lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Expansion Hero Musings
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-22-2006, 04:19 AM   #1
Darth Ablett
Rookie
 
Darth Ablett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 96
Question Expansion Hero Musings

Hi guys, I was just wondering a few things about the heroes (new and old).

Firstly, does the Admonitor have any tactical abilities (like the Accusor's proton beam)? Or just a modifier like Tarkin?

Secondly, how will Vader work in space? TIE Advanced, Executor, both?
Someone here (Wedge2211, I think) said it would be cool if you could launch the TIE x1 from the Executor; I reckon that's a great idea.

Lastly, was Leia ever considered for FoC? I have no idea what she would do, but she seems kinda important to the Rebellion.

Thanks in advance!
Darth Ablett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2006, 08:44 AM   #2
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Ablett
Hi guys, I was just wondering a few things about the heroes (new and old).

Firstly, does the Admonitor have any tactical abilities (like the Accusor's proton beam)? Or just a modifier like Tarkin?
We haven't heard anything about that yet. Surely Thrawn will have some special ability, perhaps even more than one, but none of the devs have mentioned anything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Ablett
Secondly, how will Vader work in space? TIE Advanced, Executor, both?
Someone here (Wedge2211, I think) said it would be cool if you could launch the TIE x1 from the Executor; I reckon that's a great idea.
Apparently Vader will be in the Executor, so seeing as how you don't get Vader until Tech Level 4, the TIE Advanced he's piloting in EaW appears to be out. I too think it would be cool if he could launch from the Executor, but that's just us speculating.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Ablett
Lastly, was Leia ever considered for FoC? I have no idea what she would do, but she seems kinda important to the Rebellion.

Thanks in advance!
That's actually a very good point. I hadn't thought of that, but Leia would be an obvious addition. If she was in, I'd imagine she had an ability to convert enemy troops to fight for the Rebellion, sort of like the Emperor's special ability (only without the health degrading).


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2006, 09:51 AM   #3
Darth Ablett
Rookie
 
Darth Ablett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Anarch
Apparently Vader will be in the Executor.
Does that mean the Empire gets the Super Star Destroyer for free then?

If yes, that's crazy talk! Imagine playing a GC, getting to tech level 4 and *poof* superweapon.

I hope the Empire has to outlay some serious funds to get that bad boy, so there's a sense of accomplishment (and doom for the rebels, rather than inevitability).

I could be way off base though - as usual!
Darth Ablett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2006, 10:04 AM   #4
Igor_Cavkov
Forumite
 
Igor_Cavkov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 621
I would love to see Leia I even think she is a must have in a SW game!


SW Galaxies Online name: Cavkov
Server: Chimaera
Profession: Bounty Hunter
Guild: DOS - Dark Order of the Sith

If you only knew the power of the darkside!
Igor_Cavkov is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2006, 11:28 AM   #5
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Ablett
Does that mean the Empire gets the Super Star Destroyer for free then?

If yes, that's crazy talk! Imagine playing a GC, getting to tech level 4 and *poof* superweapon.

I hope the Empire has to outlay some serious funds to get that bad boy, so there's a sense of accomplishment (and doom for the rebels, rather than inevitability).

I could be way off base though - as usual!
It's probably going to be free (although I don't know anything specific) when you get Vader. However, I'm betting that the Pop cap for the Executor is going to be very high, like 10 or somewhere in that area. That won't leave the Empire with many other ships in the task force. It's also possible that it'll move more slowly on the Galactic map than other ships, just like the Death Star does.


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2006, 03:58 PM   #6
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Maybe Vader will come in his TIE fighter until the point where the player builds the Executor, and from then on Vader is in his flagship? Or perhaps Vader is in his TIE unless the Executor is in his fleet, in which case Vader stands on the bridge looking pensive and Force-throttling officers? Either of those would seem sensible to me.

