lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: K-GFF (GFF Editing Utility) v1.3.0
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-10-2007, 12:26 PM   #81
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
v1.2.2 released

v1.2.2 released

Fixed a bug in the GFF libarary, exposed by v1.2.1. This affected GFF files where, after pasting a List that has a single struct or empty List, caused the change not to get saved. Thanks stoffe again!
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-16-2007, 05:51 AM   #82
glovemaster
Now-a-days GroovyCarrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 697
Current Game: No time for games, sadly
Helpful! 
Not that i want to be fussy but its just an idea.
Going back to when you added support for the left/right keys, maybe if you could make the keys work similar to KotOR Tool, where left would return to the top of the current struct, left again would close it. Right would zoom down to the nearest struct and right again would open it. You know what i mean if you have KotOR Tool, if you don't then how on earth do extract files??

Thanks for adding the function in the first place anyway
~GM


If you're looking for any of the junk I did a few years ago; you can probably still find it all on filefront
glovemaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-16-2007, 10:36 AM   #83
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by glovemaster
Not that i want to be fussy but its just an idea...left would return to the top of the current struct, left again would close it. Right would zoom down to the nearest struct and right again would open it.
Yeah, that seems to make more sense -- left/right should only affect how structs are displayed so why not jump to them.
Quote:
You know what i mean if you have KotOR Tool, if you don't then how on earth do extract files??
I use FindRefs more often than KotOR Tool if I know the filename actually.
Quote:
Thanks for adding the function in the first place anyway
Thank you for the suggestions.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-16-2007, 12:45 PM   #84
glovemaster
Now-a-days GroovyCarrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 697
Current Game: No time for games, sadly
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tk102
I use FindRefs more often than KotOR Tool if I know the filename actually.
Oh yeah, i tend to use that for module reskinning as you can extract both the MDL and MDX files together for that module at once.
Thats an idea for KotOR Tool, does anyone know what has actually happened to Fred?

And seen as i shouldn't really post on here with out giving a suggestion..
maybe you could make KGFF generate a .ini file containing the path for the K1 and K2 dialog.tlk file (or it could remember them the way it does with the MRU list), so that when you go into the TOOLS menu, instead of "Use TLK file for StringRefs" you could have a branch that says "Use TLK File >" and then have the option for KotOR 1 and KotOR 2. And a "Use other TLK file" for those who want to use their own.
Thanks again
~GM


If you're looking for any of the junk I did a few years ago; you can probably still find it all on filefront
glovemaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-18-2007, 04:37 PM   #85
sekan
Junior Member
 
sekan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 418
I cant start k-gff editior and that's make me insane.

* Hits my computer many times*


[size=1] My mods | My webiste
Are you trying to foooooool me?
sekan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-18-2007, 04:41 PM   #86
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Sekan, try deleting the kgff.ini file in your Windows folder. If that fails, try deleting the temporary files from your C:\Documents and Settings\(your name)\Local Settings\Temp folder. If that fails and you have a character with a diacritic in your username, try logging off and logging on as a user without a diacritc.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-18-2007, 05:11 PM   #87
sekan
Junior Member
 
sekan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 418
I dont have a kgff.ini file on my computer and it didn't help to delete the files in the temp folder.


[size=1] My mods | My webiste
Are you trying to foooooool me?
sekan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-18-2007, 05:17 PM   #88
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by sekan
I dont have a kgff.ini file on my computer.
Are you sure of that? (Of course if your username has an accent, an umlat, or any other fancy Swedish character, you're probably right and you'll need to use a different username.)

In Windows Explorer menu:
Tools -> Folder Options -> View -> Hide Protected Operating System Files (uncheck)

Tools -> Folder Options -> View -> Hide File Extensions for Known File Types (uncheck)

Then look again in your c:\windows folder.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-18-2007, 05:41 PM   #89
sekan
Junior Member
 
sekan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 418
Well i did the changes but i have now a big problem. It's not my username that makes the problem... It's the name of my computer!! Is it someway to change name of the computer?

*hit myself 1000 times bcz i could changed the name when i installed winxp*

EDIT: But i think i can use your tool when i live with my dad


[size=1] My mods | My webiste
Are you trying to foooooool me?

