lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: EAW MAP EDITOR is Released!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Sorry, this thread is closed. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-15-2006, 06:04 PM   #1
SAGEKING-PG
LFN Staff Emeritus
 
SAGEKING-PG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 44
EAW MAP EDITOR is Released!

MAP EDITOR IS RELEASED

www.petroglyphgames.com

Stay tuned to our upcoming Petroglyph Map Contest!

w00t pls.


SAGEKING-PG
Community Manager | Petroglyph
sageking@petroglyphgames.com

Last edited by SAGEKING-PG; 05-15-2006 at 06:40 PM.
SAGEKING-PG is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 06:05 PM   #2
Det. Bart Lasiter
obama.png
 
Det. Bart Lasiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: `(.)~
Posts: 7,997
Current Game: all
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAGEKING-PG
MAP EDITOR IS RELEASED
www.petroglyphgames.com

w00t pls.
w00t!

Do you have an idea of when a model importer/exporter will be released?



"No, Mama. You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty whoever put that hit on you already got the cops in their back pocket." ~Black Dynamite
Det. Bart Lasiter is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 06:12 PM   #3
popcorn2008
Little Green Friend
 
popcorn2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 1,239
Excellent. I am glad to see the map editor is finally released... now I can finally make the maps of my dreams!


> Lucas Forums Moderator
> Petroglyph Forums Moderator
> Unofficial Petroglyph Fan Forums Global Moderator
popcorn2008 is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 06:15 PM   #4
SAGEKING-PG
LFN Staff Emeritus
 
SAGEKING-PG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmac7142
w00t!

Do you have an idea of when a model importer/exporter will be released?
hehe you haven't opened it yet have you?


SAGEKING-PG
Community Manager | Petroglyph
sageking@petroglyphgames.com
SAGEKING-PG is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 06:18 PM   #5
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,510
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Am I the only one who loathes fileplanet? Why does no one use FileFront? By the time I wait in line and download it from FilePlanet, someone will have uploaded it to FileFront and I'll have downloaded it from there.
swphreak is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 06:23 PM   #6
Killer_Man
Rookie
 
Killer_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 27
Now i have 30 mins of line... -_- can anyone upload the map editor in another site???

Last edited by Killer_Man; 05-15-2006 at 06:31 PM. Reason: MAP EDITOR NOT PATCH :P
Killer_Man is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 06:28 PM   #7
Jeff
Rating: Awesome
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 8,427
Current Game: SWTOR
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Notable contributor LFN Staff Member 
Hopefully Lucasfiles will have it soon...

Great news! This is what I've been waiting for


Follow me on Twitter
Follow StarWarsMMO.net on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
Jeff is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 06:36 PM   #8
Lord hobo
Rookie
 
Lord hobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 67
thanks the community needed this, and i hope that lucasfiles get it soon i havent got time to dl it off flieplanet
to expand on what sageking said
The STAR WARS: EMPIRE AT WAR map editor is now available for download. The editor gives you the ability to create land and space skirmish maps. It also includes a 3D Studio Max plug-in allowing you to bring models into the editor that you've created. Patch 1.04 is required in order to play custom maps created by the editor. Please note that the editor is not supported and is only available in English.
Lord hobo is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 06:38 PM   #9
Commander Obi-Wan
Gold Standard
 
Commander Obi-Wan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,363
Current Game: BioShock 2
Forum Veteran 
Nice, it'll be very interesting....


Commander Obi-Wan is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 06:42 PM   #10
star.destroyer
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Manchestar, UK
Posts: 17
230/293 this is a joke... why fileplannet. when i get there it will be 1kbs... any mirrors please?
star.destroyer is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 06:43 PM   #11
Lord hobo
Rookie
 
Lord hobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 67
give it a while, im waiting till lucasfiles gets it mirror
Lord hobo is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 06:44 PM   #12
Darth_Extas
Junior Member
 
Darth_Extas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: On the Eclipse destroying anything in my way
Posts: 497
Complements on the timing, I had just installed, the patch , all I have to do is wait for the tools to be ready for dling , good job so far!



Sig made by Princess Lyla

http://gh.ffshrine.org?r=20872

The Sith will always be around as long as there is hate in the Galaxy.

