lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Creating a vehicle
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-24-2006, 05:21 PM   #1
CalcProgrammer1
Rookie
 
CalcProgrammer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 91
Creating a vehicle

I just started working on models. I use gmax and blender, and I have the md3 exporters for both of them. I also have md3view and modview. I had a model of a car on my computer in .3ds, and I want to make it into a vehicle. I imported into gmax, made some simple textures in Gimp, then applied them to the model. I exported as a .md3 in /base/models/players/car/model.md3, loaded to md3view, and saved as glm for JA. Then I copied the script for the swoop and deleted the sounds (not important yet) and fx. I changed swoop to car in the places I could find that would be for that, but it won't spawn in JA, I did sv_pure 0 and npc spawn vehicle car.
CalcProgrammer1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-24-2006, 06:49 PM   #2
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
That's because you need to weight the mesh to a root bone, which gmax cant do as far as i know. Then you export to .XSI and compile it to get the .gla and .glm.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-24-2006, 08:44 PM   #3
CalcProgrammer1
Rookie
 
CalcProgrammer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 91
there is a bone option in gmax... no xsi though... i'll look in to it.
CalcProgrammer1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-25-2006, 01:23 PM   #4
Neon
Veteran
 
Neon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 980
If I'm not mistaken, tFighterPilot told me he made his snowspeeder with GMax, so maybe there is hope. I would like to see a car ingame sometime
Neon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-12-2007, 06:48 PM   #5
mrnoone44
Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
i have made a simple hovercar. but it only works in sp . it has passenger support too! could play taxi but i need a .gla for my model. so i guess ill get gmax do bone things and then i have an error when making the .glm and .gla so i need help.
mrnoone44 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Modeling > Creating a vehicle

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:47 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.