lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Editing the number of fighters per squadron (Squadrons.XML)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-02-2006, 01:59 AM   #1
Pucho777
Rookie
 
Pucho777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Saint Augustine, FL
Posts: 68
Current Game: Star Wars: E.A.W./F.O.C., ...
Question Editing the number of fighters per squadron (Squadrons.XML)

Hi Guys.

I'd like to increase the number of fighters per squadron within the game.

As I understand, I would need to edit both the Squadrons.XML, and the SpaceUnitsFighters.XML files. Primarily the Squadrons.XML file.

I have attempted this and failed (game crash). I restored the original information and am ready to begin anew.

Here is the text for the B-wing within the Squadrons.XML file that I had assumed was primarily applicable:

<Squadron_Units>B-Wing, B-Wing, B-Wing</Squadron_Units>
<Squadron_Offsets>60.0,0.0,0.0</Squadron_Offsets>
<Squadron_Offsets>0.0,30.0,0.0</Squadron_Offsets>
<Squadron_Offsets>0.0,-30.0,0.0</Squadron_Offsets>


Please advise me on how I need to edit the information in order to have a squadron of 5 B-wings. I would greatly appreciate it.

FYI: The format you provide me will be used to edit the other squadrons in-game, as well.

PS. I do understand where to reflect the changed number of fighters per squadron within both files.
Pucho777 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-02-2006, 02:52 AM   #2
Darth Khasei
Junior Member
 
Darth Khasei's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Korriban
Posts: 344
Just add some more B-Wing entries and coords like is listed(3 is more than enough, but that is your choice ). However, I found that you need to add a container package as well. Just use the Y-Wing container as a base.


Only the blind can see.
http://www.sunstarentertainmentinc.com
Darth Khasei is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-02-2006, 03:00 AM   #3
Pucho777
Rookie
 
Pucho777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Saint Augustine, FL
Posts: 68
Current Game: Star Wars: E.A.W./F.O.C., ...
Question EDITING THE NUMBER OF FIGHTERS PER SQUADRON (Squadrons.XML)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Khasei
Just add some more B-Wing entries and coords like is listed(3 is more than enough, but that is your choice ). However, I found that you need to add a container package as well. Just use the Y-Wing container as a base.
Thanks so very much for responding.

Could you please elaborate a little on your instructions? what do you mean by a 'container package'? I am most confused on the 'Squadron_Offsets' section of the text. What does it indicate? Fighter spacing, formation, etc.?

If you could use my example (copy/paste) and make it a 5 fighter B-wing squadron (including the container package), I would greatly appreciate it.
Pucho777 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-02-2006, 02:43 PM   #4
Darth Khasei
Junior Member
 
Darth Khasei's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Korriban
Posts: 344
Wink

This forum is messed up so I hope this goes thru this time. Been trying to answer this since last night You can fool around with the numbers and formation to make it what you want.


Code:
<Squadron_Units>B-Wing, B-Wing</Squadron_Units>
		<Squadron_Units>B-Wing, B-Wing</Squadron_Units>
		<Squadron_Units>B-Wing</Squadron_Units>
		<Squadron_Offsets>30.0,0.0,0.0</Squadron_Offsets>
		<Squadron_Offsets>0.0,15.0,0.0</Squadron_Offsets>
		<Squadron_Offsets>0.0,-15.0,0.0</Squadron_Offsets>
		<Squadron_Offsets>-30.0,30.0,0.0</Squadron_Offsets>
For some reason I could not get the B-Wing to run without a container(although I am not positive it is needed, I think it is because of the ion cannon shot). The containers are in the COntainers.xml file. Extract it and add this code:


Code:
<Container Name="B_Wing_Squadron_Container">
		<Variant_Of_Existing_Type>Darth_Vader_TIE_Fighter_Container</Variant_Of_Existing_Type>
		<Encyclopedia_Good_Against> Star_Destroyer Victory_Destroyer Acclamator_Assault_Ship </Encyclopedia_Good_Against>
		<Encyclopedia_Vulnerable_To> TIE_Fighter Tartan_Patrol_Cruiser Pirate_Fighter </Encyclopedia_Vulnerable_To>
		<Encyclopedia_Text>TEXT_TOOLTIP_B_WING</Encyclopedia_Text>
		<Encyclopedia_Unit_Class> TEXT_ENCYCLOPEDIA_CLASS_BOMBER </Encyclopedia_Unit_Class>
		<Text_ID>TEXT_B_WING_SQUADRON</Text_ID>
		<Icon_Name>i_button_b_wing.tga</Icon_Name>
		<GUI_Model_Name>RV_bwing.ALO</GUI_Model_Name>
		<GUI_Distance>120</GUI_Distance>
		<GUI_Offset>0 0 0</GUI_Offset>
		<GUI_Velocity>45</GUI_Velocity>
		
		<Behavior>TEAM, TEAM_LOCOMOTOR, SELECTABLE, TARGETING, UNIT_AI</Behavior>
		<SpaceBehavior> REVEAL, ABILITY_COUNTDOWN</SpaceBehavior>
	
		<Icon_Name />
		
		<CategoryMask>Bomber | AntiFrigate | AntiCapital</CategoryMask>
		<Max_Speed>5.0</Max_Speed>
		<Min_Speed>1.5</Min_Speed>
		<Hyperspace>yes</Hyperspace>
		<Hyperspace_Speed>1.5</Hyperspace_Speed>