Last edited by sekan; 06-18-2007 at 05:55 PM.
sekan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-18-2007, 06:30 PM   #90
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by sekan
It's the name of my computer!! Is it someway to change name of the computer?
http://kb.iu.edu/data/ajnx.html

I've also set an email to ActiveState asking them where they stand on this bug that was opened in January of 2006... I hate having to tell the international community to use this "workaround".
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-18-2007, 07:25 PM   #91
sekan
Junior Member
 
sekan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 418
I must really check things more before i post in this forum.
Well it was not the computer name. It's the name of my first username.
I cant change it bcz when i am loged in on my own username i cant change the bcz it's being used. Then i tried with another loggin that also was admin but it didn't work. You can stop try to help me bcz i will get a new computer...
Anyway thanks for helping me!


[size=1] My mods | My webiste
Are you trying to foooooool me?
sekan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2007, 09:46 PM   #92
Ferc Kast
Modder
 
Ferc Kast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tython
Posts: 1,586
Current Game: SWTOR
Helpful! Forum Veteran Contest winner - Fan Fiction Veteran Modder 
Can someone make a tutorial for adding new dialog options in .dlg files, such as hanharr.dlg, using K-GFF?

Ferc Kast is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2007, 10:17 PM   #93
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Why would you want to use a GFF editor for dialogs when there is KotOR Tool (for K1) and DLGEditor (for K1 and K2)?

Oh and btw, v1.2.3 was silently released a couple days ago.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2007, 09:41 AM   #94
Ferc Kast
Modder
 
Ferc Kast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tython
Posts: 1,586
Current Game: SWTOR
Helpful! Forum Veteran Contest winner - Fan Fiction Veteran Modder 
I would only want to use a GFF editor because I can't get any DLGEditor to work for me, in that they crash whenever I point them to the proper dialog.tlk file for either game.

Ferc Kast is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-30-2007, 12:21 PM   #95
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
PM sent
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-18-2007, 01:17 AM   #96
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
KGFF v1.2.4

KGFF v1.2.4 released

- Added toggle in View menu to select whether to use KotOR/TSL (Bioware) language IDs or to use The Witcher language IDs for CExoLocStrings.

- Made KGFF behave better when refreshing the tree and when adding a new node. When refreshing the tree, KGFF will remember what node you were on a make sure that node is still selected afterwards. When choosing to create a new node, KGFF will select the new tree branch for editing. (I know, that kind of expected behavior should've been there all along but it wasn't. )

- Added ability to Go to... a Field index or Struct index. (Ctrl+G)



Last edited by tk102; 11-18-2007 at 02:05 AM.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-18-2007, 10:13 AM   #97
Ferc Kast
Modder
 
Ferc Kast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tython
Posts: 1,586
Current Game: SWTOR
Helpful! Forum Veteran Contest winner - Fan Fiction Veteran Modder 
Looks like I'll have to update the version on my USB, then. Can't wait to try out these new features. Didn't realize it, but I was still using version 1.1.7 of this. This should make things go easier in making one of my main mods.

Ferc Kast is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2008, 02:15 PM   #98
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
K-GFF (GFF Editing Utility) v1.3.0 released

K-GFF (GFF Editing Utility) v1.3.0 released

- Added ability to search STRREF fields (Jade Empire) by STRREF (I don't know how I missed this )

- Added ability to search STRREF fields by TEXT

- Added ability to search CEXOLOCSTRING fields by TEXT, though TLK file must be selected for this to work. Prior to this, only CRESREF fields, CEXOSTRING fields, and localized substrings were searched.

- Made the tree branch selection background color cyan for easier viewing (another why didn't I do this right from the beginning?)

- Added notification if searching by text and TLK file has not been selected


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2008, 04:43 PM   #99
samishxc
Lurker
 
samishxc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Over There, The Moon
Posts: 3
Downloaded editor

I downloaded the Gff editor thingy but all it was was a htm file? I like clicked on it and stuff but still nothing happened. It probably is something obvious that im missing.
samishxc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2008, 05:48 PM   #100
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
That's odd. It must have been a broken upload. I uploaded again so give it another try.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2008, 05:55 PM   #101
samishxc
Lurker
 
samishxc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Over There, The Moon
Posts: 3
still doing it

I downloaded it again and its still .htm file. When the download thing first pops up it syas do you want to download tools.htm. I have MSN, i don't know if that has anything to do with it or not though.


