lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: [K1] extract player character utc file?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-04-2007, 08:04 PM   #1
DarthDredge
Rookie
 
DarthDredge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 52
[K1] extract player character utc file?

Is there any way that I can extract the utc file for the player character? If I can, can I alter it and put it in the Override folder, or will that cause problems? If I can't, is there a way that I can change the sound set for the pc with Player_Male_W/Player_Male_B/Player_Female_W/Player_Female_B lines in soundset.2da?

Last edited by DarthDredge; 06-05-2007 at 10:08 PM.
DarthDredge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2007, 08:26 PM   #2
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthDredge
Is there any way that I can extract the utc file for the player character? If I can, can I alter it and put it in the Override folder, or will that cause problems? If I can't, is there a way that I can change the sound set for the pc with Player_Male_W/Player_Male_B/Player_Female_W/Player_Female_B lines in soundset.2da?
This can fairly easily be changed with KSE (savegame editor), it should allow you to modify the soundset of the player character among other things.

If you want to do it the hard way you can open the SAV (savegame) files with an ERF editor to extract the content, modify the data with a GFF editor (k-gff for example) and then put them back into the SAV file(s) again. This shouldn't be necessary in most cases through since KSE can handle editing most of the player data.
stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-04-2007, 08:46 PM   #3
DarthDredge
Rookie
 
DarthDredge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 52
Thanks, it always bothered me that I could change my appearance to look like an npc, but the voice didn't match. Thanks again.
DarthDredge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-05-2007, 10:07 PM   #4
DarthDredge
Rookie
 
DarthDredge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 52
I can't find how to change the sound set in kse, do you know where it is? If I can't do that, what should I use to open the .sav file?
Thanks
DarthDredge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-05-2007, 10:23 PM   #5
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthDredge
I can't find how to change the sound set in kse, do you know where it is? If I can't do that, what should I use to open the .sav file?
Thanks
The field marked with the red arrow in the screenshot below:



If you don't see that field make sure you have the latest version of KSE.
stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-06-2007, 02:58 PM   #6
DarthDredge
Rookie
 
DarthDredge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 52
I have an older version that does not have that option. I'll just download the most recent version. Thanks.
DarthDredge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-06-2007, 03:05 PM   #7
Quatra
Rookie
 
Quatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 118
silly stoffe, you used cheat!!
anyway, do you think there is a way to change the soundset of the player, stats and more without using the kse, like utc or scripts or something?
Quatra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-06-2007, 04:14 PM   #8
DarthDredge
Rookie
 
DarthDredge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 52
Look at post #2 by stoffe in this thread:

Quote:
If you want to do it the hard way you can open the SAV (savegame) files with an ERF editor to extract the content, modify the data with a GFF editor (k-gff for example) and then put them back into the SAV file(s) again. This shouldn't be necessary in most cases through since KSE can handle editing most of the player data.
DarthDredge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-06-2007, 09:58 PM   #9
Quatra
Rookie
 
Quatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 118
i was thinking of changing the player setup at the start of the game. When you click on the New Game button, you see new stats, new sound for some heads etc. What Stoffe is telling is modifying a savegame.
Quatra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2007, 09:01 PM   #10
DarthDredge
Rookie
 
DarthDredge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 52
I'm not sure I understand - do you want to be able to change your voice as part of creating a new character? That is probably hardcoded into the game engine or something. Otherwise, you can just save the game as soon at the first chance you get and use the method stoffe posted above.
DarthDredge is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-07-2007, 09:19 PM   #11
Quatra
Rookie
 
Quatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 118
When you use Tera Tool you can change everything or almost to every npc. I'm wondering if it's possible to do it for the main character.
Quatra is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-08-2007, 12:19 AM   #12
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quatra
I'm wondering if it's possible to do it for the main character.
Nope, there is no single file for the main PC...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quatra
i was thinking of changing the player setup at the start of the game. When you click on the New Game button, you see new stats, new sound for some heads etc. What Stoffe is telling is modifying a savegame.
While most of things are hard-coded, you can change some things by editing various 2da files.

Classes.2da, classpowergain.2da, and featgain.2da is a good start.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > [K1] extract player character utc file?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:32 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.