lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: question regarding the new TIES
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-30-2006, 04:40 AM   #1
The_Eradicator
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 54
question regarding the new TIES

I looked at the description of the TIE interceptor and it says "replaces the aging TIE fighter. Does that mean the original TIE fighters will be removedfrom FOC and be replaced by the new onces? or are we going to be able to upgrade these TIES at a certain Tech level ? likein Tech3 there would be a "upgrade TIES" upgrade ?
The_Eradicator is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-30-2006, 05:48 AM   #2
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
I doubt that the regular TIEs will be removed from the game. It's more likely that the Interceptors will become unlocked at tech level 3 or 4, and from then on either your Star Destroyers will produce those instead of regular TIEs, or you'll be able to build them for credits like the Rebels do their starfighters.


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-30-2006, 04:41 PM   #3
PoiuyWired
Unregistered User
 
PoiuyWired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,503
Well, technically the normal Ties are never "replaced" by other models, Though there are a bit of upgrades done to them.

Well, sure the interceptors are more powerful, but regular ties give you the feel of the battle more.

Now I wish they would have secreat easteregg-ish ties showing up once in a while though, like the famous "Bow"s.
PoiuyWired is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-30-2006, 04:44 PM   #4
Darth_Torpid-PG
Rookie
 
Darth_Torpid-PG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 233
The regular TIE fighters will remain. The higher tech level Imperial ships (Victory, ISD, Executor, Arc Hammer) will gain Interceptors as replacements to their normal TIEs. "Older" ships like the Acclamator will keep the normal TIE fighters.


-Darth Torpid
-Game Designer
-Petroglyph
Darth_Torpid-PG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-02-2006, 05:49 PM   #5
Cosmos Jack
 
Cosmos Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: In Europe.
Posts: 678
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth_Torpid-PG
The regular TIE fighters will remain. The higher tech level Imperial ships (Victory, ISD, Executor, Arc Hammer) will gain Interceptors as replacements to their normal TIEs. "Older" ships like the Acclamator will keep the normal TIE fighters.
Darth_Torpid-PG
Is there any possibility that it could be made so the player can command the fighters to launch instead of having them do so automatically.

I always thought it would have been nice to make the Imperial fighters like the rebellion, but be able to place them in Ships like a troop transports. So drag and drop fighter squadrons on a SSD until all its slots are full. This way if you wanted a ship to carry all bombers and one to carry all Fighters you could do so. Same with AT-ATs and Stormtroopers.

Being able to call units at the right time would be a plus. Having them auto-spawn into a fleet of Corellian Corvettes and getting mowed away then running out of them isnít cool.

Just a thought
thanks


-QUOTE------
Every cock fights best on his own dunghill.
Cosmos Jack is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-05-2006, 01:05 PM   #6
Darth_Torpid-PG
Rookie
 
Darth_Torpid-PG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 233
While it's a good idea, it's not something that will likely make it into the expansion (since we're literally only weeks away from release). I will keep it in mind for future games.


-Darth Torpid
-Game Designer
-Petroglyph
Darth_Torpid-PG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-05-2006, 01:16 PM   #7
Cosmos Jack
 
Cosmos Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: In Europe.
Posts: 678
It is something I have tried to mod in myself, but with little luck. Maybe for the next game or maybe with the expansion it will be easier to jerry rig. lol

thx


-QUOTE------
Every cock fights best on his own dunghill.
Cosmos Jack is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Forces of Corruption > question regarding the new TIES

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:37 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.