, 03:44 PM   #13
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
you will also have to change the bolt of where saber is to be the left hand bolt instead of right for a lefthanded saberist.


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-11-2006, 06:31 PM   #14
Grey Raven
Rookie
 
Grey Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: nope.
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by razorace
The needed trap_ for switch between glas for a given model is missing in MP.
That sucks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by keshire
Yep. So what a model is compiled to point to is all you get. You can't dynamically switch gla's.
So does that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by keshire
If you then want it model specific your going to need to define it codewise.
Also not true. I don't have anything like 3DsMax, so I use Dragon, and it grants the ability to move the tag to which the saber is attached to any position in space (within a certain proximity of the player). All one would have to do is go into it and make custom animations, switching the left- and right-hand tags (actually they're bones, I'm just calling them "tags" because of all this talk about sabers). This would probably be the easiest way to accomplish something of that nature anyway, as changing the code to handle a left-handed saberist would still require custom "left-handed" animations.

BTW: Thanks to its creators for the Dragon utility. Aside from GTKRadiant, it's the single greatest tool for editing JKA.


TK421 - So, why does Lord Vader breathe like that?
TK476 - What do you mean?
TK421 - You know, that koooopaahhh stuff.
TK476 - Oh, that.
TK421 - Well...?
TK476 - Well, what I heard is unverified, but...
TK421 - Yeah?!
TK476 - Well, I heard he gets free porn streamed to those goggles. You know, koooopaahhh...
TK421 - Dude...It's good to be the king!
TK476 - Right on, bro.
Grey Raven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-12-2006, 03:35 AM   #15
Vruki Salet
Junior Member
 
Vruki Salet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Somewhere else entirely
Posts: 443
Gray Raven, have you managed to make anything you like in Dragon so far?
Vruki Salet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-12-2006, 08:10 PM   #16
Grey Raven
Rookie
 
Grey Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: nope.
Posts: 46
Sure have. I've been working on some custom saber animations (new stances, attacks, blocks, parries, the works). Slow going right now, though. The calculus required for my computer science degree is kicking me in the rumpus.

Oh, and Razorace: void trap_G2_GLAGetName(). Found it, and it does really suckaroo .


TK421 - So, why does Lord Vader breathe like that?
TK476 - What do you mean?
TK421 - You know, that koooopaahhh stuff.
TK476 - Oh, that.
TK421 - Well...?
TK476 - Well, what I heard is unverified, but...
TK421 - Yeah?!
TK476 - Well, I heard he gets free porn streamed to those goggles. You know, koooopaahhh...
TK421 - Dude...It's good to be the king!
TK476 - Right on, bro.
Grey Raven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-12-2006, 10:46 PM   #17
Vruki Salet
Junior Member
 
Vruki Salet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Somewhere else entirely
Posts: 443
Cool. Mind talking about the mod you're doing?
Vruki Salet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-13-2006, 02:37 AM   #18
keshire
Veteran
 
keshire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St. Charles, Mo
Posts: 959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grey Raven
Also not true. I don't have anything like 3DsMax, so I use Dragon, and it grants the ability to move the tag to which the saber is attached to any position in space (within a certain proximity of the player).
Thats not what I meant by model specific.


Apathy Cannot Inspire.
Ambivalence cannot lead.
Loved me. Feared me.
Changed me. Killed me.
Anything would be something.
But nothing is worst of all.
-Keshire of the Bleak Cabal.
keshire is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-13-2006, 09:26 PM   #19
Grey Raven
Rookie
 
Grey Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: nope.
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by keshire
Thats not what I meant by model specific.
I'm sorry, keshire. I meant no disrespect.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vruki Salet
Cool. Mind talking about the mod you're doing?
Why not. I wanted to adjust the saber system into a more Soul Caliber 2 type feel, with a block-and-counter system. It's very slow work for me, as I'm making all new custom saber anims, and I'm the farthest thing from an animator that there is. But once I get that out of the way, I plan on completely revamping the force power system. The base JKA powers aren't too terribly bad, but the implentation is horrid. With both the saber system and the force powers I want to get away from the "hold the attack button and run around" gameplay that seems to have carried over from Quake3. I want the Jedi to be precise, and leave the "run and gun" to the blaster-toters.

