lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar
View Poll Results: Which HUD?
Simple, easily navigated, non-obstructive 12 63.16%
Complex, sweet, sexy 7 36.84%
Voters: 19. You may not vote on this poll


Thread: Minimal or complex hud?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-26-2007, 12:33 PM   #41
TheShaman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 277
Well it's a bit too big for me though. Maybe it's because I'm used to having a little hud on bottom, after years and years of JK2, JKA, and mods for them.

Here is a pic of the hud in 009u, followed by the same pic, edited by myself (took me a whole hour...argh) to show what I'd like to have.

ATM:
http://img110.imageshack.us/img110/6554/hudqx5.jpg

My dream:
http://img401.imageshack.us/img401/8...amanhudbn0.jpg

Don't pay attention to the fact I totally made some parts dirty, cause I had to change a few things. Also, ignore that the HP and Armor are written very poorly, I can't do the same as it's written for Dodge, Force, and Mishap.

But this shows how I'd really like the hud.

Last edited by TheShaman; 04-26-2007 at 01:49 PM.
TheShaman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2007, 12:58 PM   #42
DarthDie
Junior Member
 
DarthDie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 407
Make sure you dont have it resize....it has a option for it when you upload.


OJP Sponsors and websites

"...and what about all those screenshots in there of DarthDie with a swastika of demo charges."
DarthDie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2007, 01:43 PM   #43
TheShaman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 277
I saw that option, and made sure it was disabled... and it was set on 320x240 anyway, this one is like... 80x60...
I'll resize it to 1024x768.
TheShaman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2007, 01:46 PM   #44
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
You posted link to the thumbnails not the actual pix. :<


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2007, 01:47 PM   #45
TheShaman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 277
OH YESSSSSSSSS just gotta remove the .th
Thank you ensiform I love you ! *gives a yummy cookie*
TheShaman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2007, 03:09 PM   #46
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,187
My vote is for Tanqexe's design. It's totally like the HUD from Republic Commando, and I like that consistancy.

Two Suggestions:
- I would probably switch the positions of the shield and health meters. Shields should (in theory) deplete before health does. As such, I'd place shields on top for a logical progression of shields->health.
- Maybe switch the colors of the DP and FP meters? I personally like blue for FP myself. Very minor thou.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2007, 04:31 PM   #47
Tanqexe
Junior Member
 
Tanqexe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by razorace
My vote is for Tanqexe's design. It's totally like the HUD from Republic Commando, and I like that consistancy.

Two Suggestions:
- I would probably switch the positions of the shield and health meters. Shields should (in theory) deplete before health does. As such, I'd place shields on top for a logical progression of shields->health.
- Maybe switch the colors of the DP and FP meters? I personally like blue for FP myself. Very minor thou.
Yep, RC (and Metroid Prime actually) was the inspiration for the LCD HUD, good eye!

Both suggestions are very easy switches, and yeah they do make sense...oh, I forgot to mention that the bars drain towards the center line, but you're right about shields->health being a logical progression.

Question...how much trouble would it be to cycle weapon categories? For example, instead of cycling through a whole list of guns and throwables, maybe use mousewheel scroll to cycle saber/melee, light weapon (pistol), medium weapon (E-11, bowcaster, flechette), heavy weapon (rocket launcher, D-15, disruptor), and demolitions (det pack, thermal dets) then mousewheel click to cycle through each category's weapons. It'll be like arranging weapons as if they were lightsaber styles under the lightsaber weapon.


Tanqexe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2007, 04:41 PM   #48
TheShaman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 277
Disruptor is rather medium though.

Wait if I fully understand your idea, it means you'll select the type of weapon, and then use the sv_saberswitch button to change the weapon of the current type? isn't that a bit complicated?
Why not just display current weapon, and select it through the big list?
TheShaman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2007, 04:59 PM   #49
Tanqexe
Junior Member
 
Tanqexe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 260
It'll be much more organized, especially if you're in the middle of a firefight and you're looking for that one BFG that you need but you've got a looong list of weapons on your hands.

