lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: COOP questions and stuff
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-03-2007, 05:46 AM   #1
mark2000
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 106
COOP questions and stuff

How do you skip cutscenes in coop?

Why are regular blaster wielding enemies able to do dodges? (seems inappropriate IMHO)

It would be nice if Saber defense 3 had better blaster deflecting accuracy.
mark2000 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-03-2007, 06:02 AM   #2
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark2000
How do you skip cutscenes in coop?
You don't I think.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark
Why are regular blaster wielding enemies able to do dodges? (seems inappropriate IMHO)
Agreed on this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark
It would be nice if Saber defense 3 had better blaster deflecting accuracy.
No it wouldn't, the accuracy is more than enough and especially if you know how to aim and use Manual Deflect at the same time it's more than you'll ever need. When you start a Coop game you can consider yourself a Jedi Padawan at most.

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-03-2007, 04:01 PM   #3
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark2000
How do you skip cutscenes in coop?
It depends on how you've set your ojp_skipcutscenes (or something like that) cvar. Check the OJP_cvar.html doc.
Quote:
Why are regular blaster wielding enemies able to do dodges? (seems inappropriate IMHO)
We could do that, but it's going to make CoOp REALLY easy. Bug ticket it.
Quote:
It would be nice if Saber defense 3 had better blaster deflecting accuracy.
You mean more reflected shots or better accurate with the reflected shots?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-03-2007, 04:33 PM   #4
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
skipojpcutscenes is set to 1 in my list, but I still can't skip some of the cutscenes.

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-03-2007, 05:25 PM   #5
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
If memory serves, you can't skip a lot of cutscenes in SP either. If you can figure out which cutscenes can't be skipped, you could post a bug ticket for Basic and we could look into fixing them.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-03-2007, 05:42 PM   #6
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by razorace
If memory serves, you can't skip a lot of cutscenes in SP either. If you can figure out which cutscenes can't be skipped, you could post a bug ticket for Basic and we could look into fixing them.
Yeah it's usually the ones that are already ingame but have dynamic cameras. Think T1_rail intro and t2_trip swoop negotiation.

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-03-2007, 09:26 PM   #7
mark2000
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 106
Quote:
We could do that, but it's going to make CoOp REALLY easy. Bug ticket it.
it WILL make COOP really easy at some points but there are also some parts where you'll be fighting more than 5 enemies and when they all act like force-users then things may get too difficult, not to mention they'll also look very awkward since you're suppose to be the only jedi there.

Quote:
you mean more reflected shots or better accurate with the reflected shots?
I was thinking "better accurate with the reflected shots" but I think I'll change my mind. I just realized that not even the jedi in the movies can always accurately reflect back every shot thrown at them.