Dark Hands of the Empire(Clan Member)
Darth_Extas is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 06:46 PM   #13
popcorn2008
Little Green Friend
 
popcorn2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 1,239
Thanks to AdmiralGT over at the PFF his site now has the map editor without the lines!

Get it here: http://www.petrolution.net/downloads.php


> Lucas Forums Moderator
> Petroglyph Forums Moderator
> Unofficial Petroglyph Fan Forums Global Moderator
popcorn2008 is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 06:48 PM   #14
star.destroyer
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Manchestar, UK
Posts: 17
Lucasfiles don't have the patch yet...

If this aint up by Lucasfiles when I have downloaded it, I will upload it to RadipShare or any other prefered download site?
star.destroyer is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 06:55 PM   #15
Lord hobo
Rookie
 
Lord hobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by popcorn2008
Thanks to AdmiralGT over at the PFF his site now has the map editor without the lines!

Get it here: http://www.petrolution.net/downloads.php
dude thats great i just installed it
Lord hobo is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 07:10 PM   #16
Jeff
Rating: Awesome
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 8,427
Current Game: SWTOR
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Notable contributor LFN Staff Member 
Awesome, thanks for the heads up Pop I didn't even bother trying to download from fileplanet...


Follow me on Twitter
Follow StarWarsMMO.net on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
Jeff is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 07:57 PM   #17
darthcarth
Junior Member
 
darthcarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the USD Imperium
Posts: 265
Just to let ever one know this does contain mod tools in it.


EmpireFTW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
darthcarth is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 08:14 PM   #18
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,510
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
I wish the map editor walkthrough explained the space map stuff. Or is the new space map option borked? I was hoping the editor was going to be noob friendly a la Galactica Battlegrounds.
swphreak is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 08:16 PM   #19
darthcarth
Junior Member
 
darthcarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the USD Imperium
Posts: 265
I know what u mean lol.


EmpireFTW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
darthcarth is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 08:27 PM   #20
Darth_Torpid-PG
Rookie
 
Darth_Torpid-PG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 233
Hehe yep, the editor is not exactly "n00b" friendly, although space maps are fairly simple. While there is no OFFICIAL support for the mod tools/editor, I will answer questions in the mod forum as time permits.


-Darth Torpid
-Game Designer
-Petroglyph
Darth_Torpid-PG is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 08:36 PM   #21
Xoriss
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Post

Just a quick question if you don't mind, Torpid...or Sage...or anyone involved in the map editor really. I just started working on a Talus map that I've been wanting to make for EAW for a while now...I was wondering, is it possible to use the maps you make in the map editor for Galactic Conquest? Thanks for any answer...
Oh and I also figured this editor out pretty well, it's not too hard IMO...although I've already crashed out once using the fill bucket. :P

-Xoriss
Xoriss is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 08:48 PM   #22
jonesyjonez
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth_Torpid-PG
Hehe yep, the editor is not exactly "n00b" friendly, although space maps are fairly simple. While there is no OFFICIAL support for the mod tools/editor, I will answer questions in the mod forum as time permits.
Any plans to add compatibility for the alamo exporter for other version of 3ds max? (7, 7.01, 8), or any other 3d modeling programs (maya, blender, lightwave, etc).

thanks and a big thank you for the tools.


jonesyjonez is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 08:50 PM   #23
Darth_Torpid-PG
Rookie
 
Darth_Torpid-PG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xoriss
Just a quick question if you don't mind, Torpid...or Sage...or anyone involved in the map editor really. I just started working on a Talus map that I've been wanting to make for EAW for a while now...I was wondering, is it possible to use the maps you make in the map editor for Galactic Conquest? Thanks for any answer...
Oh and I also figured this editor out pretty well, it's not too hard IMO...although I've already crashed out once using the fill bucket. :P

-Xoriss
Yes it is. You need to edit some XML to do this, however.

First you will need to open Planets.XML and add a new planet entry for the planet you want. There are XML tags for the land and space maps - fill those in with the map names you are making. When you make your maps, make sure to follow the solo-play/sandbox instructions.

Once you have that, either make a new campaign file or edit one of the existing ones and add your planet to the campaign's planet list. Your planet and maps should appear in the campaign when you run it. For more details, I'm sure you can visit the modding forums here.