Ablett, you are definitely right about Leia! I can't believe I forgot about her--sometimes the most obvious things slip right by you! I know PG mentioned that the Rebellion is going to be much more hero-centric in the expansion, and adding Leia would certainly go a long way towards having that effect. She seems most suited to having some special feature on the galactic map--as an anti-corruption agent, perhaps, or a spy against the Empire. In combat, of course, she could be quite daring, too!


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2006, 04:34 PM   #7
Boba Fett 1991
Rookie
 
Boba Fett 1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the South
Posts: 31
Excellent points here. I'm wondering what Yoda's abilitys will be though.
Boba Fett 1991 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2006, 05:45 PM   #8
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boba Fett 1991
Excellent points here. I'm wondering what Yoda's abilitys will be though.
Yoda has two abilities: One is the "combat frenzy" thing where he goes green ninja on a bunch of stormtroopers; the other is a meditation that will reveal all or parts of the map. During this meditation stance he cannot move or act.


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2006, 09:11 PM   #9
Darth Ablett
Rookie
 
Darth Ablett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Anarch
Yoda has two abilities: One is the "combat frenzy" thing where he goes green ninja on a bunch of stormtroopers; the other is a meditation that will reveal all or parts of the map. During this meditation stance he cannot move or act.
I think he also takes more damage while meditating, I'm fairly sure that was written somewhere.

Wedge, the Leia-corruption idea is a good one. It would be pretty cool if the planet she was on was more resistant to corruption, or some-such thing.
As a result, Tyber and his motley crew have to pay dearly to circumvent her pure morals.

In any case, since we haven't heard anything about her I doubt she'll be in. Does anyone from Petro want to prove me wrong?


Darth Ablett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-22-2006, 10:20 PM   #10
TheMonsterOfTheIsland
Rookie
 
TheMonsterOfTheIsland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 124
Having the Executor be for free would be stupid. I don't care if it takes all of the pop cap points. Besides we saw in the demo video the executor with star destroyers (although this was only a demo).
Heck, I have my pop cap boosted wayyy up when I play single player!

No, we will probably have to buy the bloody great ship; all I know is that Vader better be flying around in his tie advance. Although, wouldn't it be cool if a) he could fly in a tie defender like in TIE fighter, and/or b) he could use force powers from his ship a la Jedi Starfighter?


This is not your island. This is our island.
-Mr. Friendly
TheMonsterOfTheIsland is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2006, 01:44 PM   #11
Darth_Torpid-PG
Rookie
 
Darth_Torpid-PG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 233
While we wanted to include Leia, we couldn't honestly find anything "interesting" for her to do in a tactical arena - she's really not much for combat at this stage of the story. We wanted to limit as much as possible the Tarkin/Mon Mothma style heroes in the expansion since they aren't as much fun as the heroes you can use for tactical battles.


-Darth Torpid
-Game Designer
-Petroglyph
Darth_Torpid-PG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2006, 09:24 PM   #12
ImpElite
Junior Member
 
ImpElite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth_Torpid-PG
While we wanted to include Leia, we couldn't honestly find anything "interesting" for her to do in a tactical arena - she's really not much for combat at this stage of the story. We wanted to limit as much as possible the Tarkin/Mon Mothma style heroes in the expansion since they aren't as much fun as the heroes you can use for tactical battles.
Yeah, understandable (no this is not a sarcastic remark )


ex-UEAW Mod Team Mapper.


ImpElite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2006, 10:19 PM   #13
Darth Ablett
Rookie
 
Darth Ablett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth_Torpid-PG
While we wanted to include Leia, we couldn't honestly find anything "interesting" for her to do in a tactical arena - she's really not much for combat at this stage of the story. We wanted to limit as much as possible the Tarkin/Mon Mothma style heroes in the expansion since they aren't as much fun as the heroes you can use for tactical battles.
That's ok, I suppose she wouldn't really fit in. Good to know it came up though!

Anywho, how about Vader and his magical big ? The idea that you have to buy the Executor and Vader's TIE slots right in as a special ability is pretty cool; I won't get my hopes up though...


