lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Goodbye, Vader (or: How the Executor really was destroyed)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-28-2006, 12:05 PM   #1
YertyL
Junior Member
 
YertyL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 390
Goodbye, Vader (or: How the Executor really was destroyed)

Well, we now all know how the Executor really was destroyed and all people disapppointed with the A-Wing theory can relax : The Executor wasn't destroyed by the rebel fleet or some random bridge hit, but had to explode when Vader died above the DSII (when watching the movie, you'll notice how simultaneous the events are).

Seriously, this thread is about Vader's new role in FOC. IMHO that role does not represent his movie-self at all.

In the EAW Vanilla we had Vader primarily as an extremly strong ground hero (with only one true weakness, artillery fire) and in space as a good fighter unit that also was pretty indestructable thanks to its special. IMO that represented his movie-self as a superbly skilled Sith Lord and "best star pilot in the galaxy" very well. He could be used in both ground and space evenly, because even though his primary strength lay in ground battles, you didn't risk much when using him in space because of his high durability and special abillity.

Now in FOC Vader's role as both fighter and strong ground unit has practically disappeared. First, we only get Vader as a "super unit" (similar to the DS), practically when the game is already over. Second, we get him only in a colossal and extremly expensive ship; While it is pretty cool to have Vader as an extremly powerful unit in space too, the cost and worth of the Executor pretty much prevents any only slightly cautious player from ever using him in a ground battle, since his loss means the loss of the backbone of your starfleet and Vader now is not only weak to artillery fire, but also Ysalimari cages, Vronskr, Yoda and to an extent Ben and Luke.

All movies of the OT IMO show that Vader likes to do things with his own hands (e.g. he leads the fighters defending the first DS himself or enters Echo base as the first of his troops). In FOC Vader becomes a second Moff Tarkin, only there to supervise a mechanical colossus.

So in conclusion I suggest making Vader available again at tech lvl 4, give Piett the Executor and let Vader again control the TIE Advanced X1 (not very original, I know ). It would be nice to see some lightsaber duels again!
YertyL is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2006, 12:10 PM   #2
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
I don't have the expansion yet, so I don't know how Vader plays in it, but I will at least agree with you that Vader should not "be" the Executor. That should be reserved for a non-ground hero like Piett.


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2006, 12:58 PM   #3
mattwild
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 80
I don't use Piett much in the ISD anyway, I think Thrawn better serves the role, so yes, I'd be all for Vader in his TIE Advanced x1 again.


mattwild is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2006, 01:17 PM   #4
walpurgisng
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 61
The addition of Ysalimari cages is awesome, since Timothy Zahn effectively proves their powers in his novels. I try not to frett over all these things, since I know eventually modders will change all of this.
walpurgisng is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2006, 01:53 PM   #5
darthcarth
Junior Member
 
darthcarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the USD Imperium
Posts: 265
Yeah i agree he is weak on my campaign i had a small army at the place were he would spawn on the bespin mission in normal eaw this wouldnt have been a problem, lost only 2 groups of infantry and a droiedika he has become pityful now.


EmpireFTW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
darthcarth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2006, 02:35 PM   #6
Dreng
Rookie
 
Dreng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 29
i dont have FOC yet (im from spain) but i have a doubt about the executor how powerful is it? i know bombers can take it down easy but i want to know how it does against other big ships like the mon cals cruisers or those big zann's ships also would be easier if devs put the hability to launch vader in his TIE from the executor...


Dreng is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2006, 02:37 PM   #7
Crezzer Fett
Rookie
 
Crezzer Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Edinburgh UK
Posts: 71
I would of liked it if Piett had the Executor, but if Vader was in a battle with the Executor, Vader would also be in it with Piett, but had the ability to launch his Tie Advanced at any time.

If Vader wasn't in a battle with Piett he would be in his Tie Advanced.

What i a trying to say is that the Executor could still be used as Vader's ship, but Vader could also do his own thing and leave it behind with Piett.

In the films, Vader has a habit of this.


Crezzer Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2006, 05:33 PM   #8
EmperorJello
 
EmperorJello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 197
What would be ideal would be for Vader to BE the Advanced X-1 until Tech Level 5, where you could somehow buy the "upgrade" to Executor. That would be excellent.
EmperorJello is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2006, 06:30 PM   #9
HerbieZ
Mythical Beast
 
HerbieZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 2,053
Anyone actually noticed that the "Launch all squadrons at once" special function as referred to by the devs and the manual is only a "Launch one useless squadron" button.