Let's say you need to switch from pistol to rocket launcher. Scroll wheel 2 times and you're there. Now if you've also bought the E-11, bowcaster, and flechette, and a disruptor, you'd normally have to scroll 4 times to get to your rocket launcher, and however many times in reverse. What if you do have a rocket launcher but you prefer switching between your E-11 and your clone rifle, leaving rocket launcher as last resort? Scroll once back and forth and you're there. If you need that rocket launcher then you scroll once, mousewheel click to set rocket launcher as your default heavy weapon.


Tanqexe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2007, 05:15 PM   #50
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by razorace
My vote is for Tanqexe's design. It's totally like the HUD from Republic Commando, and I like that consistancy.

Two Suggestions:
- I would probably switch the positions of the shield and health meters. Shields should (in theory) deplete before health does. As such, I'd place shields on top for a logical progression of shields->health.
- Maybe switch the colors of the DP and FP meters? I personally like blue for FP myself. Very minor thou.
However, shields don't always deplete or sometimes it takes from both with some damage flags.


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2007, 05:53 PM   #51
madcatmach2
Rookie
 
madcatmach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 206
I love you


Last edited by madcatmach2; 01-23-2008 at 09:34 PM.
madcatmach2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2007, 06:07 PM   #52
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanqexe
Both suggestions are very easy switches, and yeah they do make sense...oh, I forgot to mention that the bars drain towards the center line, but you're right about shields->health being a logical progression.
I understand the idea, but it might be easier for users if the bars deplete top->bottom.
Quote:
Question...how much trouble would it be to cycle weapon categories? For example, instead of cycling through a whole list of guns and throwables, maybe use mousewheel scroll to cycle saber/melee, light weapon (pistol), medium weapon (E-11, bowcaster, flechette), heavy weapon (rocket launcher, D-15, disruptor), and demolitions (det pack, thermal dets) then mousewheel click to cycle through each category's weapons. It'll be like arranging weapons as if they were lightsaber styles under the lightsaber weapon.
I think Ensi knows way more about this than I do.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ensiform
However, shields don't always deplete or sometimes it takes from both with some damage flags.
True, but conceptually, armor/shields get hit before health does.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2007, 06:46 PM   #53
crail227
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 98
Tanqexe's hud might be the greatest thing ive ever seen!

gj


^Sanjuro
crail227 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-27-2007, 06:11 AM   #54
TheShaman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 277
Mousewheel click? You mean Mousebutton3? Never! It's jump for me. By the way, there is a nice shortcut for every weapon... 1->0.
TheShaman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-27-2007, 10:17 AM   #55
Tanqexe
Junior Member
 
Tanqexe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 260
Hey man, you can keymap however you like, that's up to you. I'm just explaining a concept that would make life easier for people who do end up with a bunch of weapons. In addition, maybe let 1-5 keys be assigned to the categories, so that you don't have to go out of your way to hit buttons 6-0.

Think about how annoying it is to have to reach for keys 7-0 when you're running around and trying not to get killed.


Tanqexe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-27-2007, 02:22 PM   #56
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
If we continue to use the current hud, theres a better way to draw the progress bars instead of using "Ticks" pre-programmed.

Using my fillbars can use any size you want, etc.

I can outline it a little more tonight.

Tanq, I'm not really understanding what you are saying about keymaps. My code has weapon slots... lol

From old Weapon Slots Post:
Quote:
Originally Posted by ensiform
Slot 1: Melee
Slot 2: Lightsaber
Slot 3: Pistol
Slot 4: Blaster, Bowcaster, Clone Rifle
Slot 5: Disruptor, D.E.M.P., Flechette
Slot 6: Rocket, Concussion Rifle
Slot 7: Thermals, Trip Mines, Detonation Packs

Max Defines: 10 slots, 10 weapons per slot

Pressing a slot key when you are already using a weapon in that slot goes to the next weapon in that slot (or first if you are at last). If you are at a weapon that is not the first in a slot and select a different weapon then go back to that slot, it will select that last weapon used in the slot instead of the first weapon. It uses the same /weapon binds but /weaponslot is more proper and /weapon was remaped to work same as /weaponslot, the only problem is we cant really have more than 1-7 afaik, because the default binds are a little screwed up.