Darth Ablett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2006, 06:56 AM   #14
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
It would be good if one of the devs could say something about how the Vader/Executor combo works; do we get the Executor for free when we get Vader? Things like that.


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2006, 03:42 PM   #15
Boba Fett 1991
Rookie
 
Boba Fett 1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the South
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Anarch
It would be good if one of the devs could say something about how the Vader/Executor combo works; do we get the Executor for free when we get Vader? Things like that.
Shouldn't it be that we get the ISD at tech 5 for free as a hero?
Boba Fett 1991 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2006, 05:11 PM   #16
Crezzer Fett
Rookie
 
Crezzer Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Edinburgh UK
Posts: 71
I take it you can only build one Super Star Destroyer??


Crezzer Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2006, 06:04 PM   #17
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
If the SSD is a hero unit (Darth Vader) then of course there can only be one. If it's a regular unit it's possible that you could build more than one. I doubt it, however; more than one SSD would imbalance the game.


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2006, 07:10 PM   #18
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
It might be a non-hero unit that you could only build one of at a time...like the Death Star.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-24-2006, 08:46 PM   #19
Darth Ablett
Rookie
 
Darth Ablett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by wedge2211
It might be a non-hero unit that you could only build one of at a time...like the Death Star.
I sincerely hope this is the case. Think about it, the Empire already gets two free ISDs (Thrawn's, Piett's).

If they got the Executor for free also, then that's pretty much an entire fleet!


Darth Ablett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2006, 08:29 AM   #20
slornie
Rookie
 
slornie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: York, England
Posts: 79
i always thought that Vader would be in his fighter until the Executor was built then he would transfer... i also thought that the Executor should only be buildable with a level 5 space base... and maybe only at Kuat...



slornie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2006, 10:59 AM   #21
ImpElite
Junior Member
 
ImpElite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by slornie
i always thought that Vader would be in his fighter until the Executor was built then he would transfer... i also thought that the Executor should only be buildable with a level 5 space base... and maybe only at Kuat...
in that case..... Captain! Yes sir? Send my fleet over to Kuat before they finish construction on the Executor!


ex-UEAW Mod Team Mapper.


ImpElite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2006, 12:46 PM   #22
PoiuyWired
Unregistered User
 
PoiuyWired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,503
Well, to be reasonable it should be buildable on any Lv5 station that can be used to build big ships like MonCals and ISDs, but having it as a free Lv5 upgrade won't be bad either.

Oh, I do hope Royal guards to be usable or buildable, either for free with the emperor or as a unit.
PoiuyWired is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2006, 02:28 PM   #23
Valter
Rookie
 
Valter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Standing behind you!
Posts: 199
Royal guards should NOT be buildable. Mass producing royal guards would screw with the game balance, besides there are never more than 4 or 5 at one time. Instead, they should always be directly in the Emperor's service. Maybe when Palpatine lands on a planet he should always have a couple guards that land with him.


"You will pay the price for your lack of vision!" - Palpatine
Valter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-25-2006, 06:26 PM   #24
lordzack
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by slornie
i always thought that Vader would be in his fighter until the Executor was built then he would transfer... i also thought that the Executor should only be buildable with a level 5 space base... and maybe only at Kuat...
The Executor was built at Fondor, so if it could only be built in a specific place, that would be it.
lordzack is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2006, 06:13 AM   #25
slornie
Rookie
 
slornie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: York, England
Posts: 79
sorry... its just that i automatically relate star destroyers with KDY hence my mention of Kuat...



slornie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2006, 03:06 PM   #26
gswift
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lenexa, Kansas (suburb of Kansas City)
Posts: 264
The Darth Vader/Executor enigma has been untangled in another thread. http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=170959

These two threads seem like the same subject now that we have those answers, since we now know the SSD is a hero unit.


Gary Swift (aka gswift)
Lenexa, Kansas USA

You can try to monkey-proof your program, but you'll never monkey-proof the monkey.
gswift is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Forces of Corruption > Expansion Hero Musings

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:05 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.