Waking up.
HerbieZ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2006, 06:47 PM   #10
darthcarth
Junior Member
 
darthcarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the USD Imperium
Posts: 265
it not useless the executer its self it the most glorious ship it can spawn quite a few fighter sqaudrons and since you need nothing but the excuter to kill most fleets u can just keep the executer selected and keep spawning figthers to kill those pesky bombers.


EmpireFTW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
darthcarth is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2006, 12:41 AM   #11
LenaMarieD
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 35
Erm have you actually seen all the Star Wars movies? In Space Vader is always on his command ship. There was only ONE time he took his Tie Ad out and it was a only a plot motive to get him off the Death Star before it exploded. I'd Say he belongs in the Executor definatly.
LenaMarieD is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2006, 12:44 AM   #12
popcorn2008
Little Green Friend
 
popcorn2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 1,239
The Vader SSD is more trouble then its worth to me anyway, when and if I ever get that far in the game I just go ahead and make the DS II and not bother with Vader. The SSD is a fun toy to play with, if you get the chance.


> Lucas Forums Moderator
> Petroglyph Forums Moderator
> Unofficial Petroglyph Fan Forums Global Moderator
popcorn2008 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2006, 01:06 AM   #13
Darth Windu
TSLRP Beta Tester
 
Darth Windu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 1,973
Well personally, I intend to change a lot of things when I get FoC. From what I've heard, I'll definately be putting Vader back into his fighter, and giving Piett the Executor. As for Ysalami - well I'm going to remove their powers altogether.


Dark Lord of the Purists

Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges
Darth Windu is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2006, 02:18 AM   #14
Dervishx3
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
The game itself is fairly buggy/incomplete. Several planets objectives are missing and when an enemy fleet is incoming for the Empire it says "Ysalamiri cage constructing".
Dervishx3 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2006, 07:08 AM   #15
HerbieZ
Mythical Beast
 
HerbieZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 2,053
Oh yeah, i always wondered why it said that.


Waking up.
HerbieZ is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2006, 07:26 AM   #16
Darth Ablett
Rookie
 
Darth Ablett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dervishx3
The game itself is fairly buggy/incomplete. Several planets objectives are missing and when an enemy fleet is incoming for the Empire it says "Ysalamiri cage constructing".
Does it really? That's priceless! Those sneaky ysalamiri!


Darth Ablett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-29-2006, 03:24 PM   #17
jedi7000nathan
Junior Member
 
jedi7000nathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nathan City
Posts: 368
Current Game: Kotors 1 and 2
i killed him and his dark jedi with Silri's drian life abillty
jedi7000nathan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2006, 09:35 AM   #18
lordzack
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 165
I think he should be able to go to his fighter at any time in combat or not. If he goes to land he also seperates from the Executor and if he is killed the Exector remains.
lordzack is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2006, 10:00 AM   #19
FunSolo
Junior Member
 
FunSolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: germany
Posts: 317
yup. thats exactly what i think
FunSolo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2006, 08:47 PM   #20
wherryj
Rookie
 
wherryj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dervishx3
The game itself is fairly buggy/incomplete. Several planets objectives are missing and when an enemy fleet is incoming for the Empire it says "Ysalamiri cage constructing".

LOL, I was wondering why I kept hearing that phrase. I have only owned the expansion for about 12 hours, so I've played only a few hours of GC. I was playing as the rebels and kept hearing that, often before ANY fleet would jump into one of my systems, though sometimes it would appear that it was whenever one of the empire's systems was getting hit.


Proud father of Darth Jack
wherryj is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2006, 10:06 PM   #21
Slocket
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 309
It has been fixed by the fans already.

The spawn is one at a time at 8 seconds random TIE, Intercepter, Bomber, Defenders in some number limits of 32, 24, 12, 5 IIRC I need to look at the XML again.

I been changing some thing for my liking -the game is quite frenzy at the moment. I like a more slower massive tactical fights. And get the AI to work with it too.

LUA scripts encryted again for now -if you want major changes to behaviour.
Slocket is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Forces of Corruption > Goodbye, Vader (or: How the Executor really was destroyed)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:43 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.