Edit: i looked at the htm file and i know a little about html stuff, and it turns out all i downloaded was the webpage coding, like the stuff that makes it the website it is you know. I have absolutely no idea why it would do that though.
samishxc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2008, 06:25 PM   #102
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
You try one of the following:
1. Clear your cache and try again.
2. Try downloading using a different browser.
3. Try downloading it from the link in my signature.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2008, 08:21 PM   #103
samishxc
Lurker
 
samishxc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Over There, The Moon
Posts: 3
thanks

thanks for telling me this. and by the way...


Daft Punk is intense
samishxc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-23-2008, 04:53 PM   #104
Ferc Kast
Modder
 
Ferc Kast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tython
Posts: 1,586
Current Game: SWTOR
Helpful! Forum Veteran Contest winner - Fan Fiction Veteran Modder 
I hate to bump this thread up, but I'm having a minor error with K-GFF. K-GFF seems to be closing at random intervals while I am working on editing a .git file. There seems to be no problem until it closes. It's no inconvenience for me, as I can re-open K-GFF and continue working. But, I just wanted to find out if there was anything I might do to stop the crashing. If it helps, I'm using K-GFF 1.3.1 (the latest version on SWK).

Ferc Kast is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-27-2010, 06:27 PM   #105
harark1
Rookie
 
harark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Stuck in an air duct.
Posts: 199
Current Game: Tsl, Jedi Acadmey
Question Need some help

Quote:
Originally Posted by sekan View Post
I dont have a kgff.ini file on my computer and it didn't help to delete the files in the temp folder.
Yeah I'm having trouble too. I downloaded Har3's module making tutorial and when trying to acess the files of the module in Kotor Tool I get this message:

Error launching GFFEditor

Is it installed in the same directory as this program?

ok well I did exaclly what the totorial said in downloading this tool and so I'm a little mad that it won't work. I posted this here because I am guessing that the help I need is with this GFF editor. Can you help?
harark1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-28-2010, 02:14 AM   #106
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by harark1 View Post
I downloaded Har3's module making tutorial and when trying to acess the files of the module in Kotor Tool I get this message:

Error launching GFFEditor

Is it installed in the same directory as this program?
Hope this helps...
Quote:
Originally Posted by tk102 View Post
If you'd like to have KotOR Tool launch K-GFF instead of GFFEditor for editing of non-KT GFF files directly (eg: .are, .ifo, .git) you can do the following:

Extract KGFF.exe to your KotOR Tool folder.
Rename KGFF.exe to GFFEditor.exe.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-28-2010, 02:02 PM   #107
harark1
Rookie
 
harark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Stuck in an air duct.
Posts: 199
Current Game: Tsl, Jedi Acadmey
Yes It worked! Thank you. "Yelling at the top of my lungs" YES I CAN MOD NOW!!!!!! Well thanks.
harark1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-03-2011, 05:27 PM   #108
Qui-Gon Glenn
Necessary Roughneck
 
Qui-Gon Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thessia
Posts: 1,465
Current Game: ME3MP, Arkham Origins
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! Forum Veteran Veteran Modder 
I have recently experienced some difficulties with KGFF and KotOR Tool, and I have found that it comes from the renaming of kgff to GFFEditor.exe. However, this is not the software's fault, it is my OS's, specifically the XP registry, that is to blame (or the end-user, that idiot at the keyboard, uh, oh, me).

My solution, is simple and free and obvious - cCleaner. Cleaned up some registry keys that had programs pointing to renamed progs (that I had assigned through Properties prior to renaming, which is where I went wrong mostlikely), letting cCleaner delete them.

Reloaded the problematic files with GFFEditor(KGFF) and it was all good.

Lesson for those like me who got frustrated for a minute with the tools -

1. You can always uninstall and reinstall KotOR Tool.
2. If you are going to rename KGFF to GFFEditor, do it first before setting program associations for opening GFF filetypes.
3. If you botch the above, or are having problems, cCleaner is your friend (make backups)

Thanks again to tk102 for this tool, and all of your modding tools! I would be lost without them


Want to play a game of ME3MP?
Qui-Gon_Glenn on the software of which we shall not name.... add me and the enemy shall fall in chunks of crimson salsa
Qui-Gon Glenn is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > K-GFF (GFF Editing Utility) v1.3.0

Tags
editor, gff, kotor modding tool

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:55 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.