The basic sort of idea for my force power system can be found in this thread.


TK421 - So, why does Lord Vader breathe like that?
TK476 - What do you mean?
TK421 - You know, that koooopaahhh stuff.
TK476 - Oh, that.
TK421 - Well...?
TK476 - Well, what I heard is unverified, but...
TK421 - Yeah?!
TK476 - Well, I heard he gets free porn streamed to those goggles. You know, koooopaahhh...
TK421 - Dude...It's good to be the king!
TK476 - Right on, bro.
Grey Raven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-14-2006, 12:38 AM   #20
JRHockney*
Moderator
 
JRHockney*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,255
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Why not. I wanted to adjust the saber system into a more Soul Caliber 2 type feel, with a block-and-counter system. It's very slow work for me, as I'm making all new custom saber anims, and I'm the farthest thing from an animator that there is. But once I get that out of the way, I plan on completely revamping the force power system. The base JKA powers aren't too terribly bad, but the implentation is horrid. With both the saber system and the force powers I want to get away from the "hold the attack button and run around" gameplay that seems to have carried over from Quake3. I want the Jedi to be precise, and leave the "run and gun" to the blaster-toters.
Cool, I look forward to seeing your work. I hope you like what we've done with the Enhanced saber system. I haven't played Soul Caliber 2, but I'm sure its sword combat is a million times better than base jka's.


Game screen name: Master Jon Hoc Ni

UDM Quote: in singapore, gangsters are...skinny jacka**es who think they can 0wn you. they hurl insults at u, and then lose in a fight. n00bs
JRHockney* is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-17-2006, 07:36 PM   #21
Grey Raven
Rookie
 
Grey Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: nope.
Posts: 46
It's much better, and much more complex. And thanks for the support; I'll get the mod out there as soon as I can.

As far as Enhanced's saber system; well, it's definitely a HUGE improvement on BaseJKA's system, but I'm afraid that I suck at using it. I keep getting the snot beat out of me by the TABbots!


TK421 - So, why does Lord Vader breathe like that?
TK476 - What do you mean?
TK421 - You know, that koooopaahhh stuff.
TK476 - Oh, that.
TK421 - Well...?
TK476 - Well, what I heard is unverified, but...
TK421 - Yeah?!
TK476 - Well, I heard he gets free porn streamed to those goggles. You know, koooopaahhh...
TK421 - Dude...It's good to be the king!
TK476 - Right on, bro.
Grey Raven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-17-2006, 11:01 PM   #22
JRHockney*
Moderator
 
JRHockney*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,255
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grey Raven
It's much better, and much more complex. And thanks for the support; I'll get the mod out there as soon as I can.

As far as Enhanced's saber system; well, it's definitely a HUGE improvement on BaseJKA's system, but I'm afraid that I suck at using it. I keep getting the snot beat out of me by the TABbots!
LOL, don't even try to fight the staff bots, they are very overpowered in 0.0.9. The single saber bots really aren't that hard once you get the hang of the system. It's all about comboing and knowing when to parry. If worse comes to worse, parry them and kick them while their slowbouncing and hit them on the ground.

Also remember to watch when they do a heavier slow bounce because that means they are low on dp. When this happens, you can hit their saber and mishap them ( if you can hit it in time), blast them with force power, or try and hit them with an attack fake and hope they have low enough DP to get mishaped. If you have no idea what I'm saying here, read the manual.


Game screen name: Master Jon Hoc Ni

UDM Quote: in singapore, gangsters are...skinny jacka**es who think they can 0wn you. they hurl insults at u, and then lose in a fight. n00bs
JRHockney* is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Hosted Forums > Open Jedi Project (OJP) > model-specific animations

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:24 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.