I also fixed the stupid draw weapon select too. Shows proper order without any hacking of the order. It shows in the order above (permitting you have those weapons).

/weaponslot <slot#> - Switch to this slot number
/weapon - Will work the same as weaponslot now
/weapnextinslot - Switch to next available gun in slot
/weapprevinslot - Switch to previous available gun in slot
/nextweap - Switch to next weap in the above order
/prevweap - Switch to previous weap in the above order

/weaponclean will be removed

Out Of Ammo Checks:
1st: A weapon from slot 4 ( blaster, bowcaster, or clone rifle )
2nd: A weapon from slot 5 ( disruptor, demp2, or flechette )
3rd: A pistol from slot 3 ( pistol )
4th: A weapon from slot 6 ( rocket, or conc )
5th: An explosive from slot 7 ( thermal, trip, or detpack )
6th: If the player has a saber it will select that as last resort, otherwise melee.
ojp_sabermelee client cvar isn't really needed anymore either.

I really need to find time to merge my stuff. =/

P.S. Got Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty i386 running now with dual boot at home now.

With the driver I'm using it can read+write to NTFS now... so yea :P Almost no need for windows anymore except that my class stuff is gonna require Winblows with IE 5.5 or higher. I suppose I could force it to run IE7 through wine but meh.


iojamp project lead / coder

Last edited by ensiform; 04-27-2007 at 02:37 PM.
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-27-2007, 02:55 PM   #57
TheShaman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 277
Yay !
I hate those ticks.
Progress bar > all
Ticks look old and outdated IMO, a bar is far more smooth.
TheShaman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-28-2007, 07:31 PM   #58
Tanqexe
Junior Member
 
Tanqexe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by ensiform
If we continue to use the current hud, theres a better way to draw the progress bars instead of using "Ticks" pre-programmed.

Using my fillbars can use any size you want, etc.

I can outline it a little more tonight.

Tanq, I'm not really understanding what you are saying about keymaps. My code has weapon slots... lol
Can fill bars work with curved bars?

And your weapon slot idea is EXACTLY what I'm talking about, except I'd want to keep the slot numbers to 1-5 or 6 for ease of reach. Ignore my use of the word keymap, I was just telling Shaman that he can change his key binds to however he likes it.


Tanqexe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-29-2007, 06:57 AM   #59
TheShaman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 277
Yea, I already do, I play with the arrows, del end page, and numpad.
No problem then if I can put it to the key I want.

I'd like fill bars, even if it's curved. But still, I think setting a color for each stat would be better. (Red health, green armor, cyan force, purple dodge, orange ammo, yellow fuel, blue cloak energy; that would be the 100% perfect for me )
TheShaman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2007, 12:19 AM   #60
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
*BUMP*

Looks like someone made a Republic Commando HUD for basejka...

http://jediknight2.filefront.com/fil...ando_HUD;79193


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2007, 03:07 AM   #61
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,187
On the downside, it does restrict the view a bit.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2007, 01:53 PM   #62
Wytchking
Rookie
 
Wytchking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: England
Posts: 86
I still much prefer Tanqexe's
Wytchking is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-25-2007, 02:24 PM   #63
TheShaman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 277
Same, this one would be good for a clonetrooper game, which is not OJP.
I like both the far cry style for its simplicity, and Tanq's for its "new design".
TheShaman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-25-2007, 04:13 PM   #64
madcatmach2
Rookie
 
madcatmach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wytchking
I still much prefer Tanqexe's
definitely. Just out of curiosity when is the hud being included with the beta's?


Last edited by madcatmach2; 01-23-2008 at 09:33 PM.
madcatmach2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-25-2007, 06:32 PM   #65
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,187
When it's completed. I have no idea what progress has been made on it. :| ???!!


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-25-2007, 08:08 PM   #66
Tanqexe
Junior Member
 
Tanqexe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 260
Lot of personal stuff going on in my life at the moment. I've got the graphics, just need to fiddle with the menu code.


Tanqexe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-25-2007, 08:50 PM   #67
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,187
Let me know if you need any actual coding support.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Hosted Forums > Open Jedi Project (OJP) > Minimal or complex hud?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:55 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.