		<!-- Unit abilities description -->
		<Unit_Abilities_Data SubObjectList="Yes">
			<!-- Primary ability -->
			<Unit_Ability>
				<Type>ION_CANNON_SHOT</Type>
				<Recharge_Seconds>20.0</Recharge_Seconds>
				<GUI_Activated_Ability_Name>Y_Wing_Container_Ion_Cannon_Shot</GUI_Activated_Ability_Name> <!-- GUI Command Bar support -->
				<Projectile_Types_Override>Proj_Ion_Cannon_Medium_Laser_Blue</Projectile_Types_Override>
			</Unit_Ability>
			<Unit_Ability>
				<Type>ROCKET_ATTACK</Type>
			</Unit_Ability>
		
			
		</Unit_Abilities_Data>
		
		<Abilities SubObjectList="Yes">
			<Ion_Cannon_Shot_Attack_Ability Name="Y_Wing_Container_Ion_Cannon_Shot">
				<Activation_Style> User_Input </Activation_Style>
				<!-- We only consider the following unit types "valid targets": -->
				<Applicable_Unit_Categories>All</Applicable_Unit_Categories>
				<Applicable_Unit_Types />
			</Ion_Cannon_Shot_Attack_Ability>
		</Abilities>
		
	</Container>


Only the blind can see.
http://www.sunstarentertainmentinc.com
Darth Khasei is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-02-2006, 02:52 PM   #5
Pucho777
Rookie
 
Pucho777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Saint Augustine, FL
Posts: 68
Current Game: Star Wars: E.A.W./F.O.C., ...
Question EDITING THE NUMBER OF FIGHTERS PER SQUADRON (Squadrons.XML)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Khasei
This forum is messed up so I hope this goes thru this time. Been trying to answer this since last night


Code:
<Squadron_Units>B-Wing, B-Wing</Squadron_Units>
		<Squadron_Units>B-Wing, B-Wing</Squadron_Units>
		<Squadron_Units>B-Wing</Squadron_Units>
		<Squadron_Offsets>30.0,0.0,0.0</Squadron_Offsets>
		<Squadron_Offsets>0.0,15.0,0.0</Squadron_Offsets>
		<Squadron_Offsets>0.0,-15.0,0.0</Squadron_Offsets>
		<Squadron_Offsets>-30.0,30.0,0.0</Squadron_Offsets>
Thanks very much for the example.

I'm curious: Shouldn't there be 5 lines of Squadron_Offsets values instead of the 4 you have shown for a 5 fighter B-wing squadron?

Also, what do those values mean (30.0, 0.0, 15.0, -15.0, -30.0)?

I look forward to your response.

Last edited by Pucho777; 07-02-2006 at 04:05 PM.
Pucho777 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-02-2006, 07:30 PM   #6
Darth Khasei
Junior Member
 
Darth Khasei's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Korriban
Posts: 344
This is a direct copy of the Rebel X-Wing Squadron formation, so you should be just fine. I have not seen a specific guide as to the exact way to edit the squad lines and offsets, but examining the exsisting ones will help you out if you desire to figure out "exactly" how it works. I understand it generally, but not exactly, no need too.

The numbers relate to fighter positions withnin the squad. I don't have any kind of chart, nor have I seen one that give "specific" details on what each number represents, but fooling around with it allows "you" to figure it out exactly if you so desire.


Only the blind can see.
http://www.sunstarentertainmentinc.com
Darth Khasei is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-02-2006, 07:37 PM   #7
chris11211
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York City,NY
Posts: 9
hey guys i gust have a question how do i edit xml files and stuff like that can you give me a guide on howto do itand stuff.
chris11211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-02-2006, 09:29 PM   #8
wolfshadow
Rookie
 
wolfshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 122
All you need is notepad. Make sure you keep a backup of whatever XML youedit just in case the changes you make affect the game.
wolfshadow is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-03-2006, 01:07 PM   #9
chris11211
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York City,NY
Posts: 9
thanks know i can mod yay.......
chris11211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-03-2006, 04:55 PM   #10
Pucho777
Rookie
 
Pucho777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Saint Augustine, FL
Posts: 68
Current Game: Star Wars: E.A.W./F.O.C., ...
Post EDITING THE NUMBER OF FIGHTERS PER SQUADRON (Squadrons.XML)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Khasei
This is a direct copy of the Rebel X-Wing Squadron formation, so you should be just fine. I have not seen a specific guide as to the exact way to edit the squad lines and offsets, but examining the exsisting ones will help you out if you desire to figure out "exactly" how it works. I understand it generally, but not exactly, no need too.

The numbers relate to fighter positions withnin the squad. I don't have any kind of chart, nor have I seen one that give "specific" details on what each number represents, but fooling around with it allows "you" to figure it out exactly if you so desire.
Thanks everyone!

I understand and am completely successful with this issue/task/project!
Pucho777 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-04-2006, 01:44 AM   #11
Darth Khasei
Junior Member
 
Darth Khasei's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Korriban
Posts: 344
Glad to help!


Only the blind can see.
http://www.sunstarentertainmentinc.com
Darth Khasei is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-11-2006, 12:23 AM   #12
Rust_Lord
Rookie
 
Rust_Lord's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 171
Ive made all my squadrons 6 ship, as per Imperial order of battle though I will probably change the rebs to 4 as per their organization: to do 6 the offsets are
30.0, 0.0, 0.0 (I am certain this is the lead fighter)
0.0, 15.0, 0.0 (2nd line)
0.0, -15.0, 0.0 (2nd line)
-30.0, 30.0, 0.0 (last line)
-30.0, 0.0, 0.0 (last line)
-30.0, -30.0, 0.0 (last line)
The first number is the X axis if my memory of maths serves me correctly. 30 indicates 30 of some unit of measurement ahead. A negative number indicates a negative distance; behind. The second number is the Y axis, with variation placing a fighter to one side. The last number is the height so you could in theory make a staggered formation.
Rust_Lord is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Modding forum > Editing the number of fighters per squadron (Squadrons.XML)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:39 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.