lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Slightly clicking sound in the background when using Gamepad
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-02-2007, 06:53 AM   #1
Byakko
Rookie
 
Byakko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 138
Slightly clicking sound in the background when using Gamepad

I'm using a Logitech Dual-Action Gamepad to play Psychonauts right now.

There's this perpetual clicking sound in the background every time I move. It's not very obvious or loud, so it's not really critically annoying; but I would like to just get rid of it altogether...

Anyway has the PC Psychonauts and a gamepad? Do you have the same problem, and did you manage to get rid of the clicking sound?
Byakko is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-02-2007, 11:07 AM   #2
Toliver
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 137
I have a regular Logitech gamepad and don't experiece any clicking noise when playing the game. Raz's footsteps sometimes make a noise when he's walking or running. But I assume this clicking sound is too regular to be a game sound effect.
If anything, I would think it would a sound card issue rather than a controller issue. Have you experimented with the sound settings?
Toliver is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-03-2007, 04:23 AM   #3
Byakko
Rookie
 
Byakko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 138
The sound is basically the Windows mouse-click sound; only continuous and slightly faint.

I haven't tried anything with the sound settings yet; I'll test it out for now.
Byakko is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-03-2007, 08:14 AM   #4
martmeister
Veteran
 
martmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Land of Confusion
Posts: 959
Current Game: FO3, G/2, DA, CODMF2
How does your Gamepad plug in? USB, gameport, serial? Is it plugged into the back of the sound card (many sound cards have a "game port") or directly into the motherboard? I'm wondering if there's a conflict with the mouse and Gamepad. Are there drivers for the Gamepad and have you tried reinstalling them?


<No way you can read this. My handwriting's illegible>
martmeister is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2007, 05:54 AM   #5
Byakko
Rookie
 
Byakko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 138
It's plugged in through a USB. I'm not sure about it being in the back of the sound card or into the motherboard. My CPU has USB ports in the front and that's just where I plug my stuff in. I guess motherboard.

I've installed the driver/software to run the Gamepad. Although, I haven't installed the latest version of the software as it erases my previous Gamepad settings. It's no big deal to reconfigure so maybe I'll just re-install with the latest version.
Byakko is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2007, 09:05 PM   #6
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,760
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
is the clicky noise coming from your speakers...or the game pad itself...i dont fully understand it.



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2007, 03:01 AM   #7
Byakko
Rookie
 
Byakko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 138
From my speakers.

Just imagine playing Psychonauts and there's the sound of the mouse clicking; but I'm not using it at all.

I've been thinking of this possibility. Despite that I'm using a gamepad, all the actions I'm making on it (with the analog stick, buttons etc.) is still being registered as keyboard and mouse presses by the computer. Hence, the equivalent clicking noise.

Other than that, I don't know.
Byakko is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2007, 06:05 PM   #8
martmeister
Veteran
 
martmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Land of Confusion
Posts: 959
Current Game: FO3, G/2, DA, CODMF2
Maybe go into your mouse settings on game and disable (if you can). Turn off mouse sounds in your OS. Or you could try it w/o the gamepad.


<No way you can read this. My handwriting's illegible>
martmeister is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2007, 11:33 PM   #9
Byakko
Rookie
 
Byakko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 138
There is no way I can play Psychonauts w/o a gamepad. It's already tough platforming with it, and I really can't imagine how much harder it would become with a mouse and keyboard...

I think...I can live with it lol. Seems noone else has had this problem before. I guess its just my system.
Byakko is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-09-2007, 12:37 AM   #10
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,760
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
Sorry man, without more info...it might just have to stay that way, but have fun with the game anyway!



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Psychonauts Discussion at Razputin's Domain > Razputin's Domain Forums > Ford Cruller's Bacon Support > Slightly clicking sound in the background when using Gamepad

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:55 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.