lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: SSD too weak?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-13-2006, 04:18 PM   #1
GhOsT-Jedi
Rookie
 
GhOsT-Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Past the outer rims of the universe training my sith armies.
Posts: 159
SSD too weak?

When I was watching the videos, I noticed that the SSD(Exacuter) gets taken down very fast. Is this just for those demos? Or are you doing this to balance it out?

And, a question about the Eclipse. Can other ships attack it? All the videos I've seen it in, just don't seem to want to attack it, is it because they can't? Or just choose not too?






GhOsT-Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2006, 04:23 PM   #2
Commander Obi-Wan
Gold Standard
 
Commander Obi-Wan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,363
Current Game: BioShock 2
Forum Veteran 
Maybe b/c there was liek another thousand ship firing at it all at onece.....also there probably still working one it....


Commander Obi-Wan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2006, 04:34 PM   #3
Athanasios
Forumite
 
Athanasios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 561
Eclipse might be a "back-round" unit, just like DSII.

As for Executor, it's obviously made with low health so you can watch how spectacularly it's destroyed. But even if the final values seem to you "low", it's a matter of an xml value tweaking.

However, what im worried is about the maneuverability of those SS classes....simple, they jump in the map and cant do nothing, just firing (since they're covering 70% of map).......and if it jumps with all the hardpoints looking on the other side of where the enemy is placed.......



EaW: Total Realism
mod....
TR mod team status: TR Leader, programmer, map maker, Multimedia & Website developer & administrator, Public Relations manager
Athanasios is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2006, 05:20 PM   #4
Ali1392
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 205
there goin to hae to put it on a very much lower plane but there in space so lenty of room unless theres all those asteroids again
Ali1392 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2006, 06:22 PM   #5
Wildcat'
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 108
As was said above. IT was already damaged when the pirates entered tactical combat mode. I think I saw all the hardpoints start off at yellow and it's because they want to show the animation sequence of it being destroyed. I'm sure it'll be stronger than it is in the video, if not, there's always XML.



Wildcat' is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-13-2006, 08:13 PM   #6
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
Darth-torpid stated pretty clearly in a post the other day that all the units shown in the videos are tweaked in some way for demonstration purposes. Yoda won't be nearly as overpowered in the final game, and it stands to reason that the SSD will be a lot tougher. It's just that the battle would drag out forever if it wasn't softened up a little first. Imagine the devs commenting on the action on the screen: "Here we see the SSD exploding. Wait for it... wait for it...wait for it... wait for it..." You get the picture.


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-14-2006, 12:54 AM   #7
fortune faded13
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 78
im pretty sure i saw the Eclipse firing while there were some fighters around. so i dont think its a backround unit like the DSII. someone has to stop that maonster. and it didnt say anything about a special unit like Luke that can only destroy the Eclipse.
fortune faded13 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-14-2006, 03:05 AM   #8
alecsuba
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34
was stated on pff that the SSD was greatly weakened with most hardpoints removed for the sake of the demo. Demos have limited time to show alot so the SSD had to die fast to move onto more to show
alecsuba is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2006, 02:14 AM   #9
magna mandaloe
Rookie
 
magna mandaloe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 168
well It would make sense for Luke to Destroy Ecilpse super Star Destroyer because he destroys it in the books/ Comics





*Changed cause I did'nt like old much*
magna mandaloe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2006, 01:55 PM   #10
Darth_Torpid-PG
Rookie
 
Darth_Torpid-PG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 233
Everyone is correct - the units were enhanced (or de-enhanced) for the demo, and none of them reflect the true power levels they will have in the final game. Also, the Executor is fully mobile, though it is slow and ponderous. It is slightly slower than an Imperial SD right now, but that is subject to change.


-Darth Torpid
-Game Designer
-Petroglyph
Darth_Torpid-PG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2006, 03:26 PM   #11
_x_Darth-Max_x_
Rookie
 
_x_Darth-Max_x_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 74
Hey Darth-Torpid Could u give us some info about the Eclipse being a Background unit ?
_x_Darth-Max_x_ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2006, 03:27 PM   #12
Master Nikolaos
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Actually, I saw in the video demo that the Executor had all it's harpoints reduced by helf their health judging from their color and when the mouse pointer on hte demo was on top of the empire ships.

I'm sure EX. will be much more durable on hte final game.
Master Nikolaos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2006, 04:49 PM   #13
TronusNavigon
Rookie
 
TronusNavigon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 57
I just hope space maps are noticably larger. These space maps seem so clustered and small that it almost becomes clausterphobic.

I mean, who in the hell has really ever built a scout to actually scout? For what?

If the odds of anyone guessing where the enemy base is were as good as odds in Vegas... we'd be hiring developers to design our mods for us.

Big space makes for serious battles!


http://www.techwarrior.co.uk/?ac=vid&vid=37025743
TronusNavigon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2006, 07:24 PM   #14
Crezzer Fett
Rookie
 
Crezzer Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Edinburgh UK
Posts: 71
It could be weak for it size. After all it sits and does nothing, just intimidates the Rebels by its sheer lengh and numbers. Then of course it can be taken out with one brave A-Wing
Crezzer Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2006, 08:52 PM   #15
GhOsT-Jedi
Rookie
 
GhOsT-Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Past the outer rims of the universe training my sith armies.
Posts: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crezzer Fett
It could be weak for it size. After all it sits and does nothing, just intimidates the Rebels by its sheer lengh and numbers. Then of course it can be taken out with one brave A-Wing

I'm sorry, but did you just call the Super Star Destroyer WEAK!? I've only watched movies, but I believe it's not considered weak from what I hear other people talking about it...






GhOsT-Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-15-2006, 09:11 PM   #16
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crezzer Fett
It could be weak for it size. After all it sits and does nothing, just intimidates the Rebels by its sheer lengh and numbers. Then of course it can be taken out with one brave A-Wing
Brave? He was out of control and screaming! And he never would have taken out the Executor command and control without the rest of the Rebel fleet concentrating their full firepower on the Executor's shields to bring them down.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-16-2006, 12:20 PM   #17
thon77
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 30
i was watching the E3 video, and it looks like the Executor has 3 or 4 shield hardpoints along the long axis.

edit - it's 4 shield generator hardpoints from what i can see.

Last edited by thon77; 05-16-2006 at 05:21 PM.
thon77 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-17-2006, 03:35 PM   #18
Darth Alec
Forumite
 
Darth Alec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Searching for the Death Star blueprints....
Posts: 591
Don't diss the SSD... It will probably only be matched by the Eclipse and B-wings.


I am a High Admiral of the Imperial fleet.

Serving the Empire is my destiny, and only Sidious is my lord.

Two starwars parodys...

Starwars gangsta rap

Robot chicken
Darth Alec is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-17-2006, 03:56 PM   #19
_x_Darth-Max_x_
Rookie
 
_x_Darth-Max_x_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 74
Im still thinking about the fact that the Eclipse could wipe out the SSD with one shot.. If so .. Its really unbalanced.

Anyways what do u guys think of the eclipse? Should it be a backround unit or also one that goes into the action?

A idea : Make the eclipse laser beam a One use weapon .. Or make the hardpoint very vulnerable after the shields are down ( the Eclipse Laser hardpoint i mean ) Give it as much lasers as the executor.. Although make it Slower and don't give the lasers as much ''firepower'' as the the executor has. That would balance it out and a idea for making the Eclipse a Non-background unit
_x_Darth-Max_x_ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-17-2006, 04:25 PM   #20
GhOsT-Jedi
Rookie
 
GhOsT-Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Past the outer rims of the universe training my sith armies.
Posts: 159
Too be honest, I hate "balance" I would rather have the rebels WORK for it, than have a single unit be able to "counter" it...






GhOsT-Jedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-17-2006, 05:00 PM   #21
_x_Darth-Max_x_
Rookie
 
_x_Darth-Max_x_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 74
Yes.. it works out that the rebels need Some big cap ships to take out the SSD , but im talking about the Eclipse
_x_Darth-Max_x_ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-17-2006, 05:40 PM   #22
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
I prefer the idea of the Eclipse being a "background" unit. The new SSD should be allowed to have the spotlight all to itself as the new supersized unit rather than becoming second to the Eclipse. Furthermore, the number of hardpoints on the Eclipse would simply be staggering. Two enormous units is one too many.

Also, if you look at the videos/screenshots it does look like the Eclipse is in fact in the background. It has a smoothness to it, graphics-wise, that doesn't look like any of the foreground ships. Also, I don't recall seeing it "lighting up" like other units do when the mouse cursor passes over it. And third, when its superlaser fires it looks as though the beam angles upwards, like it would if the Eclipse was in the background (below) the action, firing up.


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Forces of Corruption > SSD too weak?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:41 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.