lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Eclipse ?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-02-2006, 09:11 PM   #1
Ocelot
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Eclipse ?

Will it be unit that can built? And can it fire its superlaser at crap?
I already know the Deathstar 2 and its superlaser will be thier(their?).
Ocelot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-02-2006, 09:47 PM   #2
Yadiel
Rookie
 
Yadiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 60
there

and well I guess that the superlaser will have a great delay, and that will be an ability like concentrate fire from the Home One (i hope for the delay to be at least twice that of concentrate fire) ...any way Home One will sure be the first to die in a player against player with the Eclipse if it can be used in GC or skirmish
Yadiel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2006, 10:28 AM   #3
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
I hereby reiterate my theory that the Eclipse will be a background unit (like the Death Star) that will not enter combat but rather fire its superlaser at certain intervals.

Other opinions, anyone?


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2006, 11:17 AM   #4
mattwild
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 80
Could end up being a space-faring hypervelocity cannon.


mattwild is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2006, 01:48 PM   #5
Darth Andrew
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Indiana, U.S.A
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Anarch
I hereby reiterate my theory that the Eclipse will be a background unit (like the Death Star) that will not enter combat but rather fire its superlaser at certain intervals.

Other opinions, anyone?
I second your thought, good Darth Anarch! Care to join me in tea and crumpits?

Anyway, I agree. In all the videos so far, it looks out of the battle, and has a button on the command bar to fire it's super laser exactly like the Death Star. Plus, it's so large that it wouldn't be able to move effectively under the player's commands. However, not all info has been released yet, so it just might be an actual unit.
Darth Andrew is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-03-2006, 02:02 PM   #6
Darth Alec
Forumite
 
Darth Alec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Searching for the Death Star blueprints....
Posts: 591
It's way to big to by a real unit. Even the executor seems a little to big.


I am a High Admiral of the Imperial fleet.

Serving the Empire is my destiny, and only Sidious is my lord.

Two starwars parodys...

Starwars gangsta rap

Robot chicken
Darth Alec is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2006, 09:38 AM   #7
Marsman2020
Rookie
 
Marsman2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 21
I really hope it is an actual unit. Come on, tons of turbolasers!


War is a series of catastrophes that results in a victory.
Georges Clemenceau
Marsman2020 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2006, 11:02 AM   #8
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
Relax, there will be tons and tons of turbolasers on the Executor.


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2006, 04:57 PM   #9
The Death Star
Rookie
 
The Death Star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 64
My Analysis of The Eclipse. Screenshot from the OFFICIAL trailer.






Heres a Direct Link.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...seanalysis.jpg
The Death Star is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2006, 09:57 PM   #10
Yadiel
Rookie
 
Yadiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 60
...yep =( it seems like it will be in the background to me, look how the star destroyer is over the eclipse, that can't be done with actual units, cause we dont have z axis.

It will lock weird to see an asteroid field over the eclipse in the middle of the battle X_x hahahah

=( i really wanted to have those to SSD in battle as actual units =(
Yadiel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2006, 10:07 PM   #11
Yadiel
Rookie
 
Yadiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 60
...forget my commentary, i just saw the E3 video again, and the ISD can do exactly the same with the executor, i mean to be over them, and the executor dont apper as a gigantic triangle in the radar screen o whatever that screen is called.

so it can still be an actual unit, who knows.
Yadiel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2006, 11:20 PM   #12
Admiral Sith
Junior Member
 
Admiral Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 375
Um yeah, the Z level is accessible in the XMLs. Put a Corvette over a Mon Cal one day and use C to look around.



"It may be that the old astrologers had the truth exactly reversed, when they believed that the stars controlled the destinies of men. The time may come when men control the destinies of stars." -Arthur C. Clarke

"Ideals are like stars: you will not succeed in touching them with your hands, but like the seafaring man on the ocean desert of waters, you choose them as your guides, and following them, you reach your destiny." -Carl Schurz
Admiral Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-05-2006, 02:46 PM   #13
jake123456
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 104
I hope that it is not going to be in the background, that will suck. But if it will be like the death star, then how would we be able to destroy it?
jake123456 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-05-2006, 03:41 PM   #14
Yadiel
Rookie
 
Yadiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 60
Lando XD hahaha or another hero like him.
I agree with u, I really hope its an actual unit with lots of hardpoints, I dont care if game is unbalanced XD, maybe we can omit that unit on multiplayer. This time i dont care of the consecuences of bringing that thing as an actual unit XD i just want to see it.

Maybe it can be the emperor space unit, and if u destroy it emp is done for, like the DS, that way u can use that great power, but at great risk.
Yadiel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-05-2006, 05:27 PM   #15
Admiral Raven
Rookie
 
Admiral Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 91
Except the empire isn't getting the Eclipse...


Admiral Raven is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-05-2006, 05:37 PM   #16
Admiral Sith
Junior Member
 
Admiral Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 375
You have to steal it from them, so i would say they would.



"It may be that the old astrologers had the truth exactly reversed, when they believed that the stars controlled the destinies of men. The time may come when men control the destinies of stars." -Arthur C. Clarke

"Ideals are like stars: you will not succeed in touching them with your hands, but like the seafaring man on the ocean desert of waters, you choose them as your guides, and following them, you reach your destiny." -Carl Schurz
Admiral Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-05-2006, 11:29 PM   #17
Yadiel
Rookie
 
Yadiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 60
well then maybe its tyber flag ship, to my point its the same, if u blow it u win.
=P
Yadiel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-06-2006, 08:29 AM   #18
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
Could be, could be... I wonder what you'd have to do to blow it, though.


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Forces of Corruption > Eclipse ?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:37 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.