Quote:
It depends on how you've set your ojp_skipcutscenes (or something like that) cvar. Check the OJP_cvar.html doc.
cool. I found it. Thanks alot. ^_^

~~~~~~

BTW. I just realized this but it's pretty wierd that people get to learn Soresu first at Offense Level 1 when Shii Cho is suppose to be the first style being taught to jedi. Just thinking out loud. ^_^
mark2000 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-03-2007, 10:37 PM   #8
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Yeah, I haven't gotten around to implimenting stance selection yet.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2007, 07:03 AM   #9
mark2000
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 106
ok. It seems that ojp_skipcutscenes doesn't work.

There's a bug in the mission in tier 1 where yo defuse bombs. When you defuse the last bomb, mission objectives go back to "defuse last 4 bombs" but since all the bombs have been defused already, i won't be able to finish the level.

another bug in tier 1 where you go to tatooine. After you split up with chewbacca to shut down the tractor beams, eventually, you'll get a mission failed saying that "chewbacca has died". I don't know why but I think it's because of the funky cutscenes' fault.

Why not take this chance to fix stuff in coop while there aren't too much ideas being suggested yet? Those cutscenes really need to be removed completely. Maybe also replace the saber-wielding NPCs with TAB bots. The ones right now are just awkward.
mark2000 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2007, 08:34 AM   #10
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
There are more than enough issues stilll left for fixing, you should take a look at the bug ticket list before you say something that silly

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2007, 02:24 PM   #11
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark2000
ok. It seems that ojp_skipcutscenes doesn't work.
Which value where you using?
Quote:
There's a bug in the mission in tier 1 where yo defuse bombs. When you defuse the last bomb, mission objectives go back to "defuse last 4 bombs" but since all the bombs have been defused already, i won't be able to finish the level.
This is a known issue with the map in general. It happens in SP as well.
Quote:
another bug in tier 1 where you go to tatooine. After you split up with chewbacca to shut down the tractor beams, eventually, you'll get a mission failed saying that "chewbacca has died". I don't know why but I think it's because of the funky cutscenes' fault.
That's a new one. I haven't seen that one before. Bug ticket it.
Quote:
Why not take this chance to fix stuff in coop while there aren't too much ideas being suggested yet? Those cutscenes really need to be removed completely. Maybe also replace the saber-wielding NPCs with TAB bots. The ones right now are just awkward.
I already have plenty of stuff to work on.

We could probably remove the cutscenes if we had the scripters to do so. *shrug*

As for the NPC jedi, it's not currently practical to replace them with TABBot for technical reasons. That might be something done in the future, but we'll have to wait and see.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2007, 03:50 PM   #12
UDM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 922
Quote:
Originally Posted by razorace
We could probably remove the cutscenes if we had the scripters to do so. *shrug*
Based on my experience with Radiant, I think I can try out a workaround, by simply removing all script triggers in the maps. However, this means I may have to modify some crucial parts of the map. For example, in the last level, Tavion won't say anything. She'll just whack you. And there aren't any cutscenes when you enter the temple. This also means there won't be any lightside/darkside endings, but tbh I don't think anyone cares eh

Last edited by UDM; 04-04-2007 at 04:05 PM.
UDM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2007, 05:20 PM   #13
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Map triggers are actually pretty important to the CoOp maps. Plus, redoing the map files would be a HUGE download. It would be much easier to just cut out the cutscene related stuff in the scripting files.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2007, 05:46 PM   #14
UDM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 922
That's a good point with the filesize. Unfortunately, I'm no good with ICARUS scripting
UDM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2007, 03:23 AM   #15
mark2000
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 106
Quote:
Which value where you using?
from 0-4 LOL. something to do with "skip" related scripts not working or something....

Quote:
This is a known issue with the map in general. It happens in SP as well.
cool. then that means that this is the VERY first time I've ever experienced that bug from almost 2 years of playing JKA(not counting the year I stopped playing before I knew OJP).

Quote:
That's a new one. I haven't seen that one before. Bug ticket it.
Will do but it probably has something to do with the funky cutscene before that, because before i continued towards my objective, I noticed that the door wasn't blocked by rubble so I managed to see the chewbacca and merc models for a second when the door suddenly opened.


UPDATE:

I dont know if this is still normal to you guys but during the bomb defusal mission, instead of reseting to "4 more bombs to defuse", now it never goes below 4. it's always "4 more to go".

P.S.

the Bakurans that are suppose to be dead there near your ship are ALIVE!! O_O

Is it worth of a bug ticket now?

Last edited by mark2000; 04-05-2007 at 03:54 AM.
mark2000 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2007, 04:41 AM   #16
UDM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 922
As mentioned, everyone's got their hands tied down with things atm. Darth's working on getting better co-op gameplay up and running, Razor's fixing balance issues,

To put it simply, the singleplayer co-op will have to remain this way for some time. Besides, discussions of OJP's campaign/co-op have already gone underway between Tanqexe, so less attention may be paid to JA's singleplayer maps
UDM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2007, 04:51 AM   #17
mark2000
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 106
lol. I'm just asking if i should bug ticket all these things i've found for future reference. I never said anything about fixing them now. But if even a simple bug ticket isn't worth it then fine, let's just forget everything that i said here.
mark2000 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2007, 04:56 AM   #18
UDM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 922
Sure you can send in a ticket
UDM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2007, 05:00 AM   #19
mark2000
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 106
cool. Anything else I might find, I'll be mentioning them here first for verification. I don't wanna end up flooding the bug tickets with useless stuff.
mark2000 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Hosted Forums > Open Jedi Project (OJP) > COOP questions and stuff

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:23 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.