-Darth Torpid
-Game Designer
-Petroglyph
Darth_Torpid-PG is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 08:54 PM   #24
Det. Bart Lasiter
obama.png
 
Det. Bart Lasiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: `(.)~
Posts: 7,997
Current Game: all
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAGEKING-PG
hehe you haven't opened it yet have you?
Hehe, no, at the time I hadn't even downloaded it



"No, Mama. You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty whoever put that hit on you already got the cops in their back pocket." ~Black Dynamite
Det. Bart Lasiter is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 08:55 PM   #25
Darth_Torpid-PG
Rookie
 
Darth_Torpid-PG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonesyjonez
Any plans to add compatibility for the alamo exporter for other version of 3ds max? (7, 7.01, 8), or any other 3d modeling programs (maya, blender, lightwave, etc).

thanks and a big thank you for the tools.
You're welcome! I expect to see great things from the modding community

I doubt we will be doing any plugins for anything other than Max since that is the only modeling software we use at Petroglyph, at least currently. I'm not sure about the later versions; I will ask, but I expect there was a reason for the particular version compatibility.


-Darth Torpid
-Game Designer
-Petroglyph
Darth_Torpid-PG is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 09:07 PM   #26
Xoriss
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks for your response, Torpid. Heh, I'm only now just finding the Single Player section of the guide, should've looked a little more carefully.

Anyway, thanks for the tools, I'll have shots up of my Talus project....eh...sometime soon.


-Xoriss
Xoriss is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 09:08 PM   #27
fortune faded13
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 78
wait....the mod tools are in this too?

wow. thats frikin awesome. now here comes the good stuff....
fortune faded13 is offline   you may:
Old 05-15-2006, 09:25 PM   #28
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
NEBULA_FRIGGIN_HUGE

*chuckles uncontrollably*

I jsut had a grand old time going through the editor and finding neat things that weren't in the game maps. That incomplete AT-AT could make for some fun new story campaign material...


wedge2211 is offline   you may:
Old 05-16-2006, 12:58 AM   #29
augrunt
Rookie
 
augrunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 192
Mirror

www.ultimate-eaw.com Found in the Downloads section...


augrunt is offline   you may:
Old 05-16-2006, 02:05 AM   #30
Darth Raptornus
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
I don't like it at all.
The reason I left EAW installed is because I thought I would now be able to create nice new galactic maps without a headache from that one letter I forgot.
But unfortunatly that won't be possible. Sorry, but EAW will now leave the harddrive, good riddance, and I'm still sorry I wasted my money on 2 days of fun.
Darth Raptornus is offline   you may:
Old 05-16-2006, 02:55 AM   #31
Michael Plant
Rookie
 
Michael Plant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: England
Posts: 44
Question Help

I just downloaded the map maker, and it said it needed binkw32.dll. After downloading it, it now says "The procedure entry point _BinkDX9SurfaceType@4 could not be located in the dynamic library binkw32.dll." Does anyone know how to fix it?


*Michael*
spoiler:
Hello!

Last edited by Michael Plant; 05-16-2006 at 02:56 AM. Reason: Extra information
Michael Plant is offline   you may:
Old 05-16-2006, 03:34 AM   #32
Foshjedi2004
Junior Member
 
Foshjedi2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buckinghamshire, England
Posts: 478
Michael I have the exact same error....Best thing to do is reinstall EAW. Editor and patch1.04



My Personal Opinions are not Endorsed by Any Websites, persons or places.
Check out my Gallery
[/color]
Foshjedi2004 is offline   you may:
Old 05-16-2006, 03:34 AM   #33
Linky Triforce
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Around
Posts: 32
yeah, I got the same. I then tried gooling for that missing and found something but that didn't work either.
Linky Triforce is offline   you may:
Old 05-16-2006, 04:12 AM   #34
DarthMaulUK
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Being on dial up I cant create any mirrors at all atm. Lucasfiles should get it 'at some point'.

Lets please keep any map tool questions in the Mod forum

DMUK
  you may:
Post a new thread. Sorry, this thread is closed. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Galactic Discussion > EAW MAP EDITOR is Released